• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies DU LAN so many Ah Tiongs & Assorted FTs, so set up blog.

cooleo

http://theliberatingtruth.wordpress.com/

Social Pests Part III: Revelations of an Ah Tiong Shopper

I used to work in retail. Sadly, I got fired for asking for a more transparent salary system. That’s so Liberating Truth Style. Haha. This is one of the reason that made me start this blog.

Anyway, I would like to give you guys a breakdown of an Ah Tiong Shopper, in the fashion retail, through my observation.

1. She walks in, with full knowledge that she cannot afford or is unwilling to afford the kind of money to buy the merchandise. Some just come in to try for fun and make a nuisance. They don’t realize that they are making a fool of themselves.

2. She usually walks in with a guy or an older man. Only a few shops independently – I really respect such Chinese women who have the means to dress themselves up independently.

3. She asks you whether there is a discount, even when she knows that merchandises are NETT PRICE. No discount/ promotion is pasted anywhere. They expect you, the retail assistant, to give them a discount. – We ain’t the bosses.

4. She takes super long to consider buying and likes to yak about how she can afford it, even when she’s not buying. I’ve spent 2 days serving the same China shopper wanting to buy that particular item. It was absurd but they do it all the time. Some even throw tantrums. =,= gawd. it’s abusingly painful.

5. And when she really buys, you can consider yourself fking lucky. Half the time, it’s because she has sajiaoed enough to the man that the man buys it for her. That’s how cheap these tiong shoppers are and the stories you read on Lianhe Wanbao are true. But who cares, you still close that sale anyway.

Here’s a story about the B*TCH tiong I served…

There’s this old lady who brings different girls to the store I used to work at. Who knows what is the profession of such girls? And most of the time, they don’t buy anything. One of the girl this time was a knnbccb She walks in arrogantly and went through the racks aggressively. When she found a piece she wants, she ordered me like a servant. There’s no respect @ all. I mean I think that is just TIONG to do so.

She insisted me to let her try a few pieces, WITHOUT looking at the price. From one look, I knew that she is not buying. Fine, I mean that’s my job. I just let her try. =) So after trying, then she asks me for the price. I told her it is 800bucks… she just shove everything in my face. Any human being will be pissed. Summore it’s a tiong and I really hate tiongs (anyway, in my own definitation, a tiong is an uncouth and rude Chinese national who has a very low EQ and sense of moral values.) Look at how I write IT. :) No offense but sometimes, they treat their fellow human being like dogs. And what are we always taught? To treat people how we want to be treated. There you go. IT.

The next moment, it walked off with the old lady and her friend, without any gratitude or saying thank you.

FYI, this is not a hate post. It’s just experience about how crude can these Tiongs get and SGP is letting them flood into our country like some refugee camp.

>>Cooleo says: Ah Tiongs are CCB. If i can spit on them i would. I am still trying to figure out who i detest more - Chao Ah Tiongs or Chao Ah Nehs.<<

was that written by a male or female?

But since it's female clothing i guess it has to be female.

was that written by a male or female?

But since it's female clothing i guess it has to be female.

Not true leh. Unless the blogger is selling lingerie which of cos means confirm the salesperson is female. Otherwise it is quite normal to see male salesperson at ladies fashion.

Today I went to buy fruit juice at this foodcourt. It happened to be manned by Tiong Bu. I told her I want to take away Guava Juice and she asked me what is GUAVA and continue to speak to me in mandarin. I said never mind, than give me honey dew juice. She asked me issit pineapple?? Than I walked away..

So I asked PAP, is this the kind of productivity you have been boasting about and the spur in this foreign talent's hide that could spearhead Singapore?

Ah Tiongs offer low productivity at cheap cost! Once I tried to order ice blended drink at a bubble tea shop. Chao Tiong Bu dunno what is ICE BLENDED even though it was stated on the menu board!

