• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg] - 100 people in Yishun kena evacuated from HDB flats due to 2 separate fires on same day caused by lithium batteries of electric bike and PMD

UltimaOnline

hzfire240824a.jpg
ccfire2024202_3.jpg

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ed-to-electric-bike-pmd-break-out-on-same-day

superpower

QC control of manufacturing process is a definite concern, it should be an accredited source of factory.
QC not the issue. All lithium ion batteries are highly flammable, especially in a hot, humid environment. Overcharging increases the risks too.

Just have to wait for solid state batteries.

Truthspeak

You must understand the concept of QC, do you want to buy a set of batteries without an approval certificate of an accredited source.
It has nothing to with QC but the design of the battery. You think all these lithium batteries were all from the same manufacturer?

Splendicker

It has nothing to with QC but the design of the battery. You think all these lithium batteries were all from the same manufacturer?
I think the products should follow international standard, from materials (purity of substrate and connectivity), design (strong insulation and package, free from internal stress and humidity intrusion), manufacturing (QC per international standard) and assembly, it must carry a certification from an accredited source.

tobelightlight

Guess the batteries source?
Chinkland?

Pay a bit more money for a proper QC-ed battery like Samsung, from reputable and reliable company. They have the money to do QC and use good quality material and design for the battery process. Put in a few hundred $ more and you dun need to have your house burn down.

few hundred $ more .... compare .... to whole house burn down. You got to know how to count.

Splendicker

QC not the issue. All lithium ion batteries are highly flammable, especially in a hot, humid environment. Overcharging increases the risks too.

If solely due to lithium used, then the incident rate can be high, authority should look at quality of batteries used, eg carry a certain certification from an accredited source.

tobelightlight

my phone uses lithium battery too and i have more than 1 phone at the moment and use other phones for years. never had one catch fire. It's the QC.

k1976

Logo
Best News Website or Mobile Service

'Find your own path': PM Wong shares his dream for Singapore youth, encourages more to contribute to society​

Young people in Singapore will be able to chase their own aspirations and contribute to larger public life in the country, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong at the Youth Policy Forum.
'Find your own path': PM Wong shares his dream for Singapore youth, encourages more to contribute to society

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong speaks during a dialogue session at the inaugural Youth Policy Forum at the Sands Expo and Convention Centre on Aug 24, 2024. (Photo: National Youth Council)

Listen to this article
8 min
New: You can now listen to articles.
close.svg

This audio is generated by an AI tool.

Abigail Ng
Abigail Ng
24 Aug 2024 01:31PM (Updated: 24 Aug 2024 07:18PM)
BookmarkShare

SINGAPORE: Young people in Singapore should not feel like they are under pressure to take certain routes in their lives, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said on Saturday (Aug 24).

"My dream for all of you is ... for you to find your own path. Don't feel like you have to conform," he said at the inaugural Youth Policy Forum at the Sands Expo and Convention Centre, in which around 1,000 youths participated.
ADVERTISEMENT

"Excel, strive and be the best that you can be in whatever you choose," said Mr Wong, who is also Finance Minister. "If you have that attitude, if you have that mindset, the government will want to support you in whatever you are doing."

The government wants to help young people develop and grow to be the best versions of themselves, whether that be in arts, sports, research or business, he said.

superpower

my phone uses lithium battery too and i have more than 1 phone at the moment and use other phones for years. never had one catch fire. It's the QC.
Phones and laptops have been known to explode if overcharged or short circuited. But you just burn a hole in your pocket. With e-bikes and EVs you are talking about property and lives being lost