• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Security Guards Left Out Of Pay Rise Exercise - The Real Culprits Responsible.

Kohliantye

Once again it came as a bolt from the blue for the poor underpaid and over-worked security guards in Singapore.

The much heralded pay rise for these people was crueely cut off by a statement from the Security Companies Association of Singapore which declared that giving these underpaid and over-worked modern-day slaves any pay rise would be producing a backlash against the companies and increase the costs.

Are the poor security guards (modern day jagas) to be blamed?

Security has become a very hot topic all over the first world nations ever-since 9/11 the Twin Towers were attacked.

Security guards are meant to be there to forestall any attempts by anyone to wreak havoc on our vital installations.

Paying them "peanuts" may only increase their chances of being ready baits that can be "bought" over by sinister hands with ulterior motives.

On the other hand, paying them well will increase their self-esteem, keep them away from temptation of bribes and make their job more meaningful.

A happy and contented security guard will surely give off his or her best.

Now even cleaners are better off then guards in terms of pay and other benefits.

Why are we in such a straits?

Who are the real culprits responsible for such a sad state of affairs in Singapore?

Please discuss and offer your valuable views.

Seriously most security guards are ahnehs, most firms belongs to ahnehs too. So its ahneh problem la we no need to get involve yes?

Bro, I do agree with your reasoning but we also have many of our own local senior citizens from various races doing the job besides these foreign mercenaries

What I feel is that our own people should come first in this jobs.

Foreigners should never be employed in security guards posts and that includes security guard firms like Certis Cisco, Aetos or what other that we may have here.

These foreigners can easily be bought over and may end up as worse liabilities then assets.

They will also be the first to abandon us should their own countries become richer then what we are supposed to be now.

That is precisely why labour unions (real unions, not the co-opted crap called NTUC) with the power to hold strikes is the only real bargaining chip to counter exploitation by the capitalist bourgeoisie.

You know why the PAP govt clamps down on 'industrial action'? Because it is a govt for and by the capitalist bourgeoisie. It wants workers to be overworked and underpaid, obedient and acquiescent. You could sense the fear and loathing from it when those PRC bus drivers went on strike.

bro,
this topic on security guards reminded me of a post started by me a long while back and the memory is suddenly jogged...

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?12733-small-talks

ps: plead guilty for those grammar mistakes peppered in my posts :p

Thank you bro,

I read that article concerned and find the thread interesting and the feedback valuable.

Our elederly, who wish to be employed for some reason or others should be encouraged with better pay and other fringe benefits.

As has been mentioned, the elderly may suffer from age-related ailments but they may still be able to work.

Staying at home in a flat may cause their physical condition and mental faculties to wane.

There is also a possibility that those at home may view unemployed elders as liabilities - hence the desire to remain employable.

However, currently many jobs that these people may be able to do is given to foreigners.

The State must start by being the first to employ these category of people.

Just look at the adverts in the newspapers......There is no civil service posts available for many pensioners. Hence some resort to playing chess at void-deck much to the dismay of the auntie concerned.

If the State does not take the lead, who else will.

We should practice what we preach. Sheer rhetoric is of no use.

That is precisely why labour unions (real unions, not the co-opted crap called NTUC) with the power to hold strikes is the only real bargaining chip to counter exploitation by the capitalist bourgeoisie.

then we can safely say that SAF is exploiting all the NSmen by paying us pittance? :(:(:(

is minimum wage the way to move forward?

there are too many ex saf and spf officers running security companies, so they treat employees with contempt just like they treat ns men as lowly coolies. lack of minimum wage is not the culprit here. :p

Status wise, very low. Pay wise, very low. Long hours and working conditions not that great in most cases. Chicken and egg thing. With the current salaries for those in this sector, you won't attract better calibre chaps. Not sure if the employers are to be blamed. This is an industry which is very labour intensive and at times, some bosses have to take over as security guards when their guards don't show up for work or else kena LD.

Secuirty guards are known to always borrow money from their company. Also known for switching employers over $50 pay rise elsewhere. Clients always delay payments but employer must be punctual with salaries and other expenses like rental. The person in NTUC overseeing this was an ex-police officer. Am quite disappointed not much being done for this sector.

