• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shops all empty, retail sector habis

dysentry

It's been obvious that most shops in Orchard Rd are underwater. Many of the new shops in Ion, Central, Iluma, The Cathay look so bare even on Sundays. I guess next year this time most won't be around anymore. But we still have 313, Mandarin Gallery, Heeren Chrysalis opening up this year. Maybe Sinkies are tired of going out and just wanna stay home with their PS3s. Or the retail business doesn't know what people want. Every mall is a rehash of each other. These new malls all look badly designed as well. NUM and Shokudo look like successful brands but they might be killing themselves with excessive expansion.

What will befall them when Dow falls below 4,000 in the coming depression?

URL : http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1009053/1/.html

SINGAPORE: Orchard Central, one of Singapore's newest malls along Orchard Road, is having some issues with its tenants. Just four months after its opening, some tenants are complaining about slow traffic at the mall.

Besides having Singapore's first indoor rock-climbing wall, the 12-storey mall has billed itself as a one-stop shopping destination for the modern individual, with its range of retail and F&B outlets.

However, shoppers are reportedly not thronging the mall as yet.

Poh Yu Seung, base camp manager, Border X, said: "During weekends, the mall is okay, but unfortunately on weekdays, I think Singaporeans are too busy working so the mall is kind of quiet. But the fact is, if you look at Orchard Road on the weekdays, it is terribly quiet."

Garage Shop House, which imports foreign brands, said its sales have fallen since it opened two months ago. It is one of 20 tenants – out of a total of 170 – that have asked for rental rebates, ranging from 50 to 70 per cent.

Lim Li Yuen, managing director of Garage Shop House, said: "We came into this mall in a different economic situation. At that time, maybe we were prepared to pay higher rates... But the market reality is that business has dropped by quite a lot."

Orchard Central's management, Far East Organisation, is already taking steps to offer tenants a helping hand. It has been meeting up with tenants and it has committed up to S$5 million in advertising and promotion efforts to drive traffic to the mall.

JinGanKor

it is landlord's market.

no business just get lost and forfeit your 3 months deposit, reinstate back the unit and all your renovations $$$ gone. The next sucker will come in, maybe higher rental.

besotted

HDB resale all time high, private property surge in Q2, COE so high

Perhaps these stupid retailers who all sell the same ah gua Westernised trinkets need to change their strategy

They also have to be more firm with landlords and not be a price taker

Shops all empty, retail sector habis ...
how can dat b? ...

so many ft's r oredi here ... mor cummin 2 make popn 6.5m ...

f1 was a gr8 success! ....

ir's openin soon ... wil oso b a gr8test success! ...

tons of tourists wil cum 2 splash their moni in sg ...

shops m-t? ... dun ever believe dat! ...

Orchard Central's management, Far East Organisation, is already taking steps to offer tenants a helping hand. It has been meeting up with tenants and it has committed up to S$5 million in advertising and promotion efforts to drive traffic to the mall.

When tenants ask for rental rebates, Far East only response is that it will spend money on advertising & promotion of the mall.

As owners of the mall it is their responsibility to promote their mall. In essence they are telling the tenants NO rebates.

I DO NOT feel too sorry for the shop owners. They are victims of their own greed. Everyone knows that the Orchard Road area is getting too expensive. I bet that most of these Shop owners are PAP supporters. :rolleyes:

VeryWise

I was talking to some of my German colleagues when they came over for work about their trip here. All in all, the first impression is that the country is very clean, very good. Of course, I do not know how much political-correct answer was that. Anyway, I asked them if they bought things for their love ones, their answers are...nope. The branded goods are as expensive as the ones they could get at home. So it will really stupid to buy here. In fact, they are not really into branded goods. They are interested in more unqiue items that they can get at home. Now, if tourists aren't buying those expensive goods, who else could?

The branded goods are as expensive as the ones they could get at home. So it will really stupid to buy here. In fact, they are not really into branded goods. They are interested in more unqiue items that they can get at home. Now, if tourists aren't buying those expensive goods, who else could?

I just ordered some books from Amazon & saved $$$ by getting directly from overseas.

I regularly spend a couple of hundred dollars on supplements & get all my supplements from the US.

If I wanted to buy branded goods I'd also order them from the internet where its cheaper & have a better range of products.

I also save money by shopping in KL, JB and LOS.

Who the heck is buying from expensive Spore :confused:

I think that Orhard Central and ION are going to bleed many retailers to serious financial injuries. If too many die from injuries, next will come the landlords' turn to be seriously injured.

yellow_people

it is landlord's market.

no business just get lost and forfeit your 3 months deposit, reinstate back the unit and all your renovations $$$ gone. The next sucker will come in, maybe higher rental.

too many brainless, brainwashed and greedy chinks. serves these bozos right. let the stubborn ones bleed to death.

