• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Samsung Galaxy S (Good or not huh?)

cooleo

http://www.samsungmobile.com.sg/mobile-phones/samsung-galaxy-s

SUPER AMOLED Display

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-022.jpg

With the world brightest 4.0” SUPER AMOLED screen you will be able to enjoy watching and recording videos, playing games and reading e-books. The SUPER AMOLED screen is perfectly clear and it displays vibrant and vivid colours even in bright sunlight.

Swype and Write & Go

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-05.jpg

With the ‘Text at Hyperspeed’ by Swype Technology you can type your text 1.5 times faster than standard texting. And the ‘Write & Go’ feature allows you to select a pre-written text and choose to send it later by SNS, SMS, MMS, email, calendar or memo!

Layar Reality Browser

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-07.jpg

After activating the Layar Reality Browser on your Samsung GALAXY S, you just need to capture your surroundings with your mobile phone camera and you will have an instant POI view of the street. By selecting the spot you require, you will be able to access the address, phone number, price listings and more detailed information.

AllShare via DLNA

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-09.jpg

Samsung GALAXY S comes with Allshare (via DLNA), in which you can wirelessly connect and share videos, photos, music and more between your phone, TV and PC.

Daily Briefing

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-03.jpg

Daily Briefing on Samsung GALAXY S allows you to transform your phone into your personal secretary by organizing and updating you on news, stock performance, weather and your schedule for the day.

Social Hub (Basic)

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-06.jpg

Phonebook seamlessly integrates all of your SNS, IM (Palringo), email, and calendar accounts, so you no longer need to spend time checking separate sites. Samsung GALAXY S lets you easily keep in touch with your loved ones. With Samsung GALAXY S’s integrated messaging, you can automatically sync and manage the history for all your SNS and IM accounts.

Document Editor – ThinkFree

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-main-08.jpg

ThinkFree office allows you to access documents saved online via your Samsung GALAXY S. You can add an image, amend text, then save straight away.

Wireless Tethering

samsung-mobile-gt-i9000-feature-sub-013.jpg

Wireless Internet tethering allows you to use your phone as a modem to surf the internet on your laptop anywhere, anytime.

Cooleo, get HTC HD2 instead, better :D:D

Samsung OS cannot support many things, if its Windows or Android OS, then you can consider.

Why better? U sound like a durian seller who want to sell me 10 durians at one shot without a good reason. :D

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/76IgKqdMPuE&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/76IgKqdMPuE&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

It has a huge screen, 1gig processor, its fast even using Windows Mobile :)
My friend use his HD2 to play Starcraft2, lol

Samsung Galaxy S run on Android 2.1 leh.

Froyo 2.2

<object width="555" height="444"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/Ij-76GVAmgc&hl=en_US&fs=1&hd=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/Ij-76GVAmgc&hl=en_US&fs=1&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="555" height="444"></embed></object>

<object width="555" height="444"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/VWhxrf6a9nI&hl=en_US&fs=1&hd=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/VWhxrf6a9nI&hl=en_US&fs=1&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="555" height="444"></embed></object>

Froyo 2.2

<object width="555" height="444"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/Ij-76GVAmgc&hl=en_US&fs=1&hd=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/Ij-76GVAmgc&hl=en_US&fs=1&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="555" height="444"></embed></object>

http://gizmodo.com/5549260/android-22-review

500x_froyotalkwide_top.jpg

If you consider where Android was when it started versus how far it's advanced in 18 months with Android 2.2, you might get brain freeze.

