• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sheng Shiong Abuses Job Credit Scam PROFIT?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Oct 9, 2009
WET MARKET CLOSURES
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Not just about money
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to the slew of impending closures of neighbourhood wet markets, which will be largely taken over by the Sheng Siong supermarket chain and converted into a string of its air-conditioned outlets.
It is disheartening that the livelihood of the wet market stallholders was not a consideration in approving the conversion of wet markets into air-conditioned supermarkets.
Assuming that each wet market houses an average of 50 stallholders, one can safely assume an impending loss of 100 jobs per market.
Based on yesterday's report, 'Two more wet markets to go', eight wet markets will close down to make way for six Sheng Siong outlets, and a FairPrice and Shop N Save supermarket each.
So at a conservative estimate, the businesses and jobs of at least 800 people are at stake.
One can expect that low-wage foreign labour will be employed in these converted markets to maximise profits as well as cover the higher investment outlay.
There is no lack of supermarkets in any residential part of Singapore.
Although shopping in air-conditioned comfort is a pleasure, it should not be at the expense of wet markets, which provide a business and job avenue for Singaporeans.
With continual upgrading and stricter hygiene standards imposed by the National Environment Agency, wet markets today are cleaner than their predecessors.
The Circuit Road wet market and hawker centre is an example of a clean, modern and hygienic wet market-cum- hawker centre.
Furthermore, wet markets are more environmentally friendly as they do not require the far higher energy consumption of supermarkets.
Dollars and cents should not be the overriding consideration with institutions that are distinctly Singaporean like wet markets, which are a popular and valuable part of our identity.
Harrison Goh

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>sharlynrj.
"Why are the MP's so quiet?"

How much every MP are getting every month?
Honestly, I find it is difficult to differentiate between "Bribery" and "Huge Salary Package".
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: perry0164 at Sat Oct 10 03:11:28 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Why are the MP's so quiet?
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: sharlynrj at Sat Oct 10 00:55:52 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Has the people in Gahmen weigh the socio-political and socio-economic implications before coming to this unpopular decision to close so many wet markets?

This issue is close to the hearts of many Singaporeans, especially the seniors. Did the relevant authorities care to seek the view/feedback of residents?

Wet markets have improved in design, layout and hygiene over the last few decades. They are, to many Singaporeans, "a way of life". Residents and vendors sing praise and express hapiness each time a wet market is upgraded. Those in Tiong Baru, Tekka, Geylang Serai, Tampines (Round Market), Chinatown, just to name a few, are very popular with the working-class Singaporeans.

A wet market is a place for social interaction among the residents, between the residents and the vendors, who are able to provide service on a personal/friendly basis.

Do be careful...taking away wet markets is just like throwing away part of Singapore's precious heritage.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: freenfair at Fri Oct 09 21:36:50 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>I AM SADDENED BY THE SPEED WITH WHICH THE WET MARKETS ARE ACQUIRED FOR CONVERSION TO AIR-CONDITIONED SUPERMARKETS. Surely there is a better way to do things. If the govt intended to do away with wet markets, then phase them out gradually. Give enough time for those, especially the older stallholders to find alternative employment. Some form of compensation to the stallholders should be made mandatory for such acquisition usually means the end of a means of livelihood and a way of life. I urge the Authorities to rethink on this matter as it affects many stallholders and those who shop there. I DON'T THINK WE NEED SO MANY AIR-CONDITIONED SHENG SHIONG OUTLETS. SEEMS LIKE SHENG SHIONG IS TRYING TO BUILD UP A MONOPOLY CHAIN.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: jlfhui at Fri Oct 09 21:31:36 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Bureaucrats make all the decisions here most of the time , WITHOUT attempting to consult the little people who pays
their fat salaries plus bonuses , plus health benefits , plus pensions , plus overseas trainings ++++++ .
Were there feedbacks , discussions or dialogues with the communities involved before rush decisions were made
to shut this and that.
Are you listening out there , bureaucrats ?
Or are you too busy enjoying Friday nights since 5-day weeks came into effect ?
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: kopikia22 at Fri Oct 09 20:23:17 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