I think most of them are Malaysians

I doubt that Sporeans can afford to be security guards. Probably make more as taxi drivers.

You know why the PAP govt clamps down on 'industrial action'? Because it is a govt for and by the capitalist bourgeoisie. It wants workers to be overworked and underpaid, obedient and acquiescent. You could sense the fear and loathing from it when those PRC bus drivers went on strike.

Notice that Tooth Pick Lim has said nothing, but will come out screaming "I did it" when pay rises happen.

Who did they vote for? :rolleyes:
This trade has high shortage of manpower due to long working hours and low pay. With more and more properties on the pipeline, you can expect the demand for this group of people rising. The current problem is mainly due to companies trying to compete with one another by putting in the lowest possible bid in order to get tenders. This inevitably affects the pay of this group of people. This is a vicious cycle. The only way to stop it is to implement minimum wage for this group of people. What's up next with they face manpower shortage? You know i know.

Hey you fellas here, you guys never read the Straits Times meh? Or you calling them liars?

Employers are hiring more locals and fewer foreigners: MOM
Published on Sep 13, 2013
10:28 AM
By Toh Yong Chuan

Employers are hiring more locals and fewer foreigners as foreign manpower curbs continue to bite.

Growth of foreign workers, excluding maids, slowed to 27,000 in the first half of this year, down 34,100 in the same period last year. This is also the lowest growth since the first half of 2010, the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) said on Friday. The figure does not include domestic maids.

Construction workers and maids made up the lion's share, while the growth in number of Employment Pass and S Pass holders was the lowest since the first half of 2009. Between January and June this year, local employment rose to 34,100, up from 22,800 in the first six months last year. But even as employment continue to grow, unemployment also rose to 2.1 per cent in the second quarter of the year, up from 1.9 per cent in the first quarter.

The ministry said the labour market for the rest of the year is expected to remain tight. Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin said that the Government will not let up on its curbs on foreign workers. He added: "We will continue to take progressive steps to reduce the inflow of foreign workers, and urge companies to adopt practical productivity improvement strategies, as we move towards a manpower-lean economy."

Hey you fellas here, you guys never read the Straits Times meh? Or you calling them liars?
Construction workers and maids made up the lion's share, while the growth in number of Employment Pass and S Pass holders was the lowest since the first half of 2009. Between January and June this year, local employment rose to 34,100, up from 22,800 in the first six months last year. But even as employment continue to grow, unemployment also rose to 2.1 per cent in the second quarter of the year, up from 1.9 per cent in the first quarter.

It means local employment has risen about 50% since the introduction of this curb. Which also means, locals have been badly deprived of employment before this curb was introduced. So all those stories about FT bringing more jobs for Locals are pure bullshit. :oIo: FUCK THE PAP! :oIo::kma:

Security guards make like $5 an hour.
Those who engage security firms would know the market rates for a security gig contract....it's not cheap....money's all going into the employers' pocket.
It's this is not exploitation and modern day slavery then I dunno what is.

Security guards make like $5 an hour.
Those who engage security firms would know the market rates for a security gig contract....it's not cheap....money's all going into the employers' pocket.
It's this is not exploitation and modern day slavery then I dunno what is.

The story will be different when it comes to the MIWs' pay.

some condos pay $3000 for one guard every month. guess how much the boss of security firm pockets? and the shameless bastards have the cheek to complain!

Heard this from a security guard Uncle at my workplace.. They work for 12 hours a day, 6 days a week..

The salary ? Just a paltry 1.2 to 1.3k a month after CPF deduction.. No medical coverage, no pay when these guards are on sick leave or urgent leave..

And on top of that those Govt fucktards made it very hard now for people applying these security licenses.. Too many complicated channels for them to go through just to obtain the licenses.. They demand that you apply online and pay the license fees at AXS machine..

You also need to scan all your certs and personal particulars and fax it to SPF licensing branch for them to screen your background.. KNN, how about those old folks who are mountain tortoises when it comes to the Internet and they have no PCs and scan machines at home? With all these stupid new rulings, It makes it more harder for them to apply for security jobs..