Android 2.2—aka Froyo—is the most usable, polished iteration of Android yet. But more importantly, it's the first release that makes Android truly compelling for a broad consumer audience. Froyo's updates aren't that radical, but serious under-the-hood improvements and refinements throughout make it tangibly more pleasing to use.
Need for Speed

Without getting overly technical, Android executes its apps in a layer above its core Linux OS in a virtual machine called Dalvik. One of the major under-the-hood changes in 2.2 is a just-in-time compiler for Dalvik, which—here come the chocolate sprinkles—results in a 2x–5x performance boost for CPU-heavy code. That means faster apps—faster everything. (Google demoed it last week with the game Replica Island, which kept a higher framerate while doing more stuff in 2.2 compared to its performance on Android 2.1)

Android 2.2 'Froyo' Review: It's SweetIn everyday use, the new compiler combined with Android's efficient memory management means that pretty much everything you do, in both the general OS as well as apps, feels more responsive. The speed increase itself isn't staggering in and of itself, but the subconscious effects of a smoother, less draggy experience are real. The slowdowns and stutters I've come to just expect from Android (even with beefier processors) are mostly gone. And after a year-and-a-half of dealing with them, it's kind of remarkable to no longer rage at Android's persistent lagging.

According to Google, this speed boost incongruously comes with slightly better battery life. But any power improvements haven't been dramatic enough for us to notice during tests on the Nexus One.

The other place you'll subtly notice things are faster is web browsing. Again, Google's promising 2x faster JavaScript rendering speeds thanks to the new V8 engine, and this is actually a pretty solid estimate.

500x_nexus_one_rendering_speed_chart__revised_.jpg

I compared a Nexus One with 2.1 to one running 2.2 (both on Wi-Fi). Here's what I saw on a handful of sites, some with Flash set to "on demand" (that's essentially "off"); some with with Flash turned on completely. Plus we threw the Flash-less iPad in for comparison. As you can see, the boosts are non-trivial—extra speed that adds up to a far happier browsing experience.

500x_flashhhhh.jpg

The biggest feature in the browser is that it now supports Adobe Flash, an optional download from the Android Market. That might be more blessing than curse. If you leave Flash turned on, the purpose it will most often serve is to render Flash ads. Fortunately, you have the option to make plugins for the Android browser available "on demand," so it works more like ClicktoFlash—you click when you want a piece of Flash to render. The version of Flash available now is "pre-beta" so it doesn't have common desktop features like hardware acceleration for h.264 video. It's also not exactly perfect at rendering stuff, as you can see comparing this Flash-based infographic on the phone versus desktop, which limits its utility, as least given the way I browse on a phone. (I'm not a Farmville player, and Hulu blocks Android 2.2.)

It's the Little Things

The speed boost in 2.2 is fantastic, but what makes Froyo a truly great update is that it tightens bolts all across the entire platform. Android has evolved into a real product, on a totally different level than its first year.

One of Android's major shortcomings has been its interface, which has varied from wildly inconsistent to simply confusing. The UI is largely the same—it's still more complex and less elegant than either the iPhone or Palm's webOS—but it's striking how much nicer it feels thanks to even a few tweaks.

500x_froyotalkwide.jpg

• The messages app—for SMS and MMS—and Google Talk now share a mostly unified interface with the Gmail app: black-text-on-purpleish background, moving away from the incongruous white-text-on-black.

• Inside of Gmail, you can now quickly switch between accounts by tapping the name of the account in the top right hand corner. • When you plug the phone into your computer and turn on USB storage, a fancy Android graphic now tells you what's up, with clear instructions about mounting and unmounting your phone.

• The camera app's controls are markedly improved, putting all of the settings like white balance and flash mode right up front, rather than sticking them behind a finicky slider that didn't work half the time.

• Usefully and enjoyable—and with maybe just a little poking at Apple—galleries now have a pinch-to-peek gesture, so that you can see what photos are inside of a gallery before you open it. Perhaps my favorite tweaks are on the home screen.

• Since smartphones have been shedding buttons like promise rings on prom night, a new center widget on the home screen puts the dialer, app menu and browser permanently at your fingertips.

