• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Vote PAP, Now Tio Pwned :D Sibei Song :D

Six-month wait for subsidised patients to get an appointment with specialist?

By FRANCIS CHENG CHOON FEI

letterwait1128_1.jpg
Reuters file photo
Published28 NOVEMBER, 2018
UPDATED 28 NOVEMBER, 2018

Dr Lam Pin Min, Senior Minister of State for Health, mentioned in Parliament last week that the median waiting time for new subsidised specialist appointments has improved from 28 days in 2013 to 22 days in the first half of this year.

My personal experience did not seem to show this. On Nov 20, I happened to call Changi General Hospital (CGH) for an appointment for my chronic neck pain as a new subsidised patient referred by a clinic under the Community Health Assist Scheme (Chas).

To my surprise, the earliest appointment is on May 23, 2019, exactly 180 days of waiting to see a specialist.

In disbelief, I asked the staff member to double-check because I thought it is impossible that the waiting time is so long.

She told me that the clinic for patients with spinal and neck problems is overwhelmed and suggested that I try another public hospital, but I declined because I live in Tampines and the nearest public hospital is CGH.

My referral letter must also be valid for six months from the date of referral until my appointment.

I asked her to reconfirm again and she told me that the waiting time of six months is correct for “subsidised” patients.

That raises a few questions for the Ministry of Health (MOH).

Going by what I was told, it would seem that priority is given to patients whose bills are not subsidised.

If this is the case, how could Dr Lam claim that “meeting Singaporean’s healthcare needs remains our priority” in public health institutions, when replying to Workers' Party’s Member of Parliament Pritam Singh's question on whether appointments for subsidised patients would be brought forward after the MOH’s decision to stop referral contracts for foreign patients in public hospitals?

I believe that priority should be given to subsidised patients who are from the pioneer generation and the “Merdeka generation”, the group of Singaporeans born in the 1950s.
This problem of long waiting time in getting clinical appointments has been going on for a while.

During the Ministry of Health’s Committee of Supply debate after the Budget statement in 2016, Workers’ Party’s Member of Parliament Low Thia Khiang revisited this matter that he raised in 2013, saying that the long waiting times seem to affect subsidised patients more than non-subsidised patients, and asked if this was how the specialist outpatient clinics at public hospitals regulate subsidised patients’ demand for their services or if it was due to insufficient resources being made available to meet the demands.

The answer, to me, is still pending.

KNN how come there is no social compact to squeeze with unsubsidized patients when comes to medical thing KNN

She told me that the clinic for patients with spinal and neck problems is overwhelmed and suggested that I try another public hospital, but I declined because I live in Tampines and the nearest public hospital is CGH.

10KKJ area must have spinal and neck injury sinkies ... Lol :D

Her Chronic neck condition is obviously not an urgent case.

The inconvenience of travelling to a slightly further hospital (for God's sake man, singapore is fucking 42km long) outweighs the urgency of getting an earlier appointment.

You want fast and convenient? Then pay for a private hospital. You have a legitimate urgent case? Go A&E, you will skip the 180 day queue.

In the recent mid-term election votes in Taiwan, the ruling DPP lost 50% of their votes even in their stronghold Tainan due to economic hardship. Tainan is a place that they will die die vote for anyone DPP nominates. We have seen Singaporeans voting for very crappy politicans just because they are white. Even if you are Dr Tan Cheng Bock or Dr Paul Tambyah you still get voted out. It's the ecology.

So taking clue, a regime change in Singapore is only possible when we see the masses losing their wealth, just got with their money, eg. insurer collapse, collapse in public companies and gradual decline in HDB value, etc.

Then there will only be two main political parties in Singapore, White and Anti-Whites. (The taiwanese don't really vote KMT because they love KMT, they are just anti-DPP at this moment.

Just ask how many of the patients waiting for appointment are not local born and you have your answer.
The system cannot cope with the overwhelming numbers of foreign born leeching on to us and every vote for the PAP is a vote to bring in a foreigner.
70% votes=70% foreign born here

In the recent mid-term election votes in Taiwan, the ruling DPP lost 50% of their votes even in their stronghold Tainan due to economic hardship. Tainan is a place that they will die die vote for anyone DPP nominates. We have seen Singaporeans voting for very crappy politicans just because they are white. Even if you are Dr Tan Cheng Bock or Dr Paul Tambyah you still get voted out. It's the ecology.

