• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

singaporean very happy liao, got 6 mp, mai cow pek, cow bu liao

sengkang

WP
May 8, 2011
<table width="65" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td>
</td></tr><tr><td height="10">
</td></tr><tr><td>
</td></tr><tr><td valign="top">
</td></tr><tr><td>
</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top">
</td> </tr> <tr> <td>
</td></tr></tbody></table>
Workers' Party takes Aljunied, makes breakthrough

lowtk.jpg

The Workers' Party made a historic breakthrough by winning Aljunied GRC, with a narrower margin of 9.42 per cent in the defining battle for the 143,148 votes. -- ST PHOTO: YEN MENG JIIN

THE Workers' Party made a historic breakthrough by winning Aljunied GRC, with a comfortable margin of 9.42 per cent in the defining battle for the 143,148 votes.
The keenly-watched results, announced at 2.10am, was greeted with cheers and jubilation from WP supporters.
The opposition team, led by WP veteran Low Thia Khiang, grabbed 72,165 or 54.7 per cent of the 143,148 votes, while the People's Action Party (PAP) team garnered 59,732 votes or 45.4 per cent.
In the 2006 election, the PAP defeated the WP with 56.1 per cent of the votes.
The big gamble paid off for Mr Low, who left his Hougang stronghold to make a bid for a GRC by putting together an 'A' slate which included party chairman Sylvia Lim, corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao, postgraduate law student Pritam Singh and freelance counsellor Muhamad Faisal Abdul Manap.
The PAP lost two ministers - Mr Yeo and Ms Lim Hwee Hua - as well as Senior Minister Zainul Abidin Rasheed, who was slated to be Speaker of Parliament, Ms Cynthia Phua and newcomer Ong Ye Kung, a trade union leader who was tipped to be an office holder.
Mr Yeo and his teammates looked grim when the Returning Officer announced the eagerly-awaited results.
Earlier, as counting was underway at the Monfort Junior School, the Workers' Party supporters and crowd at Hougang Stadium, erupted in cheers as word spread that the WP was leading in the count.
At about 11.10pm, Ms Phua, a two-term MP in Mr Yeo's team, told reporters at the counter centre that the PAP had lost.

ah_phah

i believe, the voters of aljunied will have less to complain, but i'm not sure about the remaining 60% across the island... will they continue to KPKB after putting the good for nothings back into power?

Microsoft

i believe, the voters of aljunied will have less to complain, but i'm not sure about the remaining 60% across the island... will they continue to KPKB after putting the good for nothings back into power?

My entire family are de 40%...my auntie family de complete opposite. Yesterday auntie called mom and say "Wah! u dare to vote for opp pty?? Wait no flat stay how?" So they vote out of fear...not support...u say they will continue to kpkb onot leh? :biggrin::biggrin:

ivebert

My entire family are de 40%...my auntie family de complete opposite. Yesterday auntie called mom and say "Wah! u dare to vote for opp pty?? Wait no flat stay how?" So they vote out of fear...not support...u say they will continue to kpkb onot leh? :biggrin::biggrin:

Why your auntie family so fearful of PAP............

U shd communicate everything about the election process to them...

Microsoft

Why your auntie family so fearful of PAP............

U shd communicate everything about the election process to them...

No use...wun listern 1...if these grp of ppl mindset can be convince 2 chg...de result of dis election will neber b lidat...