• Pressing and holding the central apps button brings up thumbnail previews of every screen on your desktop. Update: Originally, these preview tabs popped up only when you pressed and held the left/right desktop buttons—which I never used, since I always swiped from one desktop to another. Lingering Issues Android's still not all the way there. There are still too many buried features, hidden by menu button, and general complexities, like a separate email app for non-Gmail accounts, remain. Selecting text, while now possible in the Gmail app, is confusing. And the white-on-black interface for the dialer and contacts seems even more out of place now that messages and Gtalk use a lighter UI. The interface could always stand to be sleeker and more graceful. It's so strange, in a way, that Android has the most impressive voice controls and speech-to-text of any phone out there, but basic things like copy-and-paste can feel as slippery as brain surgery on a snail. The problem extends to the Android Market. Sure, one day we might be pushing apps to the phone from our desktop, but app discoverability, particularly on the phone itself, is a long way from optimal. But you can see where things are going. And it feels more unified and complete than it ever has, which is a good thing. (Except the touch keyboard. It still feels like you're typing with two fingers glued together, and Andy Rubin didn't offer us much hope on that front.)

500x_froyotalk2.jpg

Many other improvements involve apps. Like the Android Market, which finally has an "update all apps" button—or you can even allow apps to update themselves automatically, if you trust them.

Android now has a built-in, legit task manager, and while it's a little too deep in the settings, you can kill unruly apps that gobble memory. (Thankfully, I haven't had to do so in 2.2). You can move apps to the SD card, which is a big deal since you were previously limited to however many apps would fit within the puny internal storage in the phone. (This appears to be something developers have to allow, since only a couple of apps gave me the option to do so.)

And, while I haven't tested this (since I'm using the same phone and I don't think any apps support the API yet), apps can back up your data, so when you move to a new phone, all of your inner-app data will show up with the fresh install.

While it's not too much use to anyone on AT&T in NY or SF, perhaps the biggest new feature is the portable hotspot, which works as perfectly as you'd hope. Check the box, and you're sharing your 3G connection over Wi-Fi with any device you want. Security is limited to WPA2, unfortunately, making integration with older devices difficult. It also works while charging, so why even bother with tethering?

The official Twitter app is built-in, much like Facebook has been since Android 2.0, and it is deeply integrated with your contacts. The setup is automagical, though if it screws up the pairing—say if somebody's Twitter handle gets assigned to the wrong person—good luck fixing it. Still, the effect is charming, especially if a contact is as deeply tied into Google as you are, since every avenue by which you could possibly want to contact them is at your fingertips. (On the flip side, Google's contact management within Gmail is still pretty horrendous.)

Accounts are improved in a few ways. For me, the most important is that now you can see calendars from every Google account on the phone, whereas before only calendars from one primary account synced. But serious corporate users get some of the love too, since Exchange calendars work now as well. I didn't test any of the Exchange administrator features, like remote wipe, but I'll say being able to set a real alphanumeric passcode for the screenlock instead of a grease-trail-reside gesture sounds much, much improved.

Google's Good Stuff...That's Not In Froyo

Some of the most impressive stuff that Google showed off last week is still a ways off—features that we know are coming but won't make it into Froyo.

The current built-in music app is as clunky and ugly as ever, and managing music on the phone is not nearly as easy as it should be. But Google's Simply Media-powered streaming demo, which was demonstrated streaming an entire library from a home computer to a phone, wouldn't just fix the sync issue, it would leapfrog what everybody else currently offers. (Though the unlimited streaming Zune Pass for Kin would be a close second.)

Also, no third-party apps are currently using the upcoming cloud-to-device messaging service Google showed off—it's like push notifications on the iPhone, but super-powered, so you could send links and even begin app downloads on your phone from, say, your desktop browser. Update: The Chrome-to-Phone extension is live, and it works for the basic things Google showed, like sending links, maps, and YouTube videos from your browser to the phone. It was pretty instant, though I think I tried to send too much stuff to fast, and wound up building up a queue of links that got stuck, and then executed really fast, one after the other. Still, impressive. (No OTA app or music downloading yet, though.)

Just pre-ordered a set yesterday. Looks very impressive. Main drawback - No camera flash and ringtone a little soft. But can live with it!

Why need to pre-order? No stock meh?

11983.jpg

Samsung Galaxy S seeks to steal 4G iPhone thunder
The Korean phone giant plans to hold a launching event for its flagship smartphone on the same day as Apple’s 4G iPhone announcement.

