• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SHORT MINISTAR Caught With His Pants Down And KUKU Jiao No where To Be Seen

ahleebabasingaporethief

icon1.gif
Hazel Poa exposes the truth in Mah's data
<hr style="background-color: rgb(152, 152, 152); color: rgb(152, 152, 152);" size="1"> <!-- / icon and title --><!-- message --> http://hazelpoa.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Housing Prices Vs Household Income – Alternative ways of viewing the statistics

With reference to today’s Straits Times article where Mr Mah Bow Tan said it is not true that HDB resale prices have outstripped income growth. He supported his statement with the following statistics:

by99.png

table1.jpg

I would like to point out that the choice of the base year can be very significant.

Let’s see what happens when we change the base year to 2000 and 2001:

by00.png

by01.png

And if we look at it since the last General Election:

by06.png

table2.jpg

Resale prices up by 45.6%, while median household income is up 21.3%.

Choosing a suitable base year to support your conclusions is quite a useful trick that we should all learn.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

An unsuspecting reader will be completely deceived and misled by the Straits Times yet again, but thanks to the internet, we know that the statistics were fudgy at best and not an accurate reflection of the reality on the ground.
The trick lies in the base year used in the computation of the statistics, according to Reform Party member Hazel Poa.

Ms Poa is a former PSC scholar and a senior civil servant in the <leo_highlight style="border-bottom: 2px solid rgb(255, 255, 150); background-color: transparent; background-image: none; background-repeat: repeat; background-attachment: scroll; background-position: 0% 50%; -moz-background-size: auto auto; cursor: pointer; display: inline; -moz-background-clip: -moz-initial; -moz-background-origin: -moz-initial; -moz-background-inline-policy: -moz-initial;" id="leoHighlights_Underline_0" onclick="leoHighlightsHandleClick('leoHighlights_Underline_0')" onmouseover="leoHighlightsHandleMouseOver('leoHighlights_Underline_0')" onmouseout="leoHighlightsHandleMouseOut('leoHighlights_Underline_0')" leohighlights_keywords="ministry" leohighlights_url_top="http%3A//shortcuts.thebrowserhighlighter.com/leonardo/plugin/highlights/3_1/tbh_highlightsTop.jsp?keywords%3Dministry%26domain%3Dforums.delphiforums.com" leohighlights_url_bottom="http%3A//shortcuts.thebrowserhighlighter.com/leonardo/plugin/highlights/3_1/tbh_highlightsBottom.jsp?keywords%3Dministry%26domain%3Dforums.delphiforums.com" leohighlights_underline="true">Ministry</leo_highlight> of Finance before venturing out herself to start her own business.

The statistics used by Mr Mah appeared to be so because the prices of resale HDB flats are low and remain stagnant during the years 2000 – 2006:
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Wah sei . Very creative titling .

Scholars can see through the lies and very toolan WHILST an actor is trying to act like a scholar and sleeping with scums.

You all know who I am referring to?
:oIo:

Errhh, nothing new, this is similar to stocks comparison, you might have beaten the index in the past few years and made money but in the long run (since 1999), you have lost money ...
To be fair, the comparison should be done like what they do for stocks - take any 10 year period and any year as the starting baseline.

I keep wonder why no sinkies ever put 3 news together and ask mr ministar.

1) ministar say the housing planning is good and house remain very affordable.
2) authorithy say the land price must bring maximum return to gahmen (but gahmen not return the money to people la)
3) the foreigner singers come to help raise money in sinkieland say they bought 2 and 1 units each in private property

So the miss poa, can ask you, got statistics on "investment" land housing against HDB housing built in these years against say, income and demand?

Then got ask gahmen, the foreigner can buy house in sinkieland, got what rules? Can one shot buy 10-20 and leave empty while push sinkies out of the market? and same time the land become "investment" by foreigner and sinkies not have the HDB which can build in the lands?

ministar got statistics for houses bought and left empty (just check the PUB bills) or rent out only, break down by private pty, foreigner own and sinkie own?

Why is it since I have posted over the internet that citizens serf 's salary are too low .

That they now bother to even question why ?

I think he used data based on a 10 yrs study and not creative thinking to manipulate the data. U are giving MBT too much credit for being creative. Most org dun release things in odd numbers like 8 or 9 yr study as proposed by the the first 2 revision done by the user.

I think it will be a good idea if someone took a 5 yr study plus the one since the last election and shoot this back at MBT and see what he has to say

pap dog today very active.

promotion exercise coming soon?:D