• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - 21 year old Singaporean man drowns to his death in Serangoon Canal

UltimaOnline

1616924905195.png

A 21-year-old man drowned on Mar. 28 early morning after going swimming in Serangoon Canal with a group of friends at about 5am, Lianhe Wanbao reported.

Shortly after getting into the waters, the victim disappeared.

When interviewed by Wanbao, the victim's father said that he was alerted by the police past 7am, whereupon he rushed to the scene.

He did not know that his son had gone swimming with his friends.

The father also told the Chinese daily that the victim's friends did not hear or see any sign of struggle during the incident.

When the group realised that the victim had gone missing, they started to search for him, but to no avail.

They then turned to the police for help.

Body retrieved from two-metre depth

In response to queries from Mothership, the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said that they received a call at about 5:45am for water rescue assistance at the canal underneath the junction of Upper Serangoon Road and Buangkok Drive.

There was no sign of the victim when SCDF arrived.

Two divers from the Disaster Assistance Rescue Team (DART) were deployed to perform an underwater search, aided by an underwater Remotely-Operated Vehicle (ROV).

According to SCDF, the ROV allows underwater search operations to be conducted using sonar-imaging equipment that maps out underwater terrain.

This reduces risks for the divers due to poor visibility underwater, and also reduces search time.

The divers subsequently retrieved a body 6m from shore and at a depth of about 2m.

The victim was pronounced dead at the scene by an SCDF paramedic.

https://mothership.sg/2021/03/male-drown-serangoon-canal/

Why is he not in NS? He be much safer there all the officers look after. :frown:

Want to die drowning at least do something memorable e.g. scuba diving or surfing or kayaking. Drowning in a stinky Sinkie canal is just sad.

There are swimming pools that are much cleaner than the canals
What could be in the canals: water snake, monitor lizard, otters, maybe even crocodiles
What else? Waste water, shit, urine, rubbish

This is not good. Another haunted place has been created.

Egad! This canal water safe to swim or not? Even if he survived, I wonder if he had caught other illnesses from the shitty water.

Was he a local? I dont think Sinkies are really that dumb but I might be wrong.

All sort of toxic wastes and rotten stuff go into the canal. Even if he didn't drown to death, he would have contracted skin diseases.

lunch corporal say they maybe gone drinking before that

stupid stinky
can't even suicide well
wanna suicide go jump off from 168th floor
at least create a world record
create some buzz
some headlines
at least some ppl might recall you talk abt u after death
lousy useless fella achieved nothing in life

now went 2 drown in stinkypura lonkang

This kind of big longkang water usually dirty lah. Quite baffling he drowned in a 2 m deep water. Probably some water spirit pulled him down.

KNN my uncle wonder why they need divers to search when the depth is only 2m KNN swimming or walking (for tall ones) already can touch or feel any special objects KNN

KNN divers nothing to do mah...Where got so many drowning accidents to activate them KNN?