• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Seems like PM Lee has no manners/ respect for speaker of Parliament.

bic_cherry

Seems like PM Lee has no manners/ respect for speaker of Parliament.

At least Mr Pritam Singh put up his hand to speak and only spoke when the speaker gave him permission to do so @18:33 , but PM Lee just stood up and forced the speaker to permit him as if the speaker owed him a living or something.

Shows what a despotic state Singapore is and how the speaker is biased/ just the sock puppet or henchman of the PAP.

Speaker is unable to remain unbiased, or the sock puppet of the PAP.

Totalitarian shithole one party de facto dictatorship, masquerading as a Parliamentary form of government. :cool:

Lee Hsien Loong looks unwell. Hope he doesn't choke on his aspirations. :cool:

PSP's Leong Mun Kwai was pathetically bad performer. LHL dismissively said,
in essence that he was telling nothing new. He himself was obviously aware that
for the past few erections, people have been saying that take the PAP money,
vote WP.

One cannot expect manners from a farking spoilt brat.

other than empress dowager who is most powderful he is next on the pecking order as emperor. as emperor he can tell the speaker to fuck off. and fuck the sg constitution. it doesn’t apply to the imperialee family.

It disgusts me to see our Parliament, our civil service, our public service providers, our President, and that ahem "pliant" organisation (not I say one hor, but other people got say) beholden to the Lees and their cronies.

They should be arguing about one most important thing ie why 83 seats for 60%, 10 seats for 40%.

If you argue that it is not a strategic planning via allocation of HDB and electorate boundary manipulation of the rich vs poor, civil servants vs others etc but sheer luck then the constituencies management that is based on luck should just be left as that but the Parliamentary Votes should be based on the total percentage of 60% vs 40% votes that is exactly the wish, the power and authority of the people.

Simply put 60% is not 2/3 votes and not a blank cheque at the least. Meaning policies should not be passed unless you have 2/3 votes base. This is equality law, fairness and logic.

This should be straighten out first or else anything argued is pointless, you know why. There are legal international, arbitrary laws and organizations.

Attack on opp again.. business as usual.

why is opp evem an topic in parliament.

The PM is pissed off
In News Reports on September 3, 2020 at 12:20 am
I thought I was looking at a refreshed face of a post-GE2020 Government when the Prime Minister started saying that in hindsight, it could have handled the Covid-19 outbreak differently, like take more aggressive steps to secure foreign worker dormitories.

The G must realise that a bit of mea culpa does wonders for its image. For me at least, it shows a government that is secure about its position to be able to acknowledge that there will be “rough edges’’ around its policies.

But the old face of the Government or rather, the PAP, returned quite quickly. It scared me.

But just when I started to feel warm all over, he segued into politics and power, by first laying into the opposition for its queries about the size of the reserves.
I fail to see how questions about the amount is a reflection of a spendthrift or profligate mindset. I would rather he say that the exact amount is a state secret, like keeping our gunpowder dry, rather than impute motives to those who want answers. Just as we trust the Government with the reserves, so should it realise that we would not willy nilly push for a raid. (By the way, there is still the elected President to go through.)

Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh took umbrage at PM Lee’s suggestion that the WP was aiming to use the reserves. The WP was looking at whether or how to slow down the growth rate of reserves.

“There is nothing unusual about this, because the PAP does it, too. How so? In 2016, this House, including members of WP, agreed to include (state investment firm) Temasek Holdings into the NIRC (net investment returns contribution) formula. Does that not reduce the growth of the reserves? It does.
“So the argument cannot be that when the Opposition tries to put that proposal forward, somehow we are engaging in some sort of chicanery to steal what previous generations have toiled and perspired over to bring us here.”

I find the use of the term “mindset’’ troubling, because it shuts down any discussion by imputing agendas to questions and prevents debate from moving beyond first principles. What if someone simply said: “I want to know the amount because I am a citizen who worries about whether there’s any left for the rainy day?’’

I am also troubled with PM Lee’s identification of the PAP model with Singapore past, present and future. It might be the case at the country’s founding because, well, founding fathers everywhere write the country’s constitution, pledge and set up whatever a “new’’ country needs.

It might be true for the years after, with the PAP’s dominance in Parliament.

What I found surprising was how cutting he was about the Singapore electorate, especially those who voted the opposition while still wanting a PAP Government. They were free-riders and it was morally wrong for the WP to use this tactic to get voters to vote for the Opposition, he said.

He didn’t use the term freak election result, but that was what he was referring to when he asked: “At what point does a vote for a strong opposition become a vote for a different government?’’

“Is it really true that one day if there is a change of government, a new party can run Singapore equally well, because it has such good public service, as Mr Pritam Singh suggested on Monday?’’

I, too, fear a freak election result, one that goes either way, all for Opposition or all for PAP. The days of a one-party state are over and rather than chide voters for voting tactically, it might be more useful to decipher what they, as a collective, were trying to say at the polls, instead of scanning individual minds.

The last election tells me that while we want the PAP in charge, most do not just vote the opposition for opposition’s sake. Sure, 30 per cent will be hard core opposition supporters but the middle ground of swing voters look closely at the credibility of the opposition candidates. Less credible candidates will always get pretty short shrift by the electorate. It is for political parties to swing this group to its side. The PAP might not have got the “strong mandate’’ it has asked for in terms of popular vote, but it should be a clear enough signal that the PAP should stay as government.

At the risk of angering the PAP government, I found it strange that the Prime Minister was engaged in partisan politics in Parliament even as he talked about not letting debate descend into the polarization. You can bet that public discussion, both online and offline, will be about his free rider analogy rather than ways to help the country out of the Covid-19.

In fact, it’s rather odd to talk about a two-for-one tactic when the PAP itself flogs the line that it was okay to vote the PAP because there will always be 12 NCMPs.

Did he also consider that people might actually want to cut the PAP dominance down to size because they don’t agree that the PAP is always right? Or that the people think that government is not as good as the New York Philharmonic Orchestra that he referred to?

I am glad he said that he respected the voter’s choice. Yes, the elections are over. Can the government now get on with the business of governing?

Bertha Henson

He is of course the youngest never fought a war BG and supposedly slapped a senior colleague.

I don’t know if I can see, in my living years, the PAP becoming opposition again.

He is of course the youngest never fought a war BG and supposedly slapped a senior colleague.

Do you think any slapping happening behind the scenes these days?

(I structure my sentence into question to avoid pofma)

In a civilized country, the Speaker is supposed to be neutral and non-partisan.

In Sinkieland? Michael Pumper, Halimah, Tan Chuan Jin etc. LOL, I rest my case. :roflmao:

so now PAP and LHL admit that the one tactic to bring them 61% is to bribe the citizen, the PR (whom will become new citizen) with the nation's coffer....therefore for those whom received the benefit and yet did not vote for PAP (31%) are "free rider"

Oh dear. Are they on a sustainability path to reduce the use of air conditioning? It seems rather warm in Parliament.

That’s like asking the CEO of a company to nod his head as a polite gesture to the doorman.

speaker of parliament owns the parliament. if pm lee behavior was out of order, tan should get the police to take lee away !

That happens in a civilized country. Not in Sinkieland.