• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shocking $147k C-Class Ward Bill!

Jan 29, 2011

THE CASE
Worker served with $147,000 C-class bill

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I HAD an accident at work last June. Initially, the interim hospital bill from the National University Hospital indicated a subsidy.
But when the final bill was given to me, I was shocked. The bill for my stay at a C-class ward amounted to an unsubsidised total of $147,000.
I was discharged on Aug 13 last year and the reason for the difference between what was stated in the interim bill and the final one was not explained at all.
Only after I asked was I told that the Ministry of Health had withdrawn the subsidy as the accident was work- related.
About a month after my discharge, I applied for a waiver of the outstanding amount of about $122,000 through my MP. This was after my company had paid $25,000.
As far as I am aware, the hospital did not reply to the appeal.
Three months later, after more deductions from my MediShield ($41,000) and Medisave accounts ($31,000), I was informed that the hospital was in the process of scheduling an instalment payment plan for the remaining $50,000.
Needless to say, my family and I are plagued by anxiety. I am 54 years old and work in the construction sector; my wife works part-time and my daughters are still in their teens.
How can an average Singaporean worker like me support a family, pay off a huge hospital bill and still find more money to pay for subsequent medical requirements arising from the accident and treatment?
If I had been given a subsidy, I would not have been burdened by this unexpectedly trying financial circumstances.
Tan Guan Seng

0507_A13.jpg

the_middle_finger.jpg

Go and ask the $8 medical bill Hell Minister Khaw lor.:D

Jan 29, 2011

THE REPLY
Patient turned down advice on subsidies

MR TAN Guan Seng spent most of his hospitalisation at the high-dependency and intensive-care units during his two-month stay at the National University Hospital.
His hospitalisation charges were originally pegged at the subsidised rate as our admission office staff had overlooked that it was a work-related injury. We apologised to him for this.
When Mr Tan's wife made a request to upgrade him to a private ward, the hospital's staff informed her that the estimated bill would exceed the quantum to be borne by Mr Tan's employer under the Work Injury Compensation Act.
Under the Act, Mr Tan's employer is liable to pay medical expenses for up to one year from the date of the accident, subject to a cap of $25,000.
However, hospitals are given the discretion to downgrade patients admitted for work-related injuries and who have financial difficulties to subsidised status, if they meet the criteria after a financial assessment.
We empathise with Mr Tan's situation. In our bid to assist him, we advised him to undergo a financial assessment to confirm if he could qualify for higher subsidies for his medical expenses. Mr Tan did not take up the offer.
He was also advised to check with his employer if his medical expenses could be covered under the company's insurance policy.
In September, Mr Tan appealed for a waiver of the outstanding amount through his MP. We considered his appeal and explained that as he was appropriately charged for the treatment provided, we could not accede to his request.
As he did not take up our earlier offers for financial assessment, we were unable to explore other forms of assistance.
In consideration of his appeal, we offered Mr Tan an instalment plan to settle the outstanding amount. The offer was rejected by Mr Tan.
Joy Wong (Mrs)
Director, Patient Relations
National University Hospital

MR TAN Guan Seng spent most of his hospitalisation at the high-dependency and intensive-care units during his two-month stay at the National University Hospital.
His hospitalisation charges were originally pegged at the subsidised rate as our admission office staff had overlooked that it was a work-related injury. We apologised to him for this.
When Mr Tan's wife made a request to upgrade him to a private ward, the hospital's staff informed her that the estimated bill would exceed the quantum to be borne by Mr Tan's employer under the Work Injury Compensation Act.
=> In other words, 99.999% of the cost arose from the ICU stay, which was necessary and not discretionary, so the FAPee should stop bringing the private ward upgrade thingy to confuse the reader! The wife must be shocked with her hubby being left to rot in the C-class normal ward that she was forced to upgrade him to a better ward to save his life!

Poor fark Singaporeans still wonder if $3,000 is too low to survive in Singapore !

