• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shell is PULLING OUT of Sg. GONE CASE!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Shell may move refinery to Indonesia: V-P Jusuf
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->ROYAL Dutch Shell is considering moving its oil processing operations to Indonesia from Singapore, said Indonesian Vice-President Jusuf Kalla.
'In a meeting over dinner, Shell has expressed its readiness for it,' he said after visiting the port in Rotterdam, according to a recent Antara report.
He said this after meeting Dutch Prime Minister Jan Peter Balkenender, who told him Shell wished to take part in the tender for an oil field in the Natuna Sea.
The Indonesian news agency said no decision had been made on it but Mr Jusuf said four companies - Exxon from the United States, Shell from the Netherlands and other companies from Europe and China - are on the list to compete for the project.
According to Antara, Mr Jusuf said the Indonesian government had asked the company to run the upstream business as well as oil refinement in the country given that it is already operating downstream business through its gas stations.
The head of the Capital Investment Coordinating Board, Mr M. Lutfi, said that Shell's chances would be better if it was willing to move its oil refining operations in Singapore to Indonesia.
He suggested the Batam and Bintan free trade zones, which were only 20km from Singapore, as possible locations for the operations, Antara reported.
'If Shell would accept the offer, I believe it would have a better position and added value than the others,' he said.
When asked if Shell has any plans to relocate its refinery business, a spokesman in Singapore said: 'Officially, we do not comment on speculation.
'Indonesia is a very important country. Shell has a growing downstream business in Indonesia and continues to look for opportunities to expand our business activities, including in the upstream and in partnership with Pertamina.'
Shell has a huge presence in Singapore. It has been in Singapore since 1961 when it set up the first oil refinery on Bukom.
Shell Singapore also undertakes international trading of oil and petrochemical products and is a key hub of Shell Trading's global trading network. <!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start --><!-- vbbintegration : end --><!-- dennis change request 20070424 : start --><!---Google ad - Start : Thu, 12 Feb 2009 09:22:40:395---><!-- AdSpace STI Google ad tag --><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.1 src="http://ads.asia1.com.sg/js.ng/site=tsti&pagepos=20&size=10X10"> </SCRIPT>

shOUTloud

I am not familiar with the oil industry but I dun think moving oil operations is macham like moving cargo. There are billions at stake.

newyorker88

I am not too sure about that. The so called Free Trade Zone is starting 19 Feb 2009. TO move out of singapore to these places will require a lot of planning and logistics.

Also, all goods coming out of Batam pass by PSA port.

Not to forget corruption and security is a big problem here in indoland too. The laws in indonesia is like roti prata, flip here and there anytime. This Kalla guy is facing an election this year too. Super racist fellow.

Where else other than Singapore where the gov dedicate an island to refine oil? With all facilities to security in one zone.

Natuna Seas is out there, but batam and singapore is only a few miles apart, BAtam do not have the facilities to hand these things. They are 20 years behind, at least. Why Kalla is interested in getting Shell over is becos he has land interest on Batam and Tg. Pinang.

You cannot overnite build up such expertise and infastructres.

pia

I am not familiar with the oil industry but I dun think moving oil operations is macham like moving cargo. There are billions at stake.

It's not like moving cargo, you're rite.. it's more like moving factory. Can be done, but requires lots of resolve because it's a multi-billion dollar move.

S'pore has always had the upper hand in it's security, stability and blah blah.. but now, that things look downhill from now, and Indo looking to move forward, it is becoming more and more possible.

Gone Case is quite a possibility in the not-too-distant future.

High Command

There will be alot of heavy investment required and alot of undertable money to be made to handle the logistics bringing in the equipment. Either that or it is a signal to the other contenders to increase their bribes. :biggrin:

newyorker88

There are ships build to cater to refining on the ships itself, no need of off shore rigs in the future. The transport ship can just come and collect upon refinery of oil and no need to transport oil to a certain location to be refined.

It is happening liao. FYI.

congo9

I thought we have job credit to prevent out flow of jobs. Prevent MNC from leaving ?

Ok , world Class minister , let me know what you can do ?? Show us you are worth the sort of money!

pia

There are ships build to cater to refining on the ships itself, no need of off shore rigs in the future. The transport ship can just come and collect upon refinery of oil and no need to transport oil to a certain location to be refined.

It is happening liao. FYI.

Not really lah... The processing upstream can be done offshore like u mentioned on FPSOs (floating vessels) and offshore procss platforms. That'll process the crude.

