• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shell's 95-octane fuel more expensive

MarrickG

SHELL and Singapore Petroleum Co (SPC) have followed its rivals by raising pump prices across the board.

ExxonMobil, which markets the Esso brand of fuels, and Chevron, which sellsCaltex, both upped their rates last Monday by three cents a litre. Shell and SPC stations followed two days later.

With the adjustments, all fuels at Singapore's 200 or so refuelling stations are priced identically except for one: Shell's 95-octane petrol. Shell has decided to price this grade - which it said was its most popular - one cent higher than the others at $1.887 a litre before discount.

SHELL and Singapore Petroleum Co (SPC) have followed its rivals by raising pump prices across the board.

ExxonMobil, which markets the Esso brand of fuels, and Chevron, which sellsCaltex, both upped their rates last Monday by three cents a litre. Shell and SPC stations followed two days later.

With the adjustments, all fuels at Singapore's 200 or so refuelling stations are priced identically except for one: Shell's 95-octane petrol. Shell has decided to price this grade - which it said was its most popular - one cent higher than the others at $1.887 a litre before discount.

Sinkies are idiots, and the AAS and other consumer groups are morons. Your car does not need high octane petrol and certainly not 95 Octane. More than 50% of the cars on the road are cheap econo boxes anyway, the cheapest grade of petrol is good enough.

The US Federal Trade Commission says so.

http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/autos/aut12.shtm

Pardon my ignorance, but mine is a JDM model and the manual says it requires 98. Moreover, from my rather limited knowledge, I believe, the engine is tweaked for European and American markets to accept lower fuel grades.

Drive sports car in Singapore just to stuck in Traffic Jams. Use such high performance fuel but cannot speed. What a waste of resources.

shell just anyhow whacking a price and say it is premium petrol. upside down argument. just like who pap pays ministers. pay very high, then say pay very high because they damn good.

Pardon my ignorance, but mine is a JDM model and the manual says it requires 98. Moreover, from my rather limited knowledge, I believe, the engine is tweaked for European and American markets to accept lower fuel grades.

Every manual says premuim fuel. Even those none luxury cars. I think its some marketing tie up these car companies have with petrol companies. Are u putting the expensive stuff in?

Drive sports car in Singapore just to stuck in Traffic Jams. Use such high performance fuel but cannot speed. What a waste of resources.

Open up and run in Malaysia mah. If you have high performance car, every other weekend just cross the border and run to 140kph plus. Get caught its only some kopi money to the TP.In ringgit too.

I do not agree. Having the power when you need it .

Just like they can buy it with excess cash .

Curious if this super duper fuel is available in Malaysia :confused:

Malaysia have more exotic cars than tiny Spore. Even have many models with larger engines that are not available in Spore

Open up and run in Malaysia mah. If you have high performance car, every other weekend just cross the border and run to 140kph plus. Get caught its only some kopi money to the TP.In ringgit too.

So much problem, kopi money, high octane..buy the car that Fred flinstone drive....no need high octane...:D

An ah neh once asked me what fuel to use for his car at a shell fuel station. I looked at it, a simple Honda accord. I told him it depends on what engine he has got it probably makes little to no difference to him. In the end after asking a few other customers he decided to fill it up with V-power. Most modern cars are design to take low or high octane fuel. Even E10s are stated in the manual to be acceptable. I think filling up with high-octane does make a difference depending on the engine and have notice that my car does responds better and have a higher mileage with V-power. Whether this is psychological or actual fact remains to be seen.

PS: I drive a mini cooper S.

3 types as if there is a lot of choice !

He should ask you what car he should be driving .

Striking a parting conversation it is .

3 types as if there is a lot of choice !

He should ask you what car he should be driving .

Striking a parting conversation it is .

Don't know if you guys notice this. But I've found that giving the most vague and short answers to Ah Nehs usually means they would leave you alone faster. If you give an answer that is too precise they would sometimes ask even more about it. Hence my original reply, "depends on car and probably won't make a difference". Even with just two types of fuel they would take up the entire time deciding which to buy I suspect.

Every manual says premuim fuel. Even those none luxury cars. I think its some marketing tie up these car companies have with petrol companies. Are u putting the expensive stuff in?

Mine not sports car, just sporty looking car. I just follow manual and top up using 98 everytime. Other than that, all stock and nothing fancy.

My note above was more of a question, as in whether I can pump 95 or 92 instead. I've checked with some others and they mentioned that engines for Europe or American market are tuned down for the lower octane. I wanted a second opinion only.

To Vincenttan's remark, I feel that everyone has a vice. I love cars and I do not want to live till 80 to ask myself "Why didn't I try it".

I have a fast car, and I put in the cheapest petrol. No problem there. No knocking, no nothing. The mileage is the same. If people think they get better mileage with higher grade, they should check their trip computer and find out the truth. There is no diff.