• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans can embrace foreign talents, but can PAP do the same for the opposition

bic_cherry

Singaporeans can embrace foreign talents, but can PAP do the same for the opposition too?
*StarDust* said:
Re thread (SGC): BBC article a good reminder to be more gracious, says PM Lee
BBC article a good reminder to be more gracious, says PM Lee
17304870_0.JPG

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong delivering a speech. Photo: Channel NewsAsia
Published: March 17, 4:12 AM

SINGAPORE — In response to a BBC online article that dubbed Singapore “misery city”, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said that the report served as “a good reminder” to Singaporeans to be more considerate.
“We needn’t accept everything the writer says. But her article is still a good reminder to us to be kinder and more gracious to one another,” Mr Lee wrote in a Facebook post yesterday.
In the article “Does Singapore deserve its ‘miserable’ tag?”, published on the BBC website on Friday, freelance reporter Charlotte Ashton cited a survey which found Singaporeans to be the least positive people on earth, and highlighted incidents in which train commuters did not offer her any help when she felt faint from morning sickness.
Mr Lee posted on Facebook: “We have made progress over the years with the courtesy campaign, the Singapore Kindness Movement, and efforts in our schools. We often read newspaper letters about acts of kindness to strangers. But we can still do much better.
Added the Prime Minister, who said he had shared the article with his colleagues: “It takes effort from each of us, but it is important and worthwhile. Our pace of life is fast, and we all feel the pressures of living in a city. But all the more we should try harder to respect and help one another. It will make life more pleasant for all of us.”
Two members of the Cabinet also echoed Mr Lee’s views.
“I think many of us would be able to relate to some of her experiences. I remember my wife facing the same situation,” said Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin in a Facebook post on Saturday.
“Building a gracious society starts with every one of us. When we begin to care for those around us, we would have started building not only a gracious society, but perhaps a great nation.”
Mr Lawrence Wong, Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth, added that he had seen signs of hope, such as in the form of group-up initiatives started by young Singaporeans encouraging others to be more gracious.
“I still remember the tagline of the old Courtesy campaign: Courtesy begins with me. It may be a cliche, but it’s still true,” Mr Wong wrote on his Facebook page on Saturday.
Source: http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/bbc-article-good-reminder-be-more-gracious-says-pm-lee
Maybe if PAP would spend less time fixing the opposition and do away with the obstacle to opposition: pro-gerrymandering and oversized GRC scheme (replace with NCMP minority MP scheme), and do away with PA-PAP political alliance that forces civil servants to be the political mouthpiece of the PAP: then Singaporeans will focus less on fixing foreign talents and exploiting the poor. If the people at the top abuse their right to rule by implementing self- serving political policies, then it is unlikely that Singapore will develop into a gracious society since the people do not have any good example to follow...

My 2 cents worth...

bic_cherry

The misery of Singaporeans is determined by how corrupt politicians are.

sizmo7 said:
Thread source (HWZ): Singaporeans can embrace foreign talents, but can PAP do the same for the opposition too?
Their past bad behaviour always comes back to haunt them and makes them look like hypocrits. Sian Loong asks Singaporeans to treat each other with more kindness but he, his father and the rest of his gang can't practise what they preach in politics with their gratitious lawsuits or using the 90cent newspaper to defame opposition members like Nicole Seah and many others.
Guess changing the goal posts (the opposition/ people who feel dizzy w morning sickness are unfit for work and need to be "fixed"), reserved seats (GRC system of elections) are only for cronies/ selfish self-privileged people: these nuances all played out on the MRT train resulting in the BBC reporter's unfortunate experience. Thus it is no surprise, Sink@poreans led by their corrupt and incompetent government are indeed a miserable bunch.

Corrupt for designing GRC system to achieve maximum partisan political benefit (fixing the opposition/ (see video)) when they could very well have used the least electorally disruptive NCMP system to instead guarantee minimum minority representation in parliament, whilst fully retaining the single seat constituency scheme for majority elected candidates.

Corrupt for the cronyism where by political stooges/ cronies are elevated to senior civil servant position aka the paradoxically "apolitical" 'PA Adviser to Grassroots scheme' operated by the people's association in which the board is PAP majority and PM Lee HL himself is Chairman of the PA.

Incompetent and corrupt for not selecting HDB units for lift-upgrading based solely upon building design/ age as well as demographic need to determine the priority for direct lift to floor access but on political allegiance during national elections: thus dividing the nation into haves and have nots, such that those with weaker conscience who supported PAP's pork-barrel political antics enjoyed greater material gain. The BBC reporter's unfortunate MRT experience is just the natural development and possibly just the tip of the iceberg.

And for all that, yes, Sink@pooreans are mostly a miserable lot.

Intoparliamentjpg.jpg
[Pict= [URL="http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2012/04/disassembling-grc-benefits-pap-1/"]Disassembling GRC system benefits PAP (Part 1 of 3)[/URL]]

liftupgrade.jpg

HougangAdviser.jpg
(Picture source= How PAP uses taxpayer-funded grassroots for political gain)

Under LHL and perhaps beginning from the early GCT years, the aura of being a PAP politician, or even ANY politician had already began to die down...:
ST23Mar2007-%2BWhy%2Bpay%2Bmust%2Bgo%2Bup.JPG

Today, it's all about the dash for more cash, the aura of public service had since died and was buried long ago...:
09Apr2007-+Annex+3-+Pay+Comparison+Before+and+After+Salary+Revision.JPG

da dick

Re: The misery of Singaporeans is determined by how corrupt politicians are.

Singaporeans can embrace foreign talents, but can PAP do the same for the CIA.

i for one, welcome our ang moh overlords!