Today I went to buy fruit juice at this foodcourt. It happened to be manned by Tiong Bu. I told her I want to take away Guava Juice and she asked me what is GUAVA and continue to speak to me in mandarin. I said never mind, than give me honey dew juice. She asked me issit pineapple?? Than I walked away..

So I asked PAP, is this the kind of productivity you have been boasting about and the spur in this foreign talent's hide that could spearhead Singapore?

My experience: I went to this Western Food stall and it was manned by a tiong bu too... I ordered THREE grilled fish... and she replied "San Hao AH??" which was the pic displayed for Chicken Cutlet, incidentally labelled No. 3. So, i repeated the order again "THREE Grilled FISH!!" with my fingers showing the three sign. She replied " SAN GE SAN HAO AH??"

I had a tiring day and so i walked away without ordering and felt totally pointless and needless for me to spend more effort to explain my order when this was so basic a thing. The owners were sgpreans though.... too bad for them.. I can imagine the frustration our malay and indian guys are going thru.

What if people are being served by Ang Mos? What if the ang mo asked, 'three or tree?' Will we feel frustrated and walk away? Or we feel so flattered and happy after being served by ang mo?

Just want to look at the issue from different angle.

I do not see any wrong doings from the Ah Tiongs in both cases. I came from a poor background and it was normal to ask for discounts in the old days. Fruits are named differently in different countries, this also applies to Indians and Southeast Asians. I also know of many Singaporeans who cannot tell the differences between citizens and PRs, PAP and civil service, as well as ministers and MPs.

The author need to travel more frequently, we are used to the Zaobao version of translation which is not always correct. Anyway I prefer to see more opinions against government policies than personal agendas. I know of many who complain alot for sympathies against foreigners but do not dare to voice support for opposition, nor even come to this url.

As support for opposition gain momentum in Singapore, there are many who are riding on these sympathies but are not taking on the gov policie.

Hey Hey,

I not dulan with Ah Tiongs and Assorted FTs, it's just that some of them really damn irritating. That's why I find the need to blog about it. Some Singaporeans are just ignorant, they just keep saying that this is their character. Treating people respect is a choice. I don't care if their service poor or what, but I just wish they don't go around disrespecting people. It's quite disappointing at how Singapore has degraded because of them. If they have said thank you, or even the basic courtesy of passing it into my hands, I don't mind. But what I've experienced is just plain arrogance. Who likes arrogant people?

In fact, most of the tiongs are like that based on experience. Some PRCs are nice, not disregarding other FTs. But a majority of them are insanely irritating. Tiongs and PRCs are different.

The PRC girls are very arrogant. They keep putting out sex ads online and even screw up their S'pore pimps.
They are fearless.

Example is this ad that keeps appearing and reappearing with full h/p number (i hv deleted the lat few numbers).

And I heard most of their service is lousy. Only want quick money.CCB!

icon1.gif
si jia
<hr style="color: rgb(255, 255, 255); background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);" size="1"> <!-- / icon and title --> <!-- message -->
53335807.jpg
Si Jia

34C-24-34
23 years old
160cm
47kg

Bubbly and Service Orientated

Providing Sexy Massage and "Special"

80/hr

Call or SMS to 8120-XXXX fr 1pm-1am to Make Your Appointment NOW!​

I guess most Singaporeans need to travel more frequently to China, especially Shanghai, Beijing, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, and more inner cities of China to form up their opinions and understanding of the Chinese.

And for Singaporean whose race is ethnic Chinese, do not forget that you come from China directly or indirectly...

And respect or not... you just have to go to any Chinese Shopping Mall, go to most places, and everyone doing shopping would be asking for discounts. (except for the HIGH CLASS MALL, where only the super rich could afford)

Ladies do shopping in China, expect men, husband, boyfriend etc to pay for it, so, it's nothing un-usual...

In Singapore, perhaps we have inherited a little bit of the Western thinking... so we find this strange.

I urge and recommend any disgruntled Singaporeans not able to accept the truth... do more travelling... and get more eye openers, and understanding of the REAL WORLD...

Singapore is just one of a rare make believe place... it's truly a GEM of the world.

