• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Wannabe Dubai Going Kaput Under Retarded Leadership!

clinton666

Singapore wannabe Dubai is going kaput :biggrin:

But what Dubai lacks is a first class government with talented scholars which Singapore has a plentiful supply of. So while Singapore is relatively unscathed by the global economic fallout, Dubai is going under due to a lack of vision and business savvy by it's nincompomp leaders :p

Is Bubble-Bursting Dubai Bankrupt?Friday November 27, 2009

It Was All a Mirage: One of Dubai World's disastrous investments includes the $8.5 billion CityCenter project in Las Vegas, Nev., the biggest privately financed construction project in the United States. Dubai World is near bankruptcy. (Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

For most of this decade Dubai has been the Victoria Beckham of the Arab world--the biggest, glitziest, most heedless spender. It's been the sort of place that invests $7.6 billion subway system few of its 1.6 million people are likely to use, the sort of place that builds artificial islands in the shape of palm trees, the sort of place that builds the world's tallest skyscraper, the sort of place that sells designer seat-belts to encourage drivers to be safer in the very cars it wants them to trade in for a subway ride, and the sort of place where office buildings have been the Gulf's most copious crop of the decade.

Dubai hasn't limited its excesses to its corner of the United Arab Emirates. Through Dubai World, the Emirate's investment arm, it partnered with MGM Mirage and invested in such projects as Las Vegas' CityCenter, a 67-acre development that includes a 4,004-room hotel-casino, 2,400 high-rise residential condos, dining and entertainment venues and its own retail district. At $8.5 billion, it's the most expensive privately financed construction project in the United States.

Now the bad news.

The Dubai subway has been running since September, albeit to empty quarters. A quarter of Dubai's office space is vacant. Workers have taken salary cuts of up to 30%. The Emirati government is in debt to the tune of $80 billion to $120 billion. CityCenter? It's "worth about half of what it cost MGM Mirage and Dubai World to build the massive Strip development," the Las Vegas Review-Journal reported in October. lost half its value. MGM Mirage took a $1 billion write-down already, Dubai World ate a $348 million loss (so far).

"Investors have long expected (and will probably expect further) write-downs of the carrying value of its residential towers at CityCenter, especially after it reduced unit pricing by 30 percent or so," the paper quoted BMO Capital Markets analyst Jeffrey Logsdon as saying in a note to clients. "We do not expect investors to have a negative reaction to this step."

So much for hail-Mary optimism.

On Wednesday, Dubai World announced that it could no longer make payments on its debt for at least the next six months. The news sent European and Asian markets into a swoon on Thursday. American markets followed today, though at this writing it looks like the 2% drop of the Dow in early trading is now closer to 1.3%.

Worse news for Dubai: Standard & Poor's downgraded the credit rating of three of the emirate's principal investment entities to BBB-minus, just-above junk status, one more to BBB-plus, and a fifth, Dubai Multi Commodities Centre Authority and Thor Asset Purchase (Cayman) Ltd at BB, or two notches into junk. All of this will make Dubai's debt repayments that much steeper, especially on some $50 billion that those finance firms owe in the next three years.

And still the optimist-illusionists were at it today, trying to put a good face on bubble shards. Here's how Paul Schulte, head of multi-strategy research at Nomura in Hong Kong, commented in a note on Friday, according to The Times: "Dubai was a carbon copy of Thailand's disastrous foray as an 'international financial center' in the 1990s. Happily, the U.A.E. has oil. Thailand did not."

The UAE has oil, yes. That is, Abu Dhabi does (92 billion barrels worth of reserves). Dubai does not. It barely has 4 billion. Oil production in Dubai has been plummeting. It relies on Abu Dhabi to bankroll its spending (the way the United States rely on China, Japan and the Social Security Trust Fund).

The big question is whether Dubai's bankruptcy is the beginning of another round of falling economic dominoes. We'll leave that one to the tea-leaf readers who, a dirham a dozen from Wall Street to the Arab Street, like to call themselves analysts.

Yue Ying

Instead of kicking your ass i will make an exception and spare you since you have been keeping forumers here entertained with your circus acts. Count yourself lucky! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

wat?! ... dubai copied sg? ... :eek:

copy oso can fail? ... copy oso dunno how 2 copy! ... :rolleyes:

seems like dey copied everyting but left out ze most essential part ... having a bunch of ze world's bestest paid politicians forming ze gahmen ...

serve dem rite 4 dunno how 2 copy! ... :mad:

theblackhole

monday will be a blood-bath....what the fuck is going on...wall street and now bloody dubai debacle...singapore damned sway to be taken for another ride...

anyone knows the amount of damage?

at this rate...banglok...wall street...dubai...we can still stand financially?