SamuelStalin

HDB resale all time high, private property surge in Q2, COE so high

Perhaps these stupid retailers who all sell the same ah gua Westernised trinkets need to change their strategy

They also have to be more firm with landlords and not be a price taker

Yes they should aggressively sell more things that wholly represent the supremacy of Chinese culture, like Chinese beads and silk just like the Yuan Dynasty days, then business will grow, Chinese people would have an identity and it'd be a boom just like the 90s again when ole Bill was in charge.

Maybe new property that resembles large Chinese houses in ancient China will be built for all the Chinese and those who truly respect the oldest civilization in this world, and m&d and straw houses for the rest to suit them all better.

Western whoring doesn't work for no one no more. People should cleanse themselves of unhealthy and viral Western ideas and designs, and be super humble and always remember their roots until they die, whether their eyes open or close.

Fuck those who do not agree. Death be to them. After licking my pubic hair. Yes!

Ai wo zhong hua!!! Ketuanan Cina!! Chugoku ichiban!!!

SamuelStalin

too many brainless, brainwashed and greedy chinks. serves these bozos right. let the stubborn ones bleed to death.

Let these tenants and landlords die and be buried together. Bury them all alive like how the ancient leaders got rid of all these collective critics and dissents of all fucking dung colors is better.

PS Their joint live burial must be accompanied by a live orchestra of Mozart's Fur Elise at 2.30 am.

Watchman

Internet will change the way people spend their money or rather the lack of it get them many good deals !

shit skins don't have the capital to open shops? Oh yes they can only afford to open mama shops in some lousy street corner.

Btw did u boast about yourself being the toast of cyberspace here?

I see your beak nose growing longer already that it's drooping. :oIo:

Long time never shop in Orchard Rd. Only go there meet some friend and have meals but never buy anything.
Why buy thing in Orchard and need to carry all the way back home. Just buy at the nearby home.

Internet will change the way people spend their money or rather the lack of it get them many good deals !

Not only is Internet changing our spending patterns, it is also changing the way we get the "truth". Must also give credit to cheap budget airlines.

Without them the PAP monopoly would be complete.

Not only is Internet changing our spending patterns, it is also changing the way we get the "truth". Must also give credit to cheap budget airlines.

Without them the PAP monopoly would be complete.

You are right. Internet have change many people lifestyle. Many retailer will go bust but there is one service sector will grow that is delivery services.

takcheksian

If somebody can afford to pay five digit rentals a month and runs high class shops in Orchard selling what only Greater Immortals and FTs can afford to buy, I am not sympathetic.

No one want to buy your prada handbag? Go complain to your PAP kakis at the golf course.

I reserve my sympathy for the ah kongs and ah pors selling veggies at wet markets that PAP crony Sheng Siong is taking over with HDB permission.

These poor lesser mortals will lose their stalls and become toilet cleaners and tissue paper sellers if SS is allowed to expel them.

When tenants ask for rental rebates, Far East only response is that it will spend money on advertising & promotion of the mall.

As owners of the mall it is their responsibility to promote their mall. In essence they are telling the tenants NO rebates.

I DO NOT feel too sorry for the shop owners. They are victims of their own greed. Everyone knows that the Orchard Road area is getting too expensive. I bet that most of these Shop owners are PAP supporters. :rolleyes:

SotongMee

"If peasants don't close shops, then I worry." - Woody

It's been obvious that most shops in Orchard Rd are underwater. Many of the new shops in Ion, Central, Iluma, The Cathay look so bare even on Sundays. ......killing themselves with excessive expansion.....

...Poh Yu Seung, base camp manager, Border X, said: "During weekends, the mall is okay, but unfortunately on weekdays, I think Singaporeans are too busy working so the mall is kind of quiet. But the fact is, if you look at Orchard Road on the weekdays, it is terribly quiet."........

VeryWise

I reserve my sympathy for the ah kongs and ah pors selling veggies at wet markets that PAP crony Sheng Siong is taking over with HDB permission.

These poor lesser mortals will lose their stalls and become toilet cleaners and tissue paper sellers if SS is allowed to expel them.

Totally agreed with you. I dun pity the high-end retailers for they should have made their calculation carefully when they enter the expensive arena. And they should be very aware of the game they are in.

As for uncles and aunties trying to earn a living with their stalls in the wet markets, I called the "domination" by Sheng Siong and NTUC 'criminal'. The very likely scenario is that some stalls will still be open for them but the rental could be "market" rate.