When we're talking about refineries, this is processing to the products like aircraft fuel, gasoline (petrol) etc. Further downstresm would be the aromatics etc. Which is what Exxonmobil etc. are doing on Jurong Island.Still a onshore processing domain.

newyorker88

Not really lah... The processing upstream can be done offshore like u mentioned on FPSOs (floating vessels) and offshore procss platforms. That'll process the crude.

When we're talking about refineries, this is processing to the products like aircraft fuel, gasoline (petrol) etc. Further downstresm would be the aromatics etc. Which is what Exxonmobil etc. are doing on Jurong Island.Still a onshore processing domain.

You are right, the more high end processing into products to be used still need to be process on land. But the possiblility of other country taking over is real, if indonesia can achieve long term peace internally.

travelbug

It's not like moving cargo, you're rite.. it's more like moving factory. Can be done, but requires lots of resolve because it's a multi-billion dollar move.

S'pore has always had the upper hand in it's security, stability and blah blah.. but now, that things look downhill from now, and Indo looking to move forward, it is becoming more and more possible.

It can be done but it has to be done in phases perhaps over a ten year period or more. So Spore may lose out in the long term.

Yoshitei

It's right to say that such a move may cost millions and may take years to materialize from planning to execution. While logistics may not be too hard to manage when you have the money, infrastructure can be very costly.

On the surface, Singapore is way better then Indonesia in terms of infrastructure and security - we have Coast Guard, RSN and 2PDF protecting Shell's local interest and that's on top of their own security measures.

However, our arrogance and unwillingness to adapt to changing business climates may be the cause of our greatest downfall. While writing this statement I remembered how PSA lost one of it's largest - or was it largest - customers to MY over something rather petty.

Malaysia and Indonesia know they're behind us, and they're constantly working to catch up. When I drive through the new customs complex in JB, I have to admit that they're getting better, if not, are already better in some ways. And honestly, I rarely see the JB customs holding up traffic but for our local customs? It's an act of God if traffic isn't held up for more then half an hour.

So coming back to the topic, Malaysia and Indonesia will do anything to attract investors while Singapore? It's not keeping it's investors attracted and its forgetting it's roots and going for more fancy, problematic and inconvenient projects like IR and F1 leaving investors who helped us grow the the past decades with the shorter end of the stick.

Hans168

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Shell may move refinery to Indonesia: V-P Jusuf
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->ROYAL Dutch Shell is considering moving its oil processing operations to Indonesia from Singapore, said Indonesian Vice-President Jusuf Kalla.
'

Hahaha history repeating itself! Hare Babi gave LKY a big slap in the face after helping with Batam, etc........... Now this scum Yusuf Kalla also from Sulawesi

Singapore helped them to industrialise Batam, Bintan & Riau only for them to steal our big biz away! A replay of Port of Tanjong Pelapas too.... with Maersk leading the way

You are right, the more high end processing into products to be used still need to be process on land. But the possiblility of other country taking over is real, if indonesia can achieve long term peace internally.

The market speaks volume! No prize for guessing right who the rising star is!

z

z

High Command

So coming back to the topic, Malaysia and Indonesia will do anything to attract investors while Singapore? It's not keeping it's investors attracted and its forgetting it's roots and going for more fancy, problematic and inconvenient projects like IR and F1 leaving investors who helped us grow the the past decades with the shorter end of the stick.

Well said. I always felt that the IR and F1 were the worst of ideas. Why? Because they can be easily replicated!

pia

Well said. I always felt that the IR and F1 were the worst of ideas. Why? Because they can be easily replicated!

To me, when the elites decided that luxury residences, marinas, golf and country clubs, casinos, F1, swiss-type banking and other "rich and famous" facilities became the "way forward", they are no longer thinking of brick-and-mortar development to serve their citizens, but building a Monaco to serve themselves and the rich and famous of the world.

They have lost touch and are indifferent to the needs of the people who voted them in year after year, and who worked their hearts and souls out for the nation these last 40 so years.

This country is bleeding :(:mad:

Hans168

To me, when the elites decided that luxury residences, marinas, golf and country clubs, casinos, F1, swiss-type banking and other "rich and famous" facilities became the "way forward", they are no longer thinking of brick-and-mortar development to serve their citizens, but building a Monaco to serve themselves and the rich and famous of the world.

They have lost touch and are indifferent to the needs of the people who voted them in year after year, and who worked their hearts and souls out for the nation these last 40 so years.

When LKY was first PM he was paid $3000 per month...... now almost $1 mio

High Command

You said it! Power has *censored* and blinded them.