Samsung Electronics seeks to steal the thunder of Apple's upcoming new iPhone, planning to hold a launching event for its flagship smartphone Galaxy S in Seoul on June 8, the same day as Apple's 4G iPhone announcement. Samsung, the world's No. 2 handset maker, seeks to be a flag bearer in the Android camp, making Galaxy S the most widely available smartphone powered by Google's operating system.

A Samsung spokesperson said Thursday that the company planned to sell the Galaxy S via 100 carriers around the world and has received a combined 1 million units of pre-orders from the operators. Android phones are available from 59 carriers in 48 countries, while Apple's iPhones are sold in 96 nations. Android phones have long been tapped as the challenger to the hugely popular iPhone, and sales of Android phones surpassed those of iPhones in the first quarter of this year in the United States for the first time.

But no single Android phone has been as successful as the iPhone, which is beloved by many consumers because of its sleek design, easy user interface and wealth of content. Samsung said on Thursday that it planned to announce the launch of the Galaxy S for the Korean market at a June 8 event, at which its mobile division president Shin Jong-kyun will attend. Apple CEO Steve Jobs also plans to unveil the 4G iPhone model at the Apple Worldwide Developers Conference in San Francisco on June 7.

Samsung first launched the Galaxy S in Singapore on May 26 and then in Switzerland on Wednesday. Samsung did not announce which carriers would sell the Galaxy S, but local reports said the phone will be available via all of the four major U.S. carriers - Verizon, AT&T, Sprint and T Mobile, as well as other major operators including the U.K.'s Vodafone, France's Orange and Germany's Deutsche Telecom.

Samsung's big sales push for the Galaxy S came as the Korean company is determined to reverse its fortunes in the fast-growing smartphone segment, in which it is struggling against the likes of Nokia, Apple, Research In Motion and HTC. Samsung held less than 5 percent of the global smartphone market in the first quarter, whereas Apple's share reached 16.1 percent, IDC data showed.

The Galaxy S, which was unveiled at CTIA Wireless in March, runs the 2.1 version of the Android system, and features a 4-inch "super" AM-OLED screen, and a 1 gigahertz processor as well as 8 gigabytes or 16 gigabytes of internal memory. Samsung Electronics also seeks to boost sales of smartphones based on its proprietary platform Bada. The company has started sales of the Wave, the first Bada-powered smartphone, in select European countries including Germany, France and the U.K.

However, Samsung's push for Bada phones suffered a setback as a virus was found on microSD cards sold with the Wave phones in Germany. "We have confirmed that the cards were infected with a virus, and we are in the process of exchanging the products (for new ones)," the Samsung spokesperson said. Samsung said the virus was found only in those shipped to Germany. Samsung aims at more than tripling its smartphone sales to 18 million units this year. A third of Samsung smartphone models will be powered by Bada, while Android phones would account for half of its total smartphone models, Samsung said.

Only Singtel has the exclusive right to sell this phone. No stock at the moment. Must pre-order. $148 for a 2 yr plan.

Quite cheap. But not sure whether this model can upgrade to Android 2.2 version easily. Better to wait a while first.

After all the above postings, question remained for non-technical user for normal phone-features AND LOTS OF FREE GAMES :

1. To buy Galaxy S or iphone ?
2. Why (in terms of end-user usage, no technicalities, please)?

If you are a tech savvy kind, then iPhone is not for you. iPhone is good enough for me, call/receiving calls, sms, surfing, games. I dun use email, open documents and suchs.

Frankly i dun like the navigation of Android, its finger swipe response feels like Window Mobiles.

Not ridiculing Android, i believe they will get better and maybe will surpass iPhone, that i dunno/ But till now, iPhone is good enough for me :):)

Android OS and feedback?

Window OS is like shit, simple SMS also make you wait dam long.
I'll never buy any phone with a Window OS.

Cooleo, get HTC HD2 instead, better :D:D

Samsung OS cannot support many things, if its Windows or Android OS, then you can consider.