R
redlightmeansgo
I can tell you have little dealings with how govt and quasi govt agencies work. .. agencies ultimately have very little say my friend
How is this at all negative? SingPost did nothing illegal. The worst thing you can accuse it of doing is being unclear and causing a misunderstanding. In fact the whole thing is being portrayed by the papers as a misunderstanding.
For all intents and purposes, this PR stunt has been a massive success - including these newspaper reports and complaints. Now everyone knows about this thing, and SingPost is getting free publicity and it's not even in a very bad light. I, for example, didn't know about this stunt till I read those articles. And all they needed to do to get everyone's attention is to spray paint just SIX post boxes. What I call value for money![]()
The fact that it is being discused in this forum shows how negative the stunt is seen.
The ultimate responsibility lies with Singpost. Someone at Singpost must have given consent for the "stunt". It reflects badly on the corporation when the people they hire screw up.
It really shouldn't be a surprise to Sporean. We see so many cockups going on in gov't so why not in GLCs![]()
Have to disagree bro. Publicity is huge and unexpected no doubt but it falls in the negative space and its a huge dent on someone's career in Singpost. It shows the following
1) Lack of talent and creativity in creating a positive experience
2) Lack of foresight resulting in unnecessary public resources deployed such as the Police Force - essentially callous and irresponsible
Advertising agencies will always claim that any publicity is good publicity as they want to collect their billings and find some cover.
V easy to generate negative publicity one leh. Ask Ho Jinx do pole dance in middle of Orchard Road lor. No need to waste money to buy paint!
1) Whether or not the advertising is brilliant is a separate matter from whether or not it was negative publicity. The supposed negative publicity stems from the cock-up with the police, as in your 2nd point
2) There was no lack of foresight at all. In fact, some foresight was there - someone in SingPost anticipated that some good citizen might mistake it for vandalism and call in the police. SingPost's cockup was not following through completely with the police about the matter, not providing the full picture and therefore not getting a complete and accurate approval from the police.
1) Whether or not the advertising is brilliant is a separate matter from whether or not it was negative publicity. The supposed negative publicity stems from the cock-up with the police, as in your 2nd point
2) There was no lack of foresight at all. In fact, some foresight was there - someone in SingPost anticipated that some good citizen might mistake it for vandalism and call in the police. SingPost's cockup was not following through completely with the police about the matter, not providing the full picture and therefore not getting a complete and accurate approval from the police.
That may be true, but scholars still don't bother with this kind of thing. Especially in this case when there are no scholars in SingPost. What makes you think a scholar was involved? Or are you just using this as an excuse to go another uneducated and unnecessary rant against scholars?
uneducated rant? You're scholar yourself? Having spent more years and wasted tax payers' money doesn't make anyone smarter.
I am assuming that some scholar installed to a high ranking position was responsible for the bad idea. Read my lips, I'm NOT looking for an excuse, I don't have to. In my time, I have had a jolly good time running scholars to the ground![]()
Forums are a joke of a sample. You people here are mostly a bunch of jokers who are just lurking around looking for opportunities to bash the government and talk big. So tell me, in what way did SingPost screw up?
Unlike the gov't CONTROLLED media, forumers here can actually post what they think of our leaders, the pap, the cockups,... The opinions they express are uncensored.
I'm sure there are even people from the gov't monitoring this forum. They are here to provide the PAP's version of the truth![]()
If you find the opinions of your fellow Sporeans disturbing you can always leave & stick to the official propaganda. No one is forcing anyone here to stay.![]()
Why else would they inform the police? I see two possible reasons
1) So the graphic artist won't kena arrested when someone calls the police
2) So that when someone calls the police the police can explain that it's a PR stunt
Like the article said, the postboxes belong to SingPost, they have no reason to call the Police otherwise.
Speculation and conjecture. Aren't those you had pooh pooh the forum members for?![]()
When I do speculation and conjecture I actually STATE that I am speculating "I see two possible reasons". Not like some dumb losers here who dunno they're so dumb and yet go talk big like what they say are cold hard facts![]()