The issue here is not talking about discounts. The issue is about them being extremely rude to customer service staffs. We know they have no money to buy the clothes, but yet we show them respect by still serving them like any other customers. The 'no discount' is just merely an excuse for them not to buy the clothes. If someone just shoved the clothes in your face after you had done your best to serve them, won't you feel pissed off? It doesn't just happen to one customer, she is one of the many tiongs customers who exhibit this kind of behaviour I encountered during my retail job.

If you think we should go to China and see how they really behave. Whatever behavior that they are allowed to exhibit in their country doesn't give them the privilege to exhibit it in foreign lands. If black americans are responsible for most crimes in the US, does it mean they should be forgiven for committing crimes in other countries?

What if people are being served by Ang Mos? What if the ang mo asked, 'three or tree?' Will we feel frustrated and walk away? Or we feel so flattered and happy after being served by ang mo?

Just because you cannot pronounce "three" correctly should not give you the right to ASS-Ume that everyone else can't.

If an Ang Mo dare say that to me, I'll tell him/her to "go fucking be a teacher" instead of a waiter.

Unless the food stall was in the airport or smack in the heart of orchard road, I don't see what's the problem in the ah tiong not being able to understand english.
Perhaps you yuong guys don't remember, but as an old un', I remember many many years ago trying to buy food from hawkers of all races who couldn't speak either english, mandarin, hokkien or teochew. Old chinese ladies who spoke only hakka or cantonese, indians who spoke only tamil, malays who spoke only malay. Still managed to buy my food by pointing or stuttering through and usually both customer and hawker would end the transaction with a smile.

I don't understand why these creatures don't understand simple human sign language. Are they so dumb? =,= seems to me that SG is importing more foreign thrash than foreign talent. sigh.

Do not be so hot blooded, my young friend TheLiberatingTruth...

What kind of response you get from people is directly related to how you treat people.

If you do not like being treated like Thrash in foreign countries, do not treat people like Thrash in your country.

So, have a bigger heart, and that will really make life happier for you.

I used to be a complainer... but when I looked within... I realized that most of my life's misery is caused by myself.... and once I realized that, things begin to change....:cool:

sorry I don't treat people like thrash @ all. but sometimes they make me want to treat them like thrash. Because you don't understand. You are not in my shoes. That's why you don't get it. Whenever I meet someone, I treat that fellow human the way I want to be treated - with respect. BUT the kind of response I was given by these tiongs.

foodcourt so noisy, 'san kao' sounds like 'san hao' !

why didnt u say 'grilled fish - 3 plates' ?

everything also blame tiong-bu ?! :p

My experience: I went to this Western Food stall and it was manned by a tiong bu too... I ordered THREE grilled fish... and she replied "San Hao AH??" which was the pic displayed for Chicken Cutlet, incidentally labelled No. 3. So, i repeated the order again "THREE Grilled FISH!!" with my fingers showing the three sign. She replied " SAN GE SAN HAO AH??"

I had a tiring day and so i walked away without ordering and felt totally pointless and needless for me to spend more effort to explain my order when this was so basic a thing. The owners were sgpreans though.... too bad for them.. I can imagine the frustration our malay and indian guys are going thru.

being badly served by ang mo also can make u see red (sorry for the pun) ...

after having served lots of hk & mainland chinese, the angmo thinks that u, a singaporean, also cannot speak fluent english, so she speaks super slowly to u in english, like speaking to a small kid, or to a foreigner learning english as 2nd language ...

she heaved a sigh of relief when i replied in fluent english ... :cool:

As I browse through this thread, I wonder what's the problem. Is it the problem of a Singapore Chinese can't say guava or honeydew in Chinese, or is it the problem of a PRC Chinese can't understand guava or honeydew in English.

My parents and grandparents, born in Singapore, can't speak any English too. If they work in hawker stalls, would they to subject to the same criticism and complaint?

(By the way, guava is of course 番石榴 and honeydew melon 蜜瓜 in Chinese.)