• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sands President Abruptly Resigns - Sinkees IR Dream in Jeopardy!

limpeh

Who needs William when we have our demi-God MM Lee in charged! Look at what happen to Citigroup when our demi-God was made "Special Advisor"!!!!
Huat argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123662060460773667.html

In a move that has shocked casino insiders and highlights the turmoil in the gambling industry, William Weidner, president and chief operating officer of casino company Las Vegas Sands Corp. quit the company Monday.

The abrupt departure of Mr. Weidner, 63 years old, considered the pragmatic counterweight to the company's billionaire visionary and founder, Sheldon Adelson, is likely to unnerve investors and employees. It comes at a precarious moment. The company has seen its stock price fall by 90% in the past year, as consumers have closed their wallets and visitation to Las Vegas has fallen sharply.

On Monday, shares dropped 20% to close at a low of $1.42.

"This is an earthquake on the Las Vegas Strip," said Joseph Weinert, a gambling consultant and analyst for Spectrum Gaming Group, adding, "Bill Weidner has been the man providing the steady hand for that company."

Sands said Mr. Weidner will be succeeded by Michael Leven, a hotel-industry veteran who was president and chief operating officer of Holiday Inn. Mr. Leven is also a Sands board member.

Deepening problems at Sands sparked a clash between Mr. Adelson and Mr. Weidner, who had worked together for 14 years building the company from one casino on the Las Vegas Strip -- the Venetian -- to a global resort empire extending to China and Singapore.

As the company's stock value fell and credit tightened, Mr. Weidner urged Mr. Adelson to conduct a stock offering to raise cash. According to people familiar with the matter, Mr. Adelson initially resisted before announcing a $2.1 billion stock offering last November.

Tension between the men moved into the open last year as Mr. Weidner's frustrations mounted over Mr. Adelson's insistence on moving forward with the company's massive development pipeline even as the economy soured. Late last year, the board stepped in to act as mediator, according to a filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The company temporarily delayed its plans in Macau, China's gambling enclave, to focus on finishing casinos in Singapore and Pennsylvania.

Mr. Weidner's contract was set to expire in December. A person with knowledge of the situation said company officials informed Mr. Weidner the company had decided to hire Mr. Leven to replace him. Mr. Weidner resigned.

Mr. Weidner wasn't able to be reached for comment.

A spokesman for Sands said the company had no comment, but that additional details would be released in an SEC filing.

Write to Tamara Audi at [email protected]

Merl Haggard

The next breaking news on the Strip will be LVS declares Chapter 11.

For casino veteran William Weidner to throw in the towel, Sands is as good as gone!

also another breaking news will be IR construction in sink city will cease.

yeah those people who oppose to casino in singapore won.

Ah Guan

Wahhh .... the Marina Sands buildings can become a retirement home.. old folks don't need to go JB and die liao

Lion_Barbell

also another breaking news will be IR construction in sink city will cease.

yeah those people who oppose to casino in singapore won.

When they told me they prefer to hire foreigners when I went to their job fair, I started praying for their demise :biggrin:

Looks like my prayers have been answered :p

lifeafter41

Jesus Christ of Nazareth!

He's the only one and true God.

Some prayed to Lord Buddha, some prayed to Allah, there are others that prayed to Lord Krishna what make you think your's is the only one?. Did your only one called you on your cellphone to tell you your prayer is answered?.

Merl Haggard

Another leg of LVS is in the coffin.

Rating agencies Moodys and Standard & Poor have rated LVS
business operations as negative with immediate effect.

Sounds like a good retirement home.
Got seaview somemore!

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

They won't want, tourists coming to SINgapore, to see, old people tottering around on strollers, walking sticks & wheeled in wheel chairs.

They want a vibrant, energetic SINgapore!.

That is why the Shitty Times is drumming up news on old people to be shelved in Malaysia, today, we have some 'kind soul' who donated a holiday house in Pulau Tioman to the Hospice.

Out of sight, out of mind...to you old foggers who had fed the system, paid your dues in National Service & Reservists...now go, die somewhere!! :p

Hope

Who needs William when we have our demi-God MM Lee in charged! Look at what happen to Citigroup when our demi-God was made "Special Advisor"!!!!
Huat argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123662060460773667.html

In a move that has shocked casino insiders and highlights the turmoil in the gambling industry, William Weidner, president and chief operating officer of casino company Las Vegas Sands Corp. quit the company Monday.

