• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Sinkie IT Division Head For MNC Upgrades To Sell Oppie-Style Bak Chor Mee!! Sinkie Following His Dreams To Be Towkay!!

montage-soon-heng-1.jpg

Two-month-old Soon Heng Pork Noodles sits at an inconspicuous nook of the kopitiam located at the junction of Neil Road and Keong Saik Road. It serves only one item: bak chor mee in soup, with mee kia, mee pok, thin kway teow or mee tai mak. For the uninitiated — this soupy version of bak chor mee is often known as “Bedok style”. It's made famous by the many Teochew stall owners in the area selling the dish, especially those in Block 85 Bedok North Street 4 (aka Fengshan Food Centre).

From the outside, Soon Heng doesn’t seem very special. But their regulars — spanning middle-aged uncles to impeccably dressed OLs and sleek creative types — start streaming in even before the lunch hour.

Helming the little stall is a jovial, rosy-cheeked 44-year-old Andrew Tan who looks every bit the hawker stall towkay: except that his last position was as an IT division head for an MNC (he declined to name the company). A tech guy cooking bak chor mee? For real.

https://www.todayonline.com/8days/e...rned-hawker-serves-bedok-style-soupy-bak-chor

I'm heartened to see so many younger sinkies trying to save our $3 per meal sinkie hawker tradition. Perhaps this sinkie UNESCO trade, famed for its long hours and low prices, will endure.

Helming the little stall is a jovial, rosy-cheeked 44-year-old Andrew Tan who looks every bit the hawker stall towkay: except that his last position was as an IT division head for an MNC (he declined to name the company). A tech guy cooking bak chor mee? For real.
KNN this is 1 of the easiest ft replaceable position KNN

And thus begins the propaganda about how being a hawker or kopitiam stall 'towkay' are viable career paths for everyone. :rolleyes:

What kind of journalism is this? Didn't probe why he left. Did he earn a comparable wage? All these questions are basic no?
A govt controlled press ranked 151/180 in the 2018 World Press Freedom Index-and this is what you get.
Good chance got retrenched and replaced by Indian nationals or Pinoys from Universities we have never heard of.

This is shit journalism. Sure let’s just promote the fucker’s business. No reason to understand the motivation or actual financial situation! Heck we won’t even find out if the food is good. We will just trust the motherfucker !

People like to glorify the hawker business with such new entrants but essentially, being a hawker is nothing but pain and suffering and standing for long hours.

From the outside, Soon Heng doesn’t seem very special. But their regulars — spanning middle-aged uncles to impeccably dressed OLs and sleek creative types — start streaming in even before the lunch hour.
KNN what has sleek creative type got to do with this KNN they only eat special food meh KNN even pm also eat mee siam KNN

I'm heartened to see so many younger sinkies trying to save our $3 per meal sinkie hawker tradition. Perhaps this sinkie UNESCO trade, famed for its long hours and low prices, will endure.
u shud haf stuck 2 calling him a retard 4 selling tis kind of make no moni biz n sel ur hi crass pasta n ramen ...

Only retards be hawkers. One bowl of sinkie cuisine sells at barely $3 whereas a bowl of pasta or ramen can easily sell for $10. Any sinkie with common sense should go sell pasta and ramen instead of loser sinkie cuisine.