Debonerman

That's odd???? China consults us you know, according to the Old Fart. And China is a success story, No? Look at Suzhou Industrial Park! myo539 help!:biggrin:

clinton666

Dubai World's CIO was a Singaporean - Dr. Yu Lai Boon. Say no more.

You spastic maggot :oIo:

That's why I said Dubai is a Singapore wannabe. And if Dr Yu is any good at all, he would have been hired by GIC or Temasek long ago :mad:

Please activate your puny brain.

clinton666

Instead of kicking your ass i will make an exception and spare you since you have been keeping forumers here entertained with your circus acts. Count yourself lucky! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

You retarded cheap slut :oIo:

I have only one question for you, "How Much? ":mad:

clinton666

wat?! ... dubai copied sg? ... :eek:

copy oso can fail? ... copy oso dunno how 2 copy! ... :rolleyes:

seems like dey copied everyting but left out ze most essential part ... having a bunch of ze world's bestest paid politicians forming ze gahmen ...

serve dem rite 4 dunno how 2 copy! ... :mad:

If UAE has appointed MM Lee as their Emir, they would have succeeded, the same way China has after Premier Deng appoint MM Lee as his economic Mentor..

Yue Ying

You retarded cheap slut :oIo:

I have only one question for you, "How Much? ":mad:

Tsk tsk tsk... poor doggy ever so desperate to please your master. If i allow myself to be easily pissed by you, i can just easily ban you from posting for the next 24 hours. You will then be surprised to know who zapped you. Such naivety from an old fool. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

theblackhole

aiyah no worry lah...singapore companies are all well prepared for this financial hiccup...$60 billion is nothing lah...singapore will not be dubainised....we are world class with first class scholars...we are very careful...and dubai financial woes are not unexpected...we are prepared to ride the storms...don't worry, singapore is safe.....we will continue with our own development unhindered by the dubai's financial difficulties....its rich neighbours will come in and help like before...so nothing to worry really...merrry christmas everyone!...go and spend and rejoice!!!

clinton666

aiyah no worry lah...singapore companies are all well prepared for this financial hiccup...$60 billion is nothing lah...singapore will not be dubainised....we are world class with first class scholars...we are very careful...and dubai financial woes are not unexpected...we are prepared to ride the storms...don't worry, singapore is safe.....we will continue with our own development unhindered by the dubai's financial difficulties....its rich neighbours will come in and help like before...so nothing to worry really...merrry christmas everyone!...go and spend and rejoice!!!

There is always panic when uneducated peasants try to act as financial experts.:mad:

Local banks not expected to have large exposure to Dubai debt crisisBy Satish Cheney, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 28 November 2009 2211 hrs

SINGAPORE: Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and Second Finance Minister Lim Hwee Hua said on Saturday that she does not expect Singapore banks to have a large exposure, if any at all, to the Dubai debt crisis.

She said this is due to local banks being diversified in their risk taking.

Dubai World, a Dubai government investment firm, had asked for a six-month delay to repay a large portion of its US$80 billion debt.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a community event in Tampines, Mrs Lim added that Singapore businesses in Dubai may have already been preparing for this debt crisis.

"Our companies operating there, I'm sure, would not be very surprised by this sort of final announcement because for a while, they've been giving feedback about the difficulty with some of the projects," she said.

"So I believe that they would have been preparing for some of these eventualities, and the extent will depend on how much each company is actually exposed."

- CNA/so

theblackhole

singapore boleh lah...that's why we have such brilliant people in our government. well done singapore!

TheBonerman

svLEEKUAN_narrowweb__300x417,0.jpg

Now you people listen here! Before my DBS puppies make any spin, no, statement on Monday, let me assure all Sinkapore that we will get back our money in 30 years. I knew this would happen. I had factored it in my decision to invest. When Dubai booms again, you people will kiss my arse!:p:p:p

fengshuisifu

Good Foresight?