So taking clue, a regime change in Singapore is only possible when we see the masses losing their wealth, just got with their money, eg. insurer collapse, collapse in public companies and gradual decline in HDB value, etc.

Then there will only be two main political parties in Singapore, White and Anti-Whites. (The taiwanese don't really vote KMT because they love KMT, they are just anti-DPP at this moment.

Doesnt work with cina sinkies. Even jiuhukia have balls to kick out BN. Sinkies cina only barked the loudest but have no balls!

KNN having a chronic neck condition going to specialist unlikely can be resolved KNN specialist are not god they will just give you some painkiller or send you for physiotherapy which ownself can work out KNN if more serious have to go a&e for xray liao KNN people just felt better seeing a specialist KNN

Her Chronic neck condition is obviously not an urgent case.

The inconvenience of travelling to a slightly further hospital (for God's sake man, singapore is fucking 42km long) outweighs the urgency of getting an earlier appointment.

You want fast and convenient? Then pay for a private hospital. You have a legitimate urgent case? Go A&E, you will skip the 180 day queue.
The issue is...the go to another hospital thing is BS. Wat makes Changi hospital soo sure that the other hospitals got earlier waiting time? The pap will not put in resources for subsidize patients. Bcos it's a cost to them. This go other hospitals is just tai chi to deflect the BS as the gahmen don't care

KNN having a chronic neck condition going to specialist unlikely can be resolved KNN specialist are not god they will just give you some painkiller or send you for physiotherapy which ownself can work out KNN if more serious have to go a&e for xray liao KNN people just felt better seeing a specialist KNN
Have to admit u r right. Got back n neck problem unless it can be resolved by surgery...go see specialist is a waste of time. Better to get the scans etc n go see a physio.have a treatment plan n Do the exercises etc.

Losing weight is key to neck and joints problems.

The issue is...the go to another hospital thing is BS. Wat makes Changi hospital soo sure that the other hospitals got earlier waiting time? The pap will not put in resources for subsidize patients. Bcos it's a cost to them. This go other hospitals is just tai chi to deflect the BS as the gahmen don't care

I'm sure it wouldn't be too difficult to see what slots are available at other hospital.

Changi is full that's a fact. Nothing to Tai chi. If ng teng Fong got slots, and the chronic neck pain is so bad, then jolly well take a hike to the west for treatment. Dude, no need to stamp passport to get treatment, ezlink card can already.

KNN the lumber 1 sg serious issues with specialist queues is actually the eyes clinic KNN particularly the glaucoma clinic as sinkies are aging and the docs vs patients is too hard to bear KNN

You want to be like "oliver" in the poorhouse, be realistic, you have to wait. Want fast, change from Sub sea & die to PRIVATE...you get to visit their better serviced clinics & of course, you show the money, you pay more...you get faster better treatment for your pain.

If not in 180 days, you sub sea & die patients, may have checked into Mandai Crematorium already & lessen the burden on the health care system....CHAS...ha ha ha ha....in the poor house, wait in turn like "oliver"...

KNN the lumber 1 sg serious issues with specialist queues is actually the eyes clinic KNN particularly the glaucoma clinic as sinkies are aging and the docs vs patients is too hard to bear KNN
Obesity is even worse. Look at the amount sinkies eat :D walk into train and you will see more than 50% of people are overweight and that's the cause and dawn of many medical problems...:D

Obesity is even worse. Look at the amount sinkies eat :biggrin: walk into train and you will see more than 50% of people are overweight and that's the cause and dawn of many medical problems...:biggrin:
The worse I have seen is after getting off the train. They go to the front of the station, grab a feeder service and alight 1 stop away. They could have saved time n money by exiting the rear entrance n walk a few steps more..and that is the 1 stop distance.

A nation of Pigs from all races. Lol :D