• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Reuters Analysis: PAP govt seeks to manage political change

SNAblog

http://www.forbes.com/feeds/reuters...TRIDST_0_SINGAPORE-POLITICS-ANALYSIS-PIX.html

Forbes.com, 27 Jun 2009

ANALYSIS-Singapore seeks to manage political change

Resourceful, but resource-scarce, Singapore has nimbly changed with the times in its first 50 years of self-governance.

But the global economic slowdown has thrown the trade-dependent city-state into its worst recession and issues from unemployment to huge losses at two sovereign wealth funds have set fresh challenges for the People's Action Party (PAP), which marked a half-century in power this month.

Analysts say future risks include political change after the current generation of ageing leaders, possibly even from a split in the ruling party, and external threats such as conflict with neighbours and competition from cheaper manufacturing centres.

"It won't be as stable and as unchangeable as people think," said Roman Scott, who runs a private equity firm in Singapore. He is bullish on the country's long-term prospects, but said terror attacks or political changes were the biggest risks.

"Even in Singapore, nothing lasts forever."

Singapore is favoured as a base for its dependability, efficient bureaucracy and clean environment. Few investors expect shocks in a region where stability can quickly turn to chaos.

"I looked at all the cities in the world and decided to move to Singapore," said American investor Jim Rogers, who co-founded the Quantum Fund with George Soros in 1970. Rogers is bearish on the U.S. dollar and pound but expects the Singapore dollar to stay strong because of political and economic competence.

SUCCESSION

Singapore's stability rests on the vision of Cambridge-trained Lee Kuan Yew, who came to power in June 1959 after leading the PAP to its first general election victory. The party has never lost more than four seats in any poll since.

The government recently offered to nominate more opposition members to parliament, a move analysts said could be a release valve for criticism but may also stimulate some fresh ideas.

"It needs to accept a level of accountability and debate that it currently will not do," said Bob Broadfoot of Political & Economic Risk Consultancy.

The government has been looking for younger stars, and cadres have started speaking about Singapore after Lee Kuan Yew.

Kishore Mahbubani, Singapore's former United Nations envoy, saw a two-thirds probability Singapore would make a "smooth and seamless transition" after the retirement of octogenarian Lee.

This was due to a "deep institutionalisation" of the values of Singapore's first generation of leaders, though corruption would have to be kept at bay, he told a recent seminar. Singapore is rated the least corrupt country in the region.

"We don't see any dramatic or unstable political change in Singapore in the coming 10 years," said Vincent Ho of Fitch Ratings, which gives Singapore its top sovereign rating of AAA.

Pierre Cailleteau, managing director for sovereign risk at Moody's ( MCO - news - people ) Investor Service, said its AAA rating for Singapore hinged on strong financial fundamentals, a pro-business stance and the ability to adapt to changing economic conditions.

"We don't look at the rulers of a country, but the way the country is ruled. For Singapore, we don't see reasons to believe there will be any change in the degree of predictability if there is a change in leadership," he said.

Even if future Singapore leaders became more vulnerable to public pressure and engaged in populist policies at the expense of economic goals, the shift would take place over a period of years rather than months, he added.

DIVERSIFICATION

As it faces up to the global downturn, the government has just set up an "Economic Strategies Committee" comprising ministers and business leaders, to fine-tune plans for growth, as it aims to stay a hub for multinationals and trading.

Singapore has already been looking to wean itself off manufacturing by developing service industries such as wealth management and tourism, with two casino resorts due by next year.

It also hired ex-BHP Billiton ( BBL - news - people ) CEO Chip Goodyear to run state investor Temasek, replacing the prime minister's wife Ho Ching. Goodyear is expected to look at investments in the resource sector, after the fund was burned by high profile investments in Western banks in the past year that created discontent among Singaporeans worried about the state's savings.

Analysts say the country will continue to diversify into high value sectors such as nanotechnology, biomedical research, and renewable energy. But it is expected to remain dependent on overseas demand given its small 4.6 million population.

Among Lee Kuan Yew's favourite topics is urging Singaporeans to have more babies. But this has not had much success, leaving the state looking to foreign labourers from China and other Asian countries, plus Western professionals, risking future social tensions as the population mix changes.

Singapore saw deadly race riots in the 1950s and 1960s.

Analysts say Singapore will have to be more politically open and culturally tolerant to attract rich migrants and to prevent a brain drain of young local talent.

"If you want to be a world city, you have to take on some of the characteristics of New York and London, a lot more diversity, a lot more tolerance, and a lot more openness," Scott said. (Additional reporting by Kevin Lim; Editing by Neil Chatterjee and Bill Tarrant)

------------------------
Latest at Singapore News Alternative:

1. RMIT caught in Singaporean .
2. Singapore leads Asia in new cases of Influenza A/H1N1
3. S'pore Business Federation Seek To Match NZ businesses with Spore firms for China Venture
4. Despite ban, Singapore guns arrive in India for trials
5. Singapore to hold education roundtable
6. Blogger ethics: proper attribution > accountability
7. Malaysia Withdraw From Asian Youth Games (AYG)
8. Analysis: Singapore seeks to manage political change

Latest videos added:

1. Netizens fight corruption in China
2. Obama Weekly Address On Youtube - 26 Jun 2009
3. Peter Schiff's Vlog Report - 26 Jun 2009
4. One Country,Two System - by wendyneo

Char_Azn

Funny U seem to only highlight parts that U like and conveniently left out all the other parts that doesn't criticise the government. How different are U from the 154th?

