• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SingTel say sorry but mio TV customers want compensation

Leepotism

SingTel apologises for mio TV service disruptions

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
dotline_240.gif

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY> </TBODY>
SINGAPORE: SingTel has apologised to its mio TV customers for the patchy coverage of Sunday night's English Premier League (EPL) matches.

CEO for SingTel's consumer division in Singapore, Yuen Kuan Moon, said some customers "experienced intermittent viewing difficulties" on May 13, between approximately 10pm and midnight.

This was due to an unprecedented number of viewers tuning in for the season finale.

At its peak, there were ten matches playing concurrently.

SingTel said the close links between two of the main matches saw a high number of customers switching repeatedly between channels at unusually high frequency.

The switching volumes were five times higher than usual, and the surge caused the system to slow.

Its engineers took immediate action to rectify the problem.

SingTel said it was moving urgently to enhance its switching system to ensure future peaks are accommodated.

mio TV customers located around Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh, Tampines, Bukit Panjang and Central areas were potentially affected.

mio TV subscribers had complained of repeated interruptions during the "live" telecast of the matches between Manchester City and Queens Park Rangers and simultaneous coverage of the match between Sunderland and Manchester United.

It was the last 10 minutes of the important matches that infuriated many.

Instead of the two late winning goals by EPL champions Manchester City, all fans saw were frozen frames of the finale.

Subscribers to mio TV's online package, however, were not affected.

Upset mio TV customers raged online, with some demanding compensation.

Viewers also said a purple screen appeared many times during the season, while past coverage of the FA Cup and Carling Cup was also interrupted.

They said poor transmission has been a consistent problem with mio TV.

Matthew Soh lamented that the match he was watching was muted all the way.

To make matters worse, Manchester United fan Lucas Karl Xavier said that he dialled SingTel's customer hotline, only to hang up after he was put on hold for 20 minutes.

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

... SingTel has apologised to its mio TV customers for the patchy coverage of Sunday night's English Premier League (EPL) matches. ...

Upset mio TV customers raged online, with some demanding compensation. ...
ya, man! ...

demand compensation! ... dun b stoopig wif apologies ...

dey take ur moni woh! ... n dey gif u crap! ...

Lilac

In the US, a class action against the perpetrator, coupled with the award of punitive damages, will serve as a strong deterrent against such service lapses.

SingTel's EPL battle with StarHub is likely to be one of the last times a fierce bidding war will happen over broadcast rights.

After SingTel announced its EPL win, the MDA (Media Development Authority) stepped in and declared a cross-carriage policy mandating that all content acquired after March 2010 must be shared with competitors.

This means come 2013, viewers need not watch the EPL on mio, because StarHub will be able to carry the content as well.

The next major football tournament, the Uefa Euro 2012, which kicks off in June, will be shown on both StarHub and SingTel mio.

The Spanish La Liga, however, will be exclusive to mio for the next three years, after mio-exclusive channel ESPN Star Sports announced over the weekend that it had clinched the rights to the Spanish football league for the next three seasons.

StarHub lost exclusive rights to ESPN Star Sports in 2009 at the same time as the EPL.

- BT Singapore today.

Lilac

MDA acts rather belatedly, especially since anti-competition laws prevent the service providers from cooperating or colluding; otherwise, on their own initiative, Starhub and Singtel could have avoided outrageous exorbitant bids for the respective rights.

I_Hate_Pappies

Lanjiao lah, every time say sorry and problem settled. Na beh phua chee bye, those affected should rally together and sue the hell out of them. Kan ni na bu phua chee bye. Btw, i don't subscribe any of the MIO, Starhub services ever since the world cup incident. Lim bei beh song!:oIo:

That is why you don't subscribe to the red telco. Utterly fucked up even after all these years.

http://info.singtel.com/node/5384

Anyway, Singtel's monopoly of covering the BPL will end next year (August 2013). One more season to go.

Fucked up IDA/MDA caught napping, and kiasu Singtel grossly overbidded for the rights.

If you want to watch streams online, here is the website.

http://lshunter.net/

So far, I have seen matches covered by Sky Sports, ESPN (US), FOX Sports, Al Jazeera Sports. The pundits and post-match coverage were way better than the local crap. I loved Gary Neville, who was recently appointed full-time by Sky Sports to be a pundit/commentator.

Occasionally you'll get commentary done in a non-English language (Spanish, German, Russian) in another channel (Gol TV, Eurosport etc.)

geylangchickenloyangduck

nah beh...compensate for fuck, BPL season over liao compensate free for one month also no use lah...CCB.

already the MIO transmission is already slower by at least 5 seconds - you will notice the difference if you tune in to BBC live commentary. You hear goal on radio and see it 5 - 10 seconds later on MIO. Fuck up !

just a fucking apology serves nothing. Fucking Singtel can give kindergarten excuse that alot of people switching channels - chee bye ok.

and come next season - happy happy raise the subscription again.

and 2013, they will bid higher once more for rights...fuck.

nah beh...compensate for fuck, BPL season over liao compensate free for one month also no use lah...CCB.

already the MIO transmission is already slower by at least 5 seconds - you will notice the difference if you tune in to BBC live commentary. You hear goal on radio and see it 5 - 10 seconds later on MIO. Fuck up !

just a fucking apology serves nothing. Fucking Singtel can give kindergarten excuse that alot of people switching channels - chee bye ok.

and come next season - happy happy raise the subscription again.

and 2013, they will bid higher once more for rights...fuck.

Definitely not going to be free next month, Euro 2012?

saratogas

Next season EPL still exclusive under SingTel? Can starhub tap on the games too just like Euro 2012...

Starhub Cables are better infastructure.