Jan 29, 2011

THE CASE

I HAD an accident at work last June. Initially, the interim hospital bill from the National University Hospital indicated a subsidy.
But when the final bill was given to me, I was shocked. The bill for my stay at a C-class ward amounted to an unsubsidised total of $147,000.
I was discharged on Aug 13 last year and the reason for the difference between what was stated in the interim bill and the final one was not explained at all.
Only after I asked was I told that the Ministry of Health had withdrawn the subsidy as the accident was work- related.
About a month after my discharge, I applied for a waiver of the outstanding amount of about $122,000 through my MP. This was after my company had paid $25,000.
As far as I am aware, the hospital did not reply to the appeal.
Three months later, after more deductions from my MediShield ($41,000) and Medisave accounts ($31,000), I was informed that the hospital was in the process of scheduling an instalment payment plan for the remaining $50,000.
Needless to say, my family and I are plagued by anxiety. I am 54 years old and work in the construction sector; my wife works part-time and my daughters are still in their teens.
How can an average Singaporean worker like me support a family, pay off a huge hospital bill and still find more money to pay for subsequent medical requirements arising from the accident and treatment?
If I had been given a subsidy, I would not have been burdened by this unexpectedly trying financial circumstances.
Tan Guan Seng

You fcuking deserve it for staying in sinkieland and choose to be a coward among the cowards to go against the PAP.

it's true medical is sibeh fucking expensive!!!just went for dental polishing and scaling, cost me $90.
went to see gp for cough and flu this month, have to see twice cos' he say i kanna different virus, $59 and $61 respectively.

i remember the last time i saw doctor when having flu was merely $20 odd dollars.

the doctors, generally, fucking immoral to charge so high. gov. should import more foreign doctors and press the prices down!i know polyclinics had already have foreign doctors, particularly female doctors who are more sensitive to your needs!:p :D

Go and ask the $8 medical bill Hell Minister Khaw lor.:D

Mr. Tan Guan Seng only has has himself to blame for not having medical insurance.

If he were in America, the total bill would have been between US$500K to US$1M depending on which city and state the hospital is located.

i find your words very crude to someone like him. i know of sporeans who have no insurance at all cos' they can't afford. so think about it,whose fault it is?

Mr. Tan Guan Seng only has has himself to blame for not having medical insurance.

If he were in America, the total bill would have been between US$500K to US$1M depending on which city and state the hospital is located.

Mr. Tan Guan Seng only has has himself to blame for not having medical insurance ...
ya, man! ...

if oni he had medical insurance, he wud b writing letters boasting about $8 bill payment like dat wan burger ...

I have warded twice in hospital with 2 different MNC companies staying in B ward and both instances requires surgery.

I didn't even have to come out with a single cent. No, I don't have a medical insurance, neither are they work related.

What happen in this case? With Medisave, MediShield and the company?

I suppose since this is work related, isn't the company he work for is responsible to buy a comprehensive insurance for any work related accident?

like most pple said "在新加坡可以死 不能病"

Ya, I wonder how Khaw Boon wan only paid $8 for his heart operations.

He got Workmen's Compensation that paid out S$25K, Medishield insurance that paid out S$41K and Medisave account that paid for S$31K (i.e. wiped out to nil balance). Trouble is, still not enough, the bill is too high.

If this Tan guy had remained in C-class ward, he would be booted out once he is out of ICU and within a month thereafter and will not be charged 'private-room' rates retrospective to the day he was admitted.

Anyone needing after-discharge care in singapore will face a challenge finding a community hospital (1-month stay max if lucky) or join the super long Q for Homes.

First class medical care in Singapore ? Only if you are a member, even then ony need pay $8 for heart bypass.

Jan 29, 2011

THE CASE

Tan Guan Seng

wahlaneh...
they have revised the charges liao pls go n update urself.
work-related accidents are now classified as "non-subsidized private rate" even if u stay in C class wards.

wahlaneh...
they have revised the charges liao pls go n update urself.
work-related accidents are now classified as "non-subsidized private rate" even if u stay in C class wards.

Why is work-related accident not subsidised? I thought they're encouraging people to work? So if you work and get injured, not subsidised. But if you don't work, fool around and get injured, it's subsidised. Where's the logic? :confused:

wahlaneh...
i dunno how to answer ur question but that's the situation now.
so while ur at work, make sure work safely lor but then accidents also hard to avoid sometimes. sigh!:(

Ya, I wonder how Khaw Boon wan only paid $8 for his heart operations.

U must know how to wayang, wayang...as thou our hospital is so cheap,go in than u know, slaughter u until nothing left.

In sickapoor cheaper to die than to be admitted to hospital!