• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG electricity tariffs more than US, FR!

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SG electricity tariffs more than US, FR!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">Oct-9 8:00 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 9) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>994.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Oct 10, 2008
S'PORE POWER CHARGES NOW DEARER THAN IN U.S. OR FRANCE
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Billing consumers isn't the only way

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->THE recent hike in electricity tariff of 21 per cent has resulted in an increase of 48 per cent in 12 months. Singapore becomes the country with the highest electricity prices in the region and charges its consumers more than countries like the United States and France.
The increase is being justified based on the fact that the electricity price index is being linked to the oil price index. The last increase has been based on oil price futures bought at around US$150 (S$220) a barrel. Oil spot prices are now below US$90 a barrel (40 per cent).
Eighty per cent of Singapore's electricity is being produced from natural gas (and not oil) piped in from Malaysia and Indonesia. I assume long-term gas contracts have been negotiated at decent prices protecting the end consumer in Singapore. Why not link electricity pricing to oil futures and not to long-term gas contracts?
Energy production and distribution is a highly regulated environment operating as a monopoly. Regulators have to create a mechanism which gives citizens adequate protection against worldwide oil and gas speculation followed by irrational price hikes. They are not doing enough by simply passing the bill to the consumers.
A combination of economic downturn, high inflation and skyrocketing energy prices may prove too much to swallow for the lower income class.
Regulators, producers and distributors have a duty to protect the nation from one of its greatest challenges: Energy dependence. Therefore, we cannot continue to import and burn gas, oil and coal, or depend on others. A master plan to produce energy from sun, water, wind and nuclear power is crucial in safeguarding the nation's independent energy future.
The current subsidies will only have a short-lived effect and will have almost no effect on the reduction of our national energy bill.I am suggesting a combination of tax incentives, rebates and subsidies for households buying energy-saving appliances or making their houses more energy-friendly. It would encourage many of us to replace our energy-hungry washing machines and air-conditioners with other 'green, energy-friendly-certified' appliances.
Landed properties could be turned into energy-producing entities instead of energy consumers. HDB should set the example (even if the monetary side of the investment is not that attractive) to go for highly efficient energy housing.
A double impact could be achieved by implementing a consumer pricing, penalising high consumption, but rewarding low-consumption energy savers. Many of our neighbours have already implemented such schemes. Bruno Serrien

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Congrats to sinkies for being a number one in another new thing. Highest in electricity charges. Now they should go for the guinness world record. This is the time of celebration for sinkies.

DerekLeung

Singaporean government saying to all those that are hiding at home and
trying to beat the expensive system of ours.

We all trying all this time to make you come out with Singapore sales to spend some money. Now you Singaporeans make us look bad and look like fools.
You not helping with the economy.

We will flush you out of your homes. We will make electric bills, handphone bills even if you leave your cars at home. We make it over-bearing for you.

What you going to do ?

R4g3

The ministers salaries are pegged to the..............!!! so what do you expect?

shh....dont say anymore, if not people will say you no sense of proportion. lol

actually in this case, it is not they are overpaid, it is just other country is underpaid la. lol

Our PM = total of USA+UK+Germany+France+Italy+Japan+Spain+Canada leaders
SG GDP = 140B, PM get 3.7m
8 countries total GDP = US$28 trillion, so they should get a total of $1450.5m which means each of them should get an average of 181.3m a year.
These leaders really no sense of proportion! lol

i type this out i also tak boleh tahan non-stop laughing on how ridiculous it is. :biggrin:

R4g3

shh....dont say anymore, if not people will say you no sense of proportion. lol

actually in this case, it is not they are overpaid, it is just other country is underpaid la. lol

Our PM = total of USA+UK+Germany+France+Italy+Japan+Spain+Canada leaders
SG GDP = 140B, PM get 3.7m
8 countries total GDP = US$28 trillion, so they should get a total of $1450.5m which means each of them should get an average of 181.3m a year.
These leaders really no sense of proportion! lol

i type this out i also tak boleh tahan non-stop laughing on how ridiculous it is. :biggrin:

no matter how you look at it, which angle you look at it, how you put it, it is still ridiculous. Uniquely Greedy can explain it.

https://www.clpgroup.com/Media/CurRel/news/Pages/20080923_02.aspx?lang=en

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript>//<![CDATA[var __wpmExportWarning='This Web Part Page has been personalized. As a result, one or more Web Part properties may contain confidential information. Make sure the properties contain information that is safe for others to read. After exporting this Web Part, view properties in the Web Part description file (.WebPart) by using a text editor such as Microsoft Notepad.';var __wpmCloseProviderWarning='You are about to close this Web Part. It is currently providing data to other Web Parts, and these connections will be deleted if this Web Part is closed. To close this Web Part, click OK. To keep this Web Part, click Cancel.';var __wpmDeleteWarning='You are about to permanently delete this Web Part. Are you sure you want to do this? To delete this Web Part, click OK. To keep this Web Part, click Cancel.';//]]></SCRIPT>
Issued by: CLP Power Hong Kong Limited

