Hawker boss is stupid to go into hawker trade. He should have started an upscale F&B concept that sold pasta or noodles. He could have priced his fusion noodle meals at easily $10 - $15 per bowl.
Instead, he did the dumb thing and became a hawker, restricting his noodle bowl to a cap of $5 per bow. It's nearly impossible to raise prices because the hawker's customer base is extremely allergic to price increases.
In my F&B experience, I learnt the hard way to never pander to the demands of a lower income or stingy customer base. They are not loyal and they demand that you keep prices low permanently while they expect their own salaries to increase yearly. Having such people as your regular customer is a curse you only wish upon your most hated rivals in the F&B business.
Tell that to the boss if Tai Hwa meepok stall. He sells for $6 a bowl and the queue is super duper long. Rent and operating costs are low. Just hard work only.
That is the problem with singkies but it takes 2 hands to clap. The singkie hawkers need to be very price efficient but also take pride in their work. If hawkers raise prices but maintain quality n improve on it . Use better ingredients etc, than a proper customer will not mind paying more. Basically it's value for money tat is important to me. The char kway teow store I know off raised prices but he added in seafood etc. I still went to him till he retired n close shop. And it was value.This example proves my point. Most hawker bak chor mee cost around $3.50 to $4.00 a bowl. This stall is using their michelin star to up their price to at least $6 a bowl.
They're ditching their stingy, whiny customers who are sensitive to price increase and catering to a new customer base who is willing to pay more for michelin quality food.
That is the problem with singkies but it takes 2 hands to clap. The singkie hawkers need to be very price efficient but also take pride in their work. If hawkers raise prices but maintain quality n improve on it . Use better ingredients etc, than a proper customer will not mind paying more. Basically it's value for money tat is important to me. The char kway teow store I know off raised prices but he added in seafood etc. I still went to him till he retired n close shop.
The other issue is singkies. Like u say. Look for cheap but don't see value. A stall sell item A for 2 bucks. But portion small. The next stall sell 2.5 but give more. And more value for money. The singkies will just see price. So all these hawkers who close shop n less competition etc. Who suffer later?
That is the problem with singkies but it takes 2 hands to clap. The singkie hawkers need to be very price efficient but also take pride in their work. If hawkers raise prices but maintain quality n improve on it . Use better ingredients etc, than a proper customer will not mind paying more. Basically it's value for money tat is important to me. The char kway teow store I know off raised prices but he added in seafood etc. I still went to him till he retired n close shop. And it was value.
The other issue is singkies. Like u say. Look for cheap but don't see value. A stall sell item A for 2 bucks. But portion small. The next stall sell 2.5 but give more. And more value for money. The singkies will just see price. So all these hawkers who close shop n less competition etc. Who suffer later?
I was taught. Only the rich can buy cheap. If pay more n get better. That is good. If it's just hawkers profiteering..than they will go under in due time. Alot of jealous postings about Tai Wah etc. But is there a competitor who as good as his but cheaper? If yr downstairs hawker bak chor mee better than don't go eat tai wah. Don't eat TW means no queue n no pay 6 bucks. Than no need kpkb. For 6 bucks n his quality of ingredients etc. I can't find better.Very true that singkies tend to go for the lower priced item and not the one with better value.![]()
I was taught. Only the rich can buy cheap. If pay more n get better. That is good. If it's just hawkers profiteering..than they will go under in due time. Alot of jealous postings about Tai Wah etc. But is there a competitor who as good as his but cheaper? If yr downstairs hawker bak chor mee better than don't go eat tai wah. Don't eat TW means no queue n no pay 6 bucks. Than no need kpkb. For 6 bucks n his quality of ingredients etc. I can't find better.
The issue is hawker centres n coffee shops etc have lower rent hence the cost should be lower as its for the man on the street. U keep comparing hawker centre n restaurants. How can be the same as its different market segment? N restaurants have higher operating expenses.Sinkies tend to want to pay less if the setting is in a coffeeshop or hawker centre. The environment and the type of food places a mental block on them on wanting to pay more. Some hawker food that managed to break out of this trap are the western food stalls, the zichar and the mala.
The drinks stall at the coffeeshops serve bubble tea and other smoothies, but they can't price their drinks at the same price as Mr Coconut, KOI or Gongcha. The only way out is to disassociate themselves as much as the coffeeshop F&Bs and try to position themselves in the same league as fastfoods and Starbucks.
Don't queue, don't eat lor.I won't queue 1 hour for bak chor mee either, but I do admit that Tai Wah noodles is better than most.![]()
Don't queue, don't eat lor.
So I don't understand why ppl keep kpkb TW. I do admit TW should modernise n be more efficient to cut the queueing time. His customer service does suck.Of course. If want to eat, jolly well queue.![]()
So I don't understand why ppl keep kpkb TW. I do admit TW should modernise n be more efficient to cut the queueing time. His customer service does suck. But one can always vote with one's wallet. This is not like water bill...cheap or expensive still have to pay n cannot move to another service providerOf course. If want to eat, jolly well queue.![]()