The abrupt departure of Mr. Weidner, 63 years old, considered the pragmatic counterweight to the company's billionaire visionary and founder, Sheldon Adelson, is likely to unnerve investors and employees. It comes at a precarious moment. The company has seen its stock price fall by 90% in the past year, as consumers have closed their wallets and visitation to Las Vegas has fallen sharply.

On Monday, shares dropped 20% to close at a low of $1.42.

"This is an earthquake on the Las Vegas Strip," said Joseph Weinert, a gambling consultant and analyst for Spectrum Gaming Group, adding, "Bill Weidner has been the man providing the steady hand for that company."

Sands said Mr. Weidner will be succeeded by Michael Leven, a hotel-industry veteran who was president and chief operating officer of Holiday Inn. Mr. Leven is also a Sands board member.

Deepening problems at Sands sparked a clash between Mr. Adelson and Mr. Weidner, who had worked together for 14 years building the company from one casino on the Las Vegas Strip -- the Venetian -- to a global resort empire extending to China and Singapore.

As the company's stock value fell and credit tightened, Mr. Weidner urged Mr. Adelson to conduct a stock offering to raise cash. According to people familiar with the matter, Mr. Adelson initially resisted before announcing a $2.1 billion stock offering last November.

Tension between the men moved into the open last year as Mr. Weidner's frustrations mounted over Mr. Adelson's insistence on moving forward with the company's massive development pipeline even as the economy soured. Late last year, the board stepped in to act as mediator, according to a filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The company temporarily delayed its plans in Macau, China's gambling enclave, to focus on finishing casinos in Singapore and Pennsylvania.

Mr. Weidner's contract was set to expire in December. A person with knowledge of the situation said company officials informed Mr. Weidner the company had decided to hire Mr. Leven to replace him. Mr. Weidner resigned.

Mr. Weidner wasn't able to be reached for comment.

A spokesman for Sands said the company had no comment, but that additional details would be released in an SEC filing.

Write to Tamara Audi at [email protected]
Sheldon is praying hard that multi-billionaire MM Lee could come to his rescue QUICK!

Whose money?our bloody peanuts!

They won't want, tourists coming to SINgapore, to see, old people tottering around on strollers, walking sticks & wheeled in wheel chairs.

That is why the Shitty Times is drumming up news on old people to be shelved in Malaysia, today, we have some 'kind soul' who donated a holiday house in Pulau Tioman to the Hospice.

Out of sight, out of mind...to you old foggers who had fed the system, paid your dues in National Service & Reservists...now go, die somewhere!! :p

yeah after years of defending pap and ft/fw jobs
they send old useless sinkies to enemy land to die
during invasion of singapore, these old folk will be first to be beheaded by the enemy.

Royston46

Hahahahahaha! LOL!

When this Casino plan was conceived years back, I see it as another revenue for the greedy PAPigs to tap and suck tourists and Sinkies dry, all the boost to the tourism sector and retail industry are just their bullshit of justifying their ends...

Another big boo boo for the World Class Government we are having!!!

Woohoo!!! This is really a happening year for the Party in power... so many signs that they are already on the way downhill liao...

:oIo: :oIo: :oIo:

funglung

Sinkies got no balls
You all dare not stand with those that tried to speak for you.
SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not give money to them so that they can work for you.
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not support them publicly so that they can speak for you.
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all turn your backs on those that spoke out bravely against LKY
LKY hit out at those who tried to speak for you with his kangaroo courts
You turn your backs and not support them with money and courage.

SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You let them be beaten and bankrupted because you all have no balls
NOW YOU GETTING YOUR BALLS CUT OFF FROM YOU AND YOU AND YOUR FAMILY RAPED AND FUCKED BY LEE KUAN YEW AND HIS COCKROACHES IN WHITE

Why complain now?

Your 400-500++ billions sucked and bled into LKY Temasick and GIC

And even more billions are currently sucked and bled so that LKY can use those money to bastardised and pay his kangaroo courts and running dogs to bleed even more billions from you in future

You got what you all deserved
for your lack of balls

SneeringTree

On the contrary, I think it's good news for Singapore. It seems that Adelson is the one most/more enthusiastic about Singapore's casino.