as children in sg, it will be a resounding "yes" if they have maids to carry their bags.why dun they ask the children whether singapore is the best place to grow up?
i am a product of s'pore educational system, i can vouch for it as i think it is rather a good grinding ground to train up bilingual talent. the concrete foundation of imparting and learning basic knowledge in maths and science is also quite applauding. during my time, i observed that as you get promoted to secondary and jc level, things become more rigid, the things that you learn. however, this is needed to prepare you for tertiary education. there is little room to cultivate creativity and innovation. just read from straits times last week that children these days are being shown the rope to learn from experience, rather than from the book. i deem this as a very good way of grasping knowledge for the young. my 2 cents...
The problem isn't so much the "educational system". It is the type of jobs available for sinkies out in sinkieland.
Sinkie kids are trained to become either doctor, lawyer, engineer, accountant or some professional degree. And then with an eye towards financial markets and banking.
So talk about rigid. Yeah! There's not much choice is there if you want to have a reasonably good life in sinkieland?
Coupled with the dumb ass scholar system......even more rigid. But get the scholarship you are made for life man!
what ropes? Let you shadow some SAF generals? Shadow the PM? Ministers? LOL! Nothing to learn cos they don't do anything!
Someone should shadow Desmon Quek.
The problem isn't so much the "educational system". It is the type of jobs available for sinkies out in sinkieland.
Sinkie kids are trained to become either doctor, lawyer, engineer, accountant or some professional degree. And then with an eye towards financial markets and banking.
So talk about rigid. Yeah! There's not much choice is there if you want to have a reasonably good life in sinkieland?
Coupled with the dumb ass scholar system......even more rigid. But get the scholarship you are made for life man!
what ropes? Let you shadow some SAF generals? Shadow the PM? Ministers? LOL! Nothing to learn cos they don't do anything!
Someone should shadow Desmon Quek.
something come to mind about nepotism after reading your post, you can't blame the leaders for that cos' if you are in their shoes, you'd also want someone that you can trust. if you have strangers working around you, you dun even know if they are loyal or good enough, or if they may turn their back against you. i begin to understand that is why you need to have trustworthy pple around you.
Do you want capable people or trustworthy imbeciles?
I can't think of a better place to raise children than in Singapore. The streets here are safe, it's easy to get cheap and good food, your kids get to make friends with different races and cultures, and you don't have to worry about gangs infiltrating schools for turf wars and to sell drugs. There's also a lot of good schools around like Raffles Institution and Global Indian International School.
If the people who were carrying out this survey actually lived in Singapore for a year or two, Singapore will top this survey hands down.
ever since google acquired youtube, which they rely on to farm data on users watching videos, this app goes through a software patch or update every 6.9 days. just updated it on ios devices. not only is google (and youtube) now full of shitty coders from shitskin land but also they are playing hide and seek with platform partners (apple, security clients and isp's for example) trying to prevent them from siphoning personal data, choice of content, and usage patterns without your permission. they cum out with this excuse "general and stability fixes" every time they get caught and issue an update. seldom have so many updates on other apps. google and youtube apps have the most number of updates, and the cadence is getting shorter. soon from 6.9 days to 69 minutes. knn. ccb.something to ponder, the future belongs to those who are always on the hunger to quench their thirst for knowledge. whoever or whichever country has an armour closet of knowledge will rule the world. look at google, as the saying king is knowledge, google has everything under the sun. i see the reason why google is so successful is this principle behind them. they know almost everything, or at least, has all the information.
there is an alternative to google though, try using duckduckgo.com, the search results are just as precise, sometimes, even exotic result will pop up. 2 cents...feel free to make your stance.