• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg] - Novavax non-mRNA Covid-19 vaccine arrives in S'pore, could be offered from end-May

UltimaOnline

Novavax non-mRNA Covid-19 vaccine arrives in S'pore, could be offered from end-May​

The Expert Committee on Covid-19 vaccination says it is an 'acceptable alternative' to the mRNA vaccines.

novavax-vaccines-1.jpg

MOH said the shipment will enable it to start offering the non-mRNA vaccine at its first Joint Testing and Vaccination Centre (JTVC), located at the former Bishan Park Secondary School, as well as 20 Public Health Preparedness Clinics (PHPCs) at the end of this month.

MOH said it is currently working to onboard "selected PHPCs" to offer the Nuvaxovid vaccine and that further details would be announced "in the coming weeks".

Nuvaxovid will be part of National Vaccination Programme​

MOH's statement reiterated its earlier announcement made in February this year, that the Multi-Ministry Taskforce accepted the recommendation of the Expert Committee on Covid-19 Vaccination (EC19V) to include the Nuvaxovid vaccine in the National Vaccination Programme for use in individuals aged 18 years and above.

The vaccine can be used for both Covid-19 primary series and booster vaccination.

https://mothership.sg/2022/05/novavax-non-mrna-vaccine-arrives/

the Multi-Ministry Taskforce accepted the recommendation of the Expert Committee on Covid-19 Vaccination (EC19V) to include the Nuvaxovid vaccine i
When you have "MMTF" and "Expert committee" come together in a sentence, be very aware and careful. They screw you up with Pfizer and Moderna also with these experts and MMTF. Are you going to take their crap BS again?

I mean, 90+% vaxxed and boosted already... I feel sorry for Novavax, so late into the market, later than Sinovac. :biggrin:

Now to convince the daft and kiasi/kiasu Sinkies that annual boosters are necessary... no, not annual, make it 270 days. :wink:

No, thanks. My immune system working perfectly well for me. Proven and without any possible side effects.

Mai Tu Liao! Chiong Ah! :roflmao:

Where to queue for this? :geek:

govt achieved their objective - 90%+ people got mRNA vaccine for Covid primary vaccination. Novavax vaccine arrives too late.

So this is how our government is supporting Biden war effort ?

Only the too stupid will believe novavax will not behave like mRNA.
Proven too many times that Sinkies are not that smart+cowardly.

Though this is not MRNA, its still uses the SPIKE. If you do some finding out, it's like the MRNA, very strain specific. Means new strain will need new modified shot for that strain. Best part, Novavax is not even Omicron tuned. It's tuned up to Delta only. So it's like taking an obsolete vax. But what do I know, the so called "EXPERTS" knows better :roflmao:

Australia Government Department of Health

Sub menu​

Search

You are here​

1. Home
  2. Initiatives and programs
  3. COVID-19 vaccines
  4. Approved COVID-19 vaccines

Nuvaxovid (Novavax)​

Find out more about the Novavax COVID-19 vaccine, including how it works, who it's recommended for and potential side effects.

Find a clinic and book
globe-055da0.svg
Information in your language

On this page

Approval for use in Australia

Nuvaxovid (Novavax) is approved for use in people aged 18 years and over.
The TGA provisionally approved Novavax for use in Australia on 20 January 2022.
The Novavax vaccine is currently available for all people aged 18 years and over.

Dose schedule

You need 2 doses of the Novavax vaccine, given at least 3 weeks apart. The interval can be extended to 8 weeks in certain circumstances, including to potentially improve effectiveness and reduce the risk of rare side effects such as myocarditis and pericarditis.
You may not be fully protected against COVID-19 until 7 to 14 days after your second dose.
The Novavax vaccine is not currently approved for use as a booster vaccine. ATAGI has said that Novavax should only be used as a booster dose if no other vaccine is suitable. Find out more about booster doses for people aged 16 years and older and third doses for people aged 5 years and older with severe immunocompromise.

Staying up to date​

To be considered up to date with COVID-19 vaccination, you must have completed all the doses recommended for your age and health status.
Find out about how to stay up to date with COVID-19 vaccines.

What's in the Novavax vaccine

Novavax is a protein-based vaccine. This type of vaccine contains part of the coronavirus spike protein.
Your immune system cells recognise the spike protein as a threat and begin building an immune response against it.
The Novavax vaccine also has an ingredient called the Matrix-M adjuvant. This helps create a stronger immune response to the vaccine.
Novavax does not contain any live virus and it cannot give you COVID-19.
You can read the full Nuvaxovid (Novavax) Consumer Medicine Information document on the TGA site for more details (click 'I accept' to see the PDF).

Common side effects

As with any vaccine, you may have some temporary side effects after receiving the Novavax vaccine. This shows your immune system is working.
Common side effects after Novavax include:
  • injection site pain or tenderness
  • tiredness
  • headache
  • muscle or joint pain
  • generally feeling unwell.
Most side effects are mild and go away within 1 to 2 days.

Rare side effects

Rare side effects after the Novavax vaccine are severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis).
Some COVID-19 vaccines have been linked with a rare side effects of myocarditis and pericarditis (cardiac inflammation). The risk after the Novavax vaccine is not yet known. A small number of cases of myocarditis were reported in the clinical trial, though it is not yet known if these were caused by vaccine. The TGA and the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) are monitoring the safety of COVID-19 vaccines closely.
Find out more about myocarditis and pericarditis .
We don’t yet know if there are any other rare side effects after Novavax vaccine. This is because only relatively small numbers of people have received this vaccine worldwide. More information will be available over time.

Risks and benefits

The benefits of vaccination with Novavax greatly outweigh the risk of side effects.

People who are not recommended to have the Novavax vaccine

It's not recommended that you have the Novavax vaccine if you have had:
  • a severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis) to a previous dose of the vaccine
  • anaphylaxis after exposure to any component of the vaccine, including polysorbate 80
  • any other serious adverse event attributed to a previous dose of the vaccine.

Patient information

Our patient resources include fact sheets about the Novavax vaccine and what to expect after your shot.

covid vaccine tile

COVID-19 vaccination – Patient resources
This collection contains resources for patients receiving a COVID-19 vaccination.

Last updated:
29 April 2022
Tags:

COVID-19 vaccines

https://www.health.gov.au/initiatives-and-programs/covid-19-vaccines/approved-vaccines/novavax

Re-QUOTE​

Rare side effects

Rare side effects after the Novavax vaccine are severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis).

Some COVID-19 vaccines have been linked with a rare side effects of myocarditis and pericarditis (cardiac inflammation). The risk after the Novavax vaccine is not yet known. A small number of cases of myocarditis were reported in the clinical trial, though it is not yet known if these were caused by vaccine. The TGA and the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) are monitoring the safety of COVID-19 vaccines closely.

Find out more about myocarditis and pericarditis .

We don’t yet know if there are any other rare side effects after Novavax vaccine. This is because only relatively small numbers of people have received this vaccine worldwide. More information will be available over time.

Risks and benefits

The benefits of vaccination with Novavax greatly outweigh the risk of side effects.

People who are not recommended to have the Novavax vaccine

It's not recommended that you have the Novavax vaccine if you have had:

• a severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis) to a previous dose of the vaccine
  • anaphylaxis after exposure to any component of the vaccine, including polysorbate 80
  • any other serious adverse event attributed to a previous dose of the vaccine.