• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore National Identity & Dress - An on-going journey

As every true blue singaporean (you know wh the real ones are) knows that we became ruddlerless for a national identity when they introduced the first race based policy in black and white via the HDB Ethnic Housing policy. Thats when nation building ground to a halt and the U-turn was complete.

NTUC then stepped in decide to come out with a national dress along the orchid motif. It was cross between that of a unquitious uniformed tourist guide and a great unknown. The other danger was a possible creation from the Istana choice of dressmaker in the lasy that runs a shop at Ocean Park, Upper East Coast Road with the likes of Old Lady and Ho Ching.

As APEC tradtion always has the guests dressed in the host's national dress, everyone was waiting what that was going to be as no singaporean had a clue what the national dress was? Well you must have seen it by now. The irony is that Obama, Arroyo, Najib and other leaders were first and not Singaporeans who became aware of what the national dress of singapore was.

In simple terms, these are are interesting features and a classic singapore trait of being being economical and practical - light material, easy to use , one colour, plain and thats it. No link to culture, no history, no emotions and no identity. A straight copy of the Phillipines Shirt but avoids allegation of counterfeiting ( a well known regional trait) and lacks originality and creativity, the colours were dark shade of the spectrum contrary to the Philipines transparent, white or cream and the collar, a cross between Nehru and the Chinese collars. The women's version is closer to the Sri Lankan top.

And we fucking pay top money to scholars and offialdom and we can't get something that tells us that its Singaporean by nature, taste and outlook.

The only thing worse is a white shirt or blouse with a pink jacket and the aircon turned sky high. Then again, it immediately it would be easily recognisable as the dress code of a old man, his son and the country that they ruled for 50 years via a series of electioneering hurdles, booby traps and plain road blocks.

... In simple terms, these are are interesting features and a classic singapore trait of being being economical and practical - light material, easy to use , one colour, plain and thats it. No link to culture, no history, no emotions and no identity. A straight copy of the Phillipines Shirt but avoids allegation of counterfeiting ( a well known regional trait) and lacks originality and creativity, the colours were dark shade of the spectrum contrary to the Philipines transparent, white or cream and the collar, a cross between Nehru and the Chinese collars. The women's version is closer to the Sri Lankan top. ...
correct wat ... a rojak ... xcept mayb wif a deficiency of sum ingredients ...

One cuntry, 2 uniforms perhaps?

For the Royal Familee:

dragrobe.jpg

For Peesai Peasants:

100_percent_beggar_tshirt-p235055693665640382trlf_400.jpg

Probably the closest that one calls a singapore dress would be the SAF No. 4 and its variations over the years. That leaves out the ladies.

correct wat ... a rojak ... xcept mayb wif a deficiency of sum ingredients ...

As every true blue singaporean (you know wh the real ones are) knows that we became ruddlerless for a national identity when they introduced the first race based policy in black and white via the HDB Ethnic Housing policy. Thats when nation building ground to a halt and the U-turn was complete.

NTUC then stepped in decide to come out with a national dress along the orchid motif. It was cross between that of a unquitious uniformed tourist guide and a great unknown. The other danger was a possible creation from the Istana choice of dressmaker in the lasy that runs a shop at Ocean Park, Upper East Coast Road with the likes of Old Lady and Ho Ching.

As APEC tradtion always has the guests dressed in the host's national dress, everyone was waiting what that was going to be as no singaporean had a clue what the national dress was? Well you must have seen it by now. The irony is that Obama, Arroyo, Najib and other leaders were first and not Singaporeans who became aware of what the national dress of singapore was.

In simple terms, these are are interesting features and a classic singapore trait of being being economical and practical - light material, easy to use , one colour, plain and thats it. No link to culture, no history, no emotions and no identity. A straight copy of the Phillipines Shirt but avoids allegation of counterfeiting ( a well known regional trait) and lacks originality and creativity, the colours were dark shade of the spectrum contrary to the Philipines transparent, white or cream and the collar, a cross between Nehru and the Chinese collars. The women's version is closer to the Sri Lankan top.

And we fucking pay top money to scholars and offialdom and we can't get something that tells us that its Singaporean by nature, taste and outlook.

The only thing worse is a white shirt or blouse with a pink jacket and the aircon turned sky high. Then again, it immediately it would be easily recognisable as the dress code of a old man, his son and the country that they ruled for 50 years via a series of electioneering hurdles, booby traps and plain road blocks.

If it was black in colour, it will look exactly like a Vietcong pajama. And what's with the muted red colour? It looks like it was faded and second hand clothing.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
When New China was founded by Dr Sun, the first thing he did was to design a new "National Dress code" for the New born republic.

The Ancient China has gone through many phases of dress code changes throughout the centuries. This is especially important when a "foreign tribe" conquered China; eg. Mongolian and Manchurian.

Strange enough, with all those "Confucius" learning, PAP government did not pay much attention to develop our National dress code which is a form of National Identity. Using Peranakan culture as a basis of our "National Identity" is really a joke. It could well be a good story for National TV sitcom series but definitely appropriate to be the basis of our National Identity.

Goh Meng Seng

I agree. I supect they purposely muted the colours lest people recognise the Philippines cut minus the collar.

If it was black in colour, it will look exactly like a Vietcong pajama. And what's with the muted red colour? It looks like it was faded and second hand clothing.

Thats an excellent point. Thats why Dr Sun was such a great man.

Looks like he wanted a build an image of Singapore for which he will claim credit but the not the people that live in it. You always here about Singapore being a modern miracle, a city state, etc etc but you never hear anything good about the people. All you here is that govt officials are not corrupt, the civil service works.

About 20 years ago, I was in California and SIA sponsored a float with STPB. The theme was dragon dance. I was shocked. Guess what, similar themes followed.

When New China was founded by Dr Sun, the first thing he did was to design a new "National Dress code" for the New born republic.

The Ancient China has gone through many phases of dress code changes throughout the centuries. This is especially important when a "foreign tribe" conquered China; eg. Mongolian and Manchurian.

Strange enough, with all those "Confucius" learning, PAP government did not pay much attention to develop our National dress code which is a form of National Identity. Using Peranakan culture as a basis of our "National Identity" is really a joke. It could well be a good story for National TV sitcom series but definitely appropriate to be the basis of our National Identity.

Goh Meng Seng

You always here about Singapore being a modern miracle, a city state, etc etc but you never hear anything good about the people. All you here is that govt officials are not corrupt, the civil service works.

th_lky-1-1.jpg

What people? Only my Familee members are human. Other than that, only digits exist in my Leegime! *chey*

KuanTi01

Quote" How about a Tak Boleh Tahan T shirt?"

Possible but No Kangaroos allowed! Apart from being too closely associated with another APEC country, it is supposed to be also very shambolic oops symbolic of one particular country's key institutions.:biggrin::biggrin:

tanboonlock

Who cares about what they wear, what's the concern?