• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SINGAPORE remains the world's most attractive cities to live in! 3 cheers for MBT!

RonRon

SINGAPORE remains one of the world's most attractive cities to live in, according to a newly-developed index.

Preliminary findings from the Global Liveable Cities Index put the city state third behind Swiss cities Geneva and Zurich, and top for Asia, ahead of Hong Kong in eighth position.

While it came in tops in areas like good governance and safety, it only ranked 14th out of 64 countries when it came to environmental friendliness and sustainability.

The index, commissioned by the Centre for Liveable Cities and designed by a team at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy and academics in Switzerland, is claimed to be one of the most comprehensive and balanced indicators of liveability yet devised.

It competes head on with a range of existing quality benchmarks, including Mercer's Quality of Living Survey, British publication Monocle's most liveable city index, and the Economist Intelligence Unit's Liveability Ranking.

'Each of these have their own purpose, but in terms of looking at liveability from a holistic, and... balanced framework, I think there are probably very few, if any, such sets of indicators around,' said Mr Andrew Tan, director of the Centre for Liveable Cities which commissioned the study.

Re: SINGAPORE remains the world's most attractive cities to live in! 3 cheers for MBT

Hip Hip Hooray! Long live MBT Long Live LKY! Always support PAP. Make Pay and Pay our way of life! No LKY no Singapore! No MBT no HDB!

Re: SINGAPORE remains the world's most attractive cities to live in! 3 cheers for MBT

yah pappy running dog internet brigade, here is three cheers to ur pappy master:

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

If you are rich, Singapore is heaven ( ask jet li and gong li). Your children chance of getting kidnap is low and getting extortion is very low. Ang Mo got free fuck with SPG or pay a bit in OT.

Stay in 6th ave and mingle with Ministers....

If you are FTs also good. After 5-10 years you will have enough to retired in your country or go dubai to make more money.

If you are a sinkie.. you are fuck... Husband and wife work at least 25 years to pay for HDB flat. Kids sent to childcare or taken care by maid. ( with the exception of goverment scolars )

Squeezed in SMRT for 25 years. Sit in a office waiting to be replace by FTs.
Finally you do a simple cacualtion, You will never see you CPF.

Then you get old and sick and get fuck the 2nd time round..

Finally die and burn in Mandai.Very attractive city.

Thank you LKY, without you and your son. There will be no Singapore.. Also MBT for his HDB ( Oh.. almost forgot must do my windons, just rx $200 from goverment. I wonder how must the window cost )

I will VOTE for PAP and let ave sinkis suffer more and let PAP and their network enjoy the CLEAN GREEN CITY.

If you are a sinkie.. you are fuck... Husband and wife work at least 25 years to pay for HDB flat. Kids sent to childcare or taken care by maid. ( with the exception of goverment scolars )

Squeezed in SMRT for 25 years. Sit in a office waiting to be replace by FTs.
Finally you do a simple cacualtion, You will never see you CPF.

Spot on.....how is it the average Singapolian don't feel lucky living in NO 1 city in Asia.
We are so stressed out with the the constant nagging about pushing up our productivity, down our wage cause we are too expensive, we're too complacent -better work day and night and yet suppose to find time to bond with family and produce super-talent kids.
About time we start a reality show in Singapore. Get a minister to swap job with a commoner....definitely more effective than their many years of walk e ground with a bunch of po-lum-par grassroot suckers.

Really? HDB Flat is about $400k. You will borrow $320k. With combined CPF of $1,800 from ordinary account, the Flat will be paid up in 12-15 years.

Stop lying and spreading false propaganda, like the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

This type of index money can buy. What's the big deal.

Finally die and burn in Mandai.Very attractive city.

Before that they get to harvest any parts that they can sell to medical tourists:(

Really? HDB Flat is about $400k. You will borrow $320k. With combined CPF of $1,800 from ordinary account, the Flat will be paid up in 12-15 years.

Stop lying and spreading false propaganda, like the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

$400k is before subsidies. i read somewhere subsidies can amount up to around $50k ?

No. Nowadays a flat on resale market goes for about $400k. Don't know what the grant is, but it used to be $30k.

The index, commissioned by the Centre for Liveable Cities and designed by a team at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy and academics in Switzerland, is claimed to be one of the most comprehensive and balanced indicators of liveability yet devised.

What else do you expect this "independent" team to come up with?

<table class="infobox vcard" style="width: 22em; text-align: left; font-size: 88%; line-height: 1.5em;" cellspacing="5"><tbody><tr align="left"><th colspan="2" class="fn org" style="text-align: center; font-size: 125%; font-weight: bold;" align="left">Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy</th> </tr> <tr class="" align="left"> <td colspan="2" class="" style="text-align: center;"></td> </tr> <tr class=""> <th style="text-align: left;" align="left">Established</th> <td class="" style="" align="left">2004</td> </tr> <tr class=""> <th style="text-align: left;" align="left">Dean</th> <td class="" style="" align="left">Kishore [Poverty has been eradicated] Mahbubani</td> </tr> <tr class=""> <th style="text-align: left;" align="left">Location</th> <td class="adr" style="" align="left">Singapore, Singapore</td> </tr> <tr class=""> <th style="text-align: left;" align="left">Colours</th> <td class="" style="" align="left">Maroon/Grey</td> </tr> <tr class=""> <th style="text-align: left;" align="left">Website</th> <td class="" style="" align="left">www.lkyspp.nus.edu.sg</td></tr></tbody></table>​

No. Nowadays a flat on resale market goes for about $400k. Don't know what the grant is, but it used to be $30k.

Then brand new should be even cheaper, around $200k. After subsidies and grants, 10 years can fully payup liao.

1. it is interesting to know what the make-up of those participating in the survey too.
2. there should be some trend there!
3. yes, most and very attractive city to live where ft can easily match up with its citizens for public housing.
4. the latter finding it more and more difficult to "lease" housing.