http://singaporeenquirer.sg/?p=2123

Flawed Job Credit Scheme benefits employers more than workers

February 17, 2009 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment

By Fang Zhi Yuan and Jeremy Koh
The much vaunted Job Credit Scheme which costs taxpayers $4.5 billion dollars to save jobs will help employers more than workers.
Speaking in Parliament today during the Budget debate, Workers’ Party MP Low Thia Kiang criticised the Jobs Credit scheme, saying it will indirectly favour big companies which may still be profitable and have no intention of retrenching workers.
“Are we using our reserves to increase the profits of profitable companies in this downturn?” he asked, citing the $6.8 million annual cash grant Sheng Siong supermarket will get under the scheme, which pays employers a cash grant of 12 per cent of the first $2,500 of a worker’s wage to keep him on the payroll. (read full report here)
The Job Credit Scheme provides a blanket grant to all companies without assessing their financial situation on the ground and could end up helping big government-linked companies like NTUC instead of smaller SMEs where help is more acutely needed.
Larger companies with more workers on their payroll will use up more cash grants from the Job Credit Scheme which may be used to finance other aspects of their operations instead of benefitting the workers directly.
The employers can enjoy the best of both worlds by not retrenching workers to qualify for the cash grant and yet still impose other cost-saving measures like shorter work-weeks and wage cuts which will have a detrimental impact on the ordinary workers.
There should be more fine-tuning done to the present scheme to ensure that Singapore workers will truly benefit from it.
Government-linked companies like DBS and NTUC should be exempted from the scheme since they have pledged earlier not to retrench workers. Big corporate firms who are still making a profit in spite of the economic downturn should not qualify either.
Instead, there are other putative measures which can be put into place to prevent companies from retrenching workers such as mandating the companies through legislation to provide a monthly retrenchment fund to sustain each retrenched worker till they find another job. Special leeway can be given to struggling companies to retrench workers if they had to close down without doing so.
The Job Credit Scheme should be applied solely to Singapore citizens and not to PRs to encourage companies to keep their Singapore workers. A clear distinction must be made between Singaporeans who have served National Service and whose families are here together with them and PRs, most of whom are only here to work and do not intend to make Singapore their permanent home.
The recent report on the spike in the number of foreigners applying for PRs to ward off the threat of retrenchment gives us an indication of how the scheme can be easily manipulated by foreigners and PRs alike in their desperation to keep their jobs in Singapore.
The interests of Singapore citizens must come first before anybody else. Retrenchment will affect a Singapore worker with a family to feed more adversely than a PR or foreigner who can easily return to their native land.
When our economy recovers, the PRs and foreigners will naturally flock to our shores en masse again. We do not have to worry about not having enough PRs to boost our “human stock” as Singapore still remains the favored destination for job seekers in the region.
On the other hand, if we do not give sufficient help to our retrenched workers to tide them over this difficult period, it will have serious repercussions on the next generation. His children may not be able to continue school and may even have to enter the work-force early to supplement the family income.
Given the high cost of studying in local universities, how many of our undergraduates have to postpone their studies or drop out of their courses altogether because their parents cannot afford their tuition fees ? And yet we have PRCs and Indian students who are studying here on government-sponsored scholarships.
Though there are various schemes such as Workfare and SPUR available to help unemployed/retrenched workers, some may not be aware of the appropriate channels to turn to for help and the administrative hassles involved may become a barrier instead to those in need of urgent assistance.
The government should set up an immediate retrenchment package to cater to retrenched workers. The moment they are retrenched, they should be allowed to “borrow” from the CPF accounts to tide them over the difficult period on top of a monthly government grant for basic sustenance so that their families will continue to have a roof over their heads and need not go hungry.
Upon finding a new job, the worker can repay his “CPF loan” on a monthly basis back to the CPF board. There is no reason to prevent Singaporeans from drawing on their own savings for rainy days when even our reserves have to be used to fund the “Resilience Package”.
While saving the jobs of workers remain the paramount concern of the government, much more can be done to ensure that vulnerable Singaporeans do not suffer extraordinary hardship during such extraordinary times.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Elias closure
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->'The bigger question concerns our quality of life.'
MS LOH SIEW LING: 'As an affected resident, I was deeply unsettled to read yesterday that the Elias wet market is slated for closure as well ('Two more wet markets to go'). When I heard speculation about the closure two months ago, I e-mailed my town council, which forwarded my query to the Housing Board's commercial unit. I have not received a reply. Why should wet markets be private concerns and even if they are, should the HDB and town council absolve themselves of their responsibility to residents? Yesterday's report is not merely about the loss of two more wet markets. The bigger question concerns the duty of the authorities to safeguard the welfare of residents and our quality of life. The Sheng Siong spokesman may well attribute the closures to changing times, but it does not mean that residents overwhelmingly prefer the replacement of their wet markets by supermarkets.'
Choa Chu Kang closures
'It saddens me that our daily necessities are dictated by the big boys.'
MS LOKE HUI PING: 'It saddens me that our daily necessities are dictated by the big boys ('Sheng Siong buys five wet markets for $26 million', Sept 12). Choa Chu Kang, with about 130,000 residents, has three wet markets with a total of 80 stalls. Ang Mo Kio, with only about 30,000 more residents, has several, and the one in Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1 alone has more than 100 stalls. Should two of the three wet markets in Choa Chu Kang be converted into Sheng Siong satellites, residents must travel up to 3km to the nearest wet market. Sheng Siong may be a good supermarket chain, but it does not satisfy all the needs of residents. There is a niche for the modest set-up and personal touch of wet markets. Otherwise, why are they so vibrant and popular, especially on weekends - a testimony surely to our Singaporean way of life? The HDB's role is to provide facilities and amenities for the convenience of residents. The closures should not be the beginning of the end for neighbourhood wet markets.'

You know what to do citizens. Boycott. Stay at home. Let it rot .

It is market rumours for a year that SS had joined the 'membership'?...ARE U A MEMBER? that the son of you never know who, is dating the daughter of you should know who!:p a case of marriedtocracy..hah hah hah

This what we get from taking things for granted like sunshine, air & rain & PAP...thanks to the 66.6%; we are forced into 'modernisation' at a cost; without the even bothing the feeling of the constituents.

The people representing the constituents are "MEMBERS" themselves, will not bite the hands that feed them, willgo against anything for the constitunets benifits that is against their conscience or the (gods) they answer to; for they answer to a greater god.

It is alway a shaft down your throat attitude in whatever they do..if they change wet markets to aircond ones, wether you can afford or not... you just Pay And Pay..and be forever in debts and in their debt..:mad:

VeryWise

It is really very sad to see all the wet markets closed. Imagine if you only have air-con supermarts to buy your groceries, life will definitely be poorer. I do not want this sector to be dominated by Sheng Shiong, NTUC, Shop and Save, Prime, Cold Storage, etc only. If you go to HK, a city that is as developed as SG, you will still be surprised that you have plenty of choices when you wanna buy fresh groceries. Besides the big boys supermarts, HK has many independent stalls selling poultries, vegetables and etc. In HK, they dun call it pasar but "jie shi" (街市)