• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg] - Chan Chun Sing says Singaporeans are not being fair to him and the PAP

UltimaOnline

CCS.gif

Chan Chun Sing complains It's Unfair: when the PAP puts up candidates from humble backgrounds who’ve achieved stellar careers in civil service or uniform, their working-class roots are virtually ignored. Simply by virtue of their social mobility and PAP affiliation, these candidates are cast as perpetuating an “elitist” party narrative.

If the PAP fields a Harvard graduate, the reaction, as Mr Chan puts it in the Ya Lah But interview, would be “Alamak! See, so elitist!” Yet when the opposition presents someone with the same prestigious credentials, that person becomes a celebrated “star catch”.

The WP’s Michael Thng, with his Harvard Kennedy School master’s degree, isn’t explicitly mentioned – but one suspects he’s in some way the source of this observation. Online commentators have widely hailed the Tampines GRC candidate as among the opposition party’s prized catches.

For the full picture, viewers should watch both podcasts – though at 90 and 120 minutes, they require some commitment.

What emerges is the portrait of the evolution of Mr Chan, who, upon his entry to politics in 2011, was lampooned for, among other things, his unpolished English and inability to shed military mannerisms. Now he seems to be embracing his authentic self – and calling out what he sees as double standards in how PAP politicians are perceived and unrealistic expectations of what they should be like, once elected.

In both interviews, he readily concedes – almost wearing it as a badge of honour – that his “English is not very good”.

In the Ya Lah But interview he said: “If someone like me whose English is not very good, joins the PAP, you say... PAP standards dropped, can’t even pronounce his words properly.”

On the flip side, if someone like him joined an opposition party, the reaction would be “Wow, he is so relatable. He speaks like us, without the English twang.”

One can sense the frustration – even if he delivers this message in a jocular manner.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ans-when-relatability-becomes-a-moving-target

You are anchoring Tanjong Pagar GRC, which encompasses many areas that have nothing to do with Tanjong Pagar. :rolleyes:

Still dare to talk cock about fairness? :biggrin:

Well..
You need to stand up to scrutiny.
Like PS is being drag Into and through the m&d for that indian half breed lady.

When the Goods and Services Tax (GST) rose from 7% to 8%, and then again from 8% to 9%, did you voice your opinion?
When the Service and Conservancy Charges (S&CC) were increased twice, did you speak up?
When transportation costs went up, did you speak up?
When inflation increased, did you speak up?

If this CB Kia has the guts, he should come out of Tanjong Pagar GRC, be a man and contest in a SMC vs WP instead of hiding under LKY ward which has always been PAP's stronghold NBCB.

Chan Chun Sing’s Chye Tow Kuay hard to digest

There are analogies and there are analogies. And I’m not sure what point Acting MCYS minister Chan Chun Sing was trying to make when he said this:

“(For example,) you go to Peach Garden, you eat the S$10 XO Sauce chye tow kuay (fried carrot cake), you can be quite happy right? Because you are satisfied with the service and so on. On the other hand, you can go to a hawker centre, even if they charge you S$1.50, you might not want to eat it if the quality is not good.”
This (failed) analogy was actually a follow-up to his point that pay wasn’t a factor in his decision to joining the PAP. To give more context to his comment, read the full thing here.

The drawing of electoral boundaries and only informing the PMO is very fair indeed

View attachment 219103

Chan Chun Sing complains It's Unfair: when the PAP puts up candidates from humble backgrounds who’ve achieved stellar careers in civil service or uniform, their working-class roots are virtually ignored. Simply by virtue of their social mobility and PAP affiliation, these candidates are cast as perpetuating an “elitist” party narrative.

If the PAP fields a Harvard graduate, the reaction, as Mr Chan puts it in the Ya Lah But interview, would be “Alamak! See, so elitist!” Yet when the opposition presents someone with the same prestigious credentials, that person becomes a celebrated “star catch”.

The WP’s Michael Thng, with his Harvard Kennedy School master’s degree, isn’t explicitly mentioned – but one suspects he’s in some way the source of this observation. Online commentators have widely hailed the Tampines GRC candidate as among the opposition party’s prized catches.

For the full picture, viewers should watch both podcasts – though at 90 and 120 minutes, they require some commitment.

What emerges is the portrait of the evolution of Mr Chan, who, upon his entry to politics in 2011, was lampooned for, among other things, his unpolished English and inability to shed military mannerisms. Now he seems to be embracing his authentic self – and calling out what he sees as double standards in how PAP politicians are perceived and unrealistic expectations of what they should be like, once elected.

In both interviews, he readily concedes – almost wearing it as a badge of honour – that his “English is not very good”.

In the Ya Lah But interview he said: “If someone like me whose English is not very good, joins the PAP, you say... PAP standards dropped, can’t even pronounce his words properly.”

On the flip side, if someone like him joined an opposition party, the reaction would be “Wow, he is so relatable. He speaks like us, without the English twang.”

One can sense the frustration – even if he delivers this message in a jocular manner.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ans-when-relatability-becomes-a-moving-target
CCS the scholar clown fails to analyse why?
Let me tell him why.
It's because the people have lost trust in PAP. Due to decades of lies, false promises, non stop taxation increase, ever shrinking homes at ever increasing costs, non existent free medical, forever unattainable private transport, job creation not for citizens but foreigners, and many more I can state.
Vote CCS out for his inability to see the obvious, how to run the country?

Fck him lj la. He tat CB hum ji face only care for the scavengers and always say meritocracy which means scavengers can always better than local.

When the Goods and Services Tax (GST) rose from 7% to 8%, and then again from 8% to 9%, did you voice your opinion?
When the Service and Conservancy Charges (S&CC) were increased twice, did you speak up?
When transportation costs went up, did you speak up?
When inflation increased, did you speak up?
The PAP ministers would rather not speak up about all these unjustified taxes than risk losing their million dollar wages, which are actually "bribes" to toe the party line; groupthink is firmly entrenched in the PAP owing to the obscene pay on offer.

View attachment 219103

Fkrrrrrrrrrr oredi getting paid millions for doing nothing still comprains.
I suggest to him quit this current laid back job and go find real work.
OR
Come to my village by Lake Victoria Uganda and I will ensure he gets a job farming or being a fisherman at Lake Victoria.

lol

1745684328056.png

He is a middle-age man already, yet still acting like a cry baby. What does he expect when he can call his fellow sinkies sia suay?

be fair to sinkies too. criticise us in our face, not behind our backs, then in front of us act like a righteous and warm person. man up