23 September 2008

CLP Cuts Electricity Tariff
<TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD class=clsFigure>

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

CLP Power announced today that its electricity tariff will be reduced by 3% for all its customers in Hong Kong, starting 1 October 2008 when the new Scheme of Control (SOC) takes effect.
The 3% total tariff reduction, which will be realised in customers’ electricity bills, is a result of a reduction of 10% in its net basic tariff, moderated by the effect of fuel clause charge increases.
CLP’s tariff is made up of two major components. Basic Tariff is a cost of service to customers for investments and operating costs necessary to keep the supply of power running to meet customers demand. The fuel clause charge, however, reflects the cost of fuel used for generating electricity and is directly passed through to customers – CLP makes no profit on fuel.
“At a time when energy prices have been surging up across the world, CLP has been working hard to control the effects on our customers. Despite fuel price increases of about 200% in the past few years, the increase in fuel charges passed on to our customers has been limited to a level that is more than offset by a cut of 10% of the net basic tariff – a result of the reduction in returns which CLP’s shareholders accepted as part of the new SOC,” said Mrs Betty Yuen, Managing Director, CLP Power Hong Kong Limited.

CLP has managed its tariff responsibly to keep it stable and affordable to its customers over the years. The company has frozen its Basic Tariff and offered over $4 billion in rebates to customers since 1998.
Today, CLP’s tariff remains highly competitive and is staying at the level similar to that 10 years ago, which is in stark contrast with the 40-60% increases experienced by other major cities, such as London, New York and Singapore, all of which have been hit by fuel cost increases in recent years.
“Rising fuel prices have hit the world hard in recent times, including Hong Kong, which has no fuel resources of its own. We are pleased to be able to, through determined efforts, manage the impact of fuel cost increases in order to reduce the tariff for the benefit of all our customers,” said Mrs Yuen.
During this period, CLP’s customers not only enjoyed the lowest tariff in Hong Kong and one of the lowest amongst major cities across the world, but also a world-class standard of power supply reliability with an unplanned power interruptions as low as 3.6 minutes per year, as compared with 17 – 43 minutes per year experienced by electricity users in New York, Sydney, Paris and London and average interruptions of 120 – 500 minutes per year in major cities in the Mainland such as Guangzhou, Shanghai and Beijing.
“With the new tariff level, CLP’s Fuel Clause Recovery Account is projected to accumulate a deficit of more than $1 billion. We expect that the energy markets will remain volatile and challenging in the years ahead. Hong Kong does not have its own fuel resources and we cannot control global energy forces. We will continue to do all we can to minimise the effects of fuel cost increases on our customers’ electricity bills; but unless markets see a sustained downward price correction, we may have to adjust the fuel clause charge sometime next year,” said Mrs Yuen.
Meanwhile, the company also welcomed Executive Council’s approval of the Development Plan for the years covering the period from October 2008 to December 2013. The Plan projects a capital expenditure of $39.9 billion, for the extension and maintenance of the company’s power systems to meet future growth, support Government infrastructure projects and enhance supply reliability and environmental performance.
Details of the new tariff package are as follows:
<TABLE style="WIDTH: 80%" align=center summary="" border=1><TBODY><TR><TD> Components
(cents per unit)
</TD><TD> Current</TD><TD> Changes</TD><TD>Effective
1 October 2008
</TD></TR><TR><TD> Average Basic Tariff</TD><TD> 88.1</TD><TD> -10.7</TD><TD> 77.4 (-12.1%)</TD></TR><TR><TD> Special Rebate</TD><TD> -2.1</TD><TD> +2.1</TD><TD> 0.0</TD></TR><TR><TD> Net basic tariff</TD><TD> 86.0</TD><TD> -8.6</TD><TD> 77.4 (-10.0%)</TD></TR><TR><TD> SoC Rebate</TD><TD> -0.8</TD><TD> --</TD><TD> -0.8</TD></TR><TR><TD> Fuel clause charge</TD><TD> 5.9</TD><TD> +5.9</TD><TD> 11.8</TD></TR><TR><TD> Total Tariff</TD><TD> 91.1</TD><TD> -2.7</TD><TD> 88.4 (-3.0%)</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

CLP Power will inform customers of the details of the tariff and other associated changes through print advertisements and on its website (www.clpgroup.com). CLP customers will receive detailed information in the coming few weeks. Customers are also encouraged to call our CLP Infoline at 2678 2678 for details.

<NOSCRIPT></NOSCRIPT>