• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans - Time to be Political!!!

Dear Singaporeans

Its time that each and everyone of you play your part by being involved in the politics of your country. Its in your hands to do something. Please do remember the following

1. Keep abrest of political issues and its impact on society
  2. know that alternative voices are needed for balanced views as no party or persons are perfect
  3. You decide how parliament is structured - balanced, a monoploy or a rubber stamp
  4. Know that opposition cannot be perfect and they have very limited resources and do not enjoy incumbency to use taxpayers funds for party related matters like the pap

Don't be afraid to speak your mind and this forum is a good place to start. Your vote can make a difference.

i thought that educating the Civil Servants would be a good start. they need to know the fundamental differences between a Government and a political party.

Dear Singaporeans

Its time that each and everyone of you play your part by being involved in the politics of your country. Its in your hands to do something. Please do remember the following

2. know that alternative voices are needed for balanced views as no party or persons are perfect
  3. You decide how parliament is structured - balanced, a monoploy or a rubber stamp
  4. Know that opposition cannot be perfect and they have very limited resources and do not enjoy incumbency to use taxpayers funds for party related matters like the pap

Most Singaporeans only become politically aware when it comes to their money.

i thought that educating the Civil Servants would be a good start. they need to know the fundamental differences between a Government and a political party.
The problem is that the government in S'pore has been associated with the same political party for so long.
But having said that, you only have to look at Taiwan's situation to realize that it doesn't really matter whether the same political party is the government for a period of time.
If you have people in either the civil service or the government/political party who don't do the right things, you'll have problems anyway. At the end of the day, it's the integrity of the individuals that matter most.

The problem is that the government in S'pore has been associated with the same political party for so long.

hmm... so we solve one problem at a time? or resolve it holistically? :confused:

dear scroobal,

We have to encourage LKY's son to raise GST to 12% next year and when he raises it to , let say, 10 %, then we can see more people coming forward to stay abreast.

Dear Singaporeans

I would like to stand for elections.....but I fear they might dig up my O level /Senior Cambridge results...... ( slightly better than Chiam See Tong's)

My eagle eye and gryphon strength won't lead me to the fore......

Dear Singaporeans

singaporeans are afraid of the pap... they know whats going on but just too afraid to vote against the pap... like the saying "even if you bring the cow to the water, it won't drink if it doesn't want to"

I would like to stand for elections.....but I fear they might dig up my O level /Senior Cambridge results...... ( slightly better than Chiam See Tong's)

My eagle eye and gryphon strength won't lead me to the fore......

I think its the teritary part that would be more important. Any ordinary Singaporean who has really done it overseas in terms of study and work can argue that despite his/her late start, he has done well and is a self-made man.

And if he could become a lawyer, by tying up his bootstraps, and by scrapping, and saving, I think Singaporeans would like it, since it echos the work ethnic that Singaporeans usually wanna see in themselves. And the PAP cannot say anything about it since they advocate it in the first place; all they can do is use negative attacks, and negative attacks can be turned around if you rapid-response instead.

Most Singaporeans only become politically aware when it comes to their money.

sad to say and very much in agreement, its only on bread and butter issue that would make anyone political.

anything else is unimportant.

Sign of stupidity is a civil servant. Their purpose is decided by puppet master from the start. It is not coincidence that new breed of civil servants are all stupid. Lemeber LKY do not like people who can talk, which is what smart people can do. LKY failure in court one. C? Had to use gun and dagger to rid David Marshall who neber lost a case. U know LKY is cheebye coward.

I think many Singaporeans have become civil servants because for them its practical, offers them financial stability. They are pragmatic, and that's understandable.

But in argument, I would say that they think that way because Singapore is so restricted. Everyone is brought up to think that as long as they are in a civil service position, they would be fine. But its a mediocre life, and you have to be contented with a HDB flat, a car, a wife and one or two kids. And then you have to work in order to pay for your expenses- and you can never imagine a different life from the current.

That's why I would rather leave, and I have left. I have told many of my friends, or at least implied to them, I'm not happy with the future I would have if I stay back in Singapore, let it be as a bachelor or as a married man. I have to leave and I have.

And I would probably be staying in Oz and study in other countries for post-graduate interests and create a family here, that is truly stable, and which my future wife and myself have the say in running.

good luck to you. where you go where you stay where you prosper where you rise or fall nothing to do with leaving singapore. it's your own fate lah. don't cast aspersions on your own motherland.don't be an ungrateful fella. go go lah. no need to cfcm here.

go and good luck and leave us peasants here alone -dying also okay what. what's wrong with suffering in your own motherland. you go and be happy okay. i stay here and i also happy what. what's the difference. you go oz good for u. no wolly okay. we here all okay one. so no wolly for us here. good luck...and good....

good luck to you. where you go where you stay where you prosper where you rise or fall nothing to do with leaving singapore. it's your own fate lah. don't cast aspersions on your own motherland.don't be an ungrateful fella. go go lah. no need to cfcm here.

go and good luck and leave us peasants here alone -dying also okay what. what's wrong with suffering in your own motherland. you go and be happy okay. i stay here and i also happy what. what's the difference. you go oz good for u. no wolly okay. we here all okay one. so no wolly for us here. good luck...and good....

In case you didn't read between the lines, I didn't rule out coming back, helping out. The only reason why I'm pursuing a degree here, and post-gradual education overseas is because NUS and NTU are practically useless in providing top quality, unpoliticised education.

If I study in Canada or the US, in addition to my Aussie degree, it just gonna help if I do return.

u want to help,stay and fight. go and help tkl at the speaker's corner. help the vulnerables fill the forms and help the ignorant write to the forums. stay and help. want go overseas for what. nus no class meh? politicians are made and they are not cultivated lah.if you got the guts,the fire and the passion in the belly, stay put and fight.why run away?

You can't do anything if you're not financially independent, and your family isn't stable and vulnerable to a broadside attack.

One has to protect on both mentioned fronts, and secure them if there's any hope to fight against the PAP. The best way is to do it overseas, get better weapons and to increase and enhance one's skills. With better teachers overseas, you will fight better when you're well trained.

I will not fight with only sticks and stones when my opponent has a nuke weapon in his hands.

waulau u damned serious. how many singaporeans have returned with better weapons after their professorships. some try to sneak in and kena caught in pedra branca. the rest hide under skirts and have a great time overseas. they can only shoot from afar. we guys here are facing the real thing everyday. nukes or no nukes.singapore is still the best place under the sun. singaporeans are simple folks with simple aspirations. but don't take them for granted. some tremors and quakes are felt already. don't push them too hard and too long. somewhere somehow sometime they will be heard. hopefully peacefully.no need to get new weapons overseas lah.u so funny one. get nukes for what. you nuke here u and you loved ones also die lah. singapore is so small. just live the day and be it lah. enjoy the $2 laksa and the $2 beehoon soup. cheers man!

:p I guess you can't understand my metaphors. Oh well.