SEE MFA statement:
Straits Times (4 February 2008) - SM Goh gets a sense of Dubai's mega-projects

Feb 4, 2008

SM Goh gets a sense of Dubai's mega-projects

From world's tallest building to indoor ski resort, emirate dazzles and wows

By Lee Siew Hua

DUBAI - SENIOR Minister Goh Chok Tong has viewed the icons of the New Dubai skyline to sense the scale of this tiny emirate's mega-projects and global drive.

Over the weekend, Mr Goh also toured the Palm Jumeirah, a series of palm- shaped man-made islands where sports icons Tiger Woods and David Beckham have already picked up their own luxury villas.

He also viewed the sleek Burj Dubai, soon to be the world's tallest building.

And, paradoxically, he walked on snow inside an indoor ski resort in the desert.

At the Palm Jumeirah, Mr Goh was shown how the world's largest set of man- made islands was created from an old pearl village.

It started when the ruler of Dubai, Sheik Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, drew a traditional palm tree and realised its fronds would add beach frontage to Dubai.

The skills gained earlier from re-engineering the coast to build Jebel Ali Port were applied to the project, now the home and playground of the moneyed set who began moving in last year.

'That's the spirit of Dubai,' said Dr Yu Lai Boon, a Singaporean who is the group chief investment officer of Dubai World, the holding company that manages businesses and projects for the Dubai government.

On a mild winter day, Dr Yu also showed Mr Goh a 7,000-sq-ft villa priced at US$5 million (S$7 million) that came with a private beach facing blue water.

The Palm Jumeirah is the first of three islands being built in the Arabian Gulf and will add 1,000km of new beach frontage to Dubai.

The islands will have luxury homes, hotels, retail outlets, a monorail, an aquarium with 65,000 different types of fish and more. American tycoon Donald Trump is also building a hotel there.

Seagrass will be transplanted to balance the ecology.

Mr Goh also viewed the Burq Dubai, expected to be world's tallest building when completed next year.

Said to be at more than 700m high, its final height is 'still a secret', said Mr Greg Sang, director of projects at Emaar Properties.

Finally, Mr Goh entered a ski resort at the Mall of the Emirates, the biggest shopping mall outside North America.

Skiers, many of them children, zipped down the gentle snow-covered slope of Ski Dubai. The temperature is kept at -1 to -2 deg C.

The resort is a testament to the surreal scale of Dubai's rush into modernity, even as it preserves its Arabic culture.

The planning of the New Dubai has been accelerated in recent years, as the emirate is quickly spending petro-dollars to diversify its economy.

It aims to cut dependence on oil revenues, and one economic goal is to heighten tourism.

This has in turn created superlatives like the Palm Jumeirah - all largely powered by the foreign talent who form 80 per cent of the workforce.

Today, the non-oil sector is responsible for about 95 per cent of Dubai's total GDP.

These changes were pushed by Sheikh Mohammed, whom Mr Goh met yesterday.

Mr Goh wrapped up his week-long visit to Qatar and Dubai to intensify links with the Middle East yesterday. He returns to Singapore today.

[email protected]

---------

Feb 4, 2008

Singapore and Dubai 'can cooperate in many areas'

SINGAPORE and Dubai do not view each other as 'mortal competitors', Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said yesterday.

Instead, both believe in joining forces in new endeavours such as public service reform and health care, he said after meeting the Ruler of Dubai, Sheikh Mohammed Rashid Al Maktoum.

'Very importantly, both of us reiterated that we did not regard each other as mortal competitors,' he said. 'We compete in some areas, but we believe we can cooperate in many other areas.'

Sheikh Mohammed has the mark of a leader, he observed. Mr Goh said he came straight to the point and asked: 'What can we do together?'

The Sheikh, who is also Vice-President, Prime Minister and Defence Minister of the United Arab Emirates, directed officials to form a committee and visit Singapore to study possibilities.

Later, at lunch, Mr Goh discussed three areas of cooperation with Dubai officials.

They wanted to learn more about improving their public sector service, he said.

And Mr Goh was interested in Dubai's Healthcare City - its ambitious medical hub.

He felt there were opportunities for public and private hospitals to team up in research and investments.

He also highlighted education, as Dubai regards human resources as national wealth.

'In all this, there must be value-add for one another, and there must be value-gain for one another,' he said.

Also present at the meeting was the newly appointed Crown Prince, Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum, who heads the Dubai Executive Council.

LEE SIEW HUA

Copyright ?2007 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved. Privacy Statement & Condition of Access