• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SIA posts worse-than-expected Q2 loss

GoFlyKiteNow

Singapore Air posts worse-than-expected Q2 loss
Reuters
Reuters - Wednesday, November 11

SINGAPORE, Nov 10 - Singapore Airlines , the world's biggest airline by market value, reported a worse-than-expected second quarter loss as the global economic slowdown hit the carrier's higher margin business travellers particularly hard.

The company, which warned in July it could post a full-year loss if tough conditions last, reported a net loss of S$159 million compared to a net profit of S$324 million a year ago.

Five analysts polled by Reuters had estimated an average net loss of S$37.8 million.

Singapore Air has seen falling passenger and cargo demand this year as a global recession hurt business and leisure travel, forcing it to reduce capacity by 11 percent in the 12 months from April, and cut salaries as well as working hours of its staff.

SIA's capacity cut resulted in an improvement in its overall load factor but yields, or the amount of revenue per passenger, remain under pressure as it cuts prices to attract flyers.

SIA's share price has gained 26 percent since the start of the year, half the 53 percent rise in the broader market.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Etihad pays good wages and perks. Employees will go ALL OUT and pia for them.

Ass-Eye-A cuts wages and perks. Employees where will 'pia' for you?

Like GARMENT say "You Die Your Own Business'.

Employees also have same human mindset but opposite: "Lu Ki Si Ka Ho".

Lesson here is always treat your employees well. Never for the sake of money do u employ inhuman tactics like bringing in cheaper FTs to compete with your own people..

There will always be a backlash.

My company has NO FTs and WILL NOT employ even PRs.

Etihad Airways voted world's leading airline <hr style="color: rgb(152, 152, 152); background-color: rgb(152, 152, 152);" size="1"> <!-- / icon and title --> <!-- message --> Etihad Airways voted world's leading airline

Etihad also picked up the award for Leading First Class

# Agencies
# Published: 21:53 November 9, 2009

Abu Dhabi: Etihad Airways, the national airline of the UAE, has taken the top award at this year's World Travel Awards (WTA), being voted World's Leading Airline by more than 180,000 travel industry professionals from over 175 countries.

The World Travel Awards recognise the very best airline, hospitality and tourism brands in the world, with industry experts vetting nominations for their customer relations, creativity, quality of service, product innovation and business acumen.

James Hogan, Etihad Airways chief executive, said: "Three years ago, Etihad set itself one clear and simple goal, to be the best airline in the world. I am proud of the way Etihad people all over the world have embraced that vision, supporting our investment in state-of-the-art products by delivering superb customer service.

In addition to being named World's Leading Airline, Etihad also picked up the award for Leading First Class for the second year in a row.

Hogan said: "Winning the Leading First Class category two years in a row tells us that our commitment to continuous investment in our product and service is the right strategy for us and for our customers.

"As we move into 2010, we intend to cement our place as the world's best airline, opening up new routes, taking delivery of new aircraft, investing in new products in the air and on the ground, and introducing a range of online initiatives to make travelling with Etihad better than ever," he added

With all the unecessary travelling being carried out within the gov't, the question I have is whether SIA charge Spore gov't officials when they travel:confused:

The old man alone must travel with an army of bodyguards. Each time he decides to take a junket it must cost a tiny fortune :rolleyes:

Char_Azn

With all the unecessary travelling being carried out within the gov't, the question I have is whether SIA charge Spore gov't officials when they travel:confused:

The old man alone must travel with an army of bodyguards. Each time he decides to take a junket it must cost a tiny fortune :rolleyes:

Dun say this out too loud wait they find excuse to buy private jet, lagi worse

Char_Azn

Just the mathematic magic? You can see no one kiri stomach and no one resign out of shame/failure?

Our culture is to "Just move on", jump off building is the Japanese way and resign out of shame is the Ang Moh way. Not everything must follow FTs

resign is nt a word in ze dictionary! ...

ze sg correct protocol is tis ...

tok shamelessly n proudly dat u hv 'no regrets' ... get 1 half-past-6 scapegoat 2 take over, u go 4 holiday ... den cum back fire dat scapegoat n u take back over ...