From the same sentence U highlighted
"It won't be as stable and as unchangeable as people think," said Roman Scott, who runs a private equity firm in Singapore. He is bullish on the country's long-term prospects, but said terror attacks or political changes were the biggest risks.

And if the government was as incompetent as many in here claimed, I wonder why this guy is here
"I looked at all the cities in the world and decided to move to Singapore," said American investor Jim Rogers, who co-founded the Quantum Fund with George Soros in 1970. Rogers is bearish on the U.S. dollar and pound but expects the Singapore dollar to stay strong because of political and economic competence.

1 thing no one seem to want to admit
Singapore's stability rests on the vision of Cambridge-trained Lee Kuan Yew, who came to power in June 1959 after leading the PAP to its first general election victory. The party has never lost more than four seats in any poll since.

Or this
This was due to a "deep institutionalisation" of the values of Singapore's first generation of leaders, though corruption would have to be kept at bay, he told a recent seminar. Singapore is rated the least corrupt country in the region.

Wow AAA rating for governing the country
"We don't see any dramatic or unstable political change in Singapore in the coming 10 years," said Vincent Ho of Fitch Ratings, which gives Singapore its top sovereign rating of AAA.

Doesnt seem like the experts thinks our leaders are economy idiots
Pierre Cailleteau, managing director for sovereign risk at Moody's ( MCO - news - people ) Investor Service, said its AAA rating for Singapore hinged on strong financial fundamentals, a pro-business stance and the ability to adapt to changing economic conditions.

Your own quote. I believe by this he meant BOTH the citizens and the government. Doesnt seem like anyone here likes FTs
"If you want to be a world city, you have to take on some of the characteristics of New York and London, a lot more diversity, a lot more tolerance, and a lot more openness," Scott said.

So seriously if you are trying to fault the government, find some other article. This one isn't doing its job and frankly, I'd appreciate if you stop learning from the 154th and highlights parts you want pple to read. Leave the article alone and let us decide for ourselves. If I wanted to read bias article, I can get it from the 154th.

My question for anyone reading my post is this. Is this place supposed to be a forum for airing alternative views or just another forum slamming and condemning PAP and the Lee family, because if its the latter, its doing a fantastic job. If its the former, we need to learn to be less bias and post alternative and nutural views not bias ones.

Funny U seem to only highlight parts that U like and conveniently left out all the other parts that doesn't criticise the government. How different are U from the 154th?
From the same sentence U highlighted
And if the government was as incompetent as many in here claimed, I wonder why this guy is here
1 thing no one seem to want to admit
Or this
Wow AAA rating for governing the country
Doesnt seem like the experts thinks our leaders are economy idiots
Your own quote. I believe by this he meant BOTH the citizens and the government. Doesnt seem like anyone here likes FTs
So seriously if you are trying to fault the government, find some other article. This one isn't doing its job and frankly, I'd appreciate if you stop learning from the 154th and highlights parts you want pple to read. Leave the article alone and let us decide for ourselves. If I wanted to read bias article, I can get it from the 154th.

My question for anyone reading my post is this. Is this place supposed to be a forum for airing alternative views or just another forum slamming and condemning PAP and the Lee family, because if its the latter, its doing a fantastic job. If its the former, we need to learn to be less bias and post alternative and nutural views not bias ones.

So what are u saying?The PAP is not incompetent? If losing $250 billion because u put your daughter in law in charge is not incompetence, please tell me what is?

As for why Rogers is here, who cares? He has his own reasons. Maybe the PAP offered his tax free status. Maybe he likes to chiong in Geylang. So what? Now if Buffet decides to move here, than that would be something.

Of course the experts think that our leaders are economic idiots. Any blind person looking at the country's performance the last 10 years can see that. BUT if they tell the truth, they will be sued. So, why bother? So, just stroke their ego, and let this country go to hell, its not their country after all.

Every view u see here is an alternative view. But u misinterpret that as bias and unwarranted criticism. U need an attitude adjustment.

chinkangkor

The writings are all on the wall. Sporeans are not reproducing because they don't feel secure about their future and due to the high cost of living. GDP growth by itself does not tell you the whole story of how the majority are faring economically.

Hope

So what are u saying?The PAP is not incompetent? If losing $250 billion because u put your daughter in law in charge is not incompetence, please tell me what is?

As for why Rogers is here, who cares? He has his own reasons. Maybe the PAP offered his tax free status. Maybe he likes to chiong in Geylang. So what? Now if Buffet decides to move here, than that would be something.

Of course the experts think that our leaders are economic idiots. Any blind person looking at the country's performance the last 10 years can see that. BUT if they tell the truth, they will be sued. So, why bother? So, just stroke their ego, and let this country go to hell, its not their country after all.

Every view u see here is an alternative view. But u misinterpret that as bias and unwarranted criticism. U need an attitude adjustment.
My feeling is that this alternative forum is not doing quite as much as wat we can learn fr 154th,that is to mix 1/4 truth,1/2 truth,3/4 truth and full truth into a big ROJA pot,tat this forum has failed.

But to that joker who said that this forum was not quite neutral,who cares.I dont think SAM invited you here,in fact since you have so much of 154th,if you are indeed so objective,then you should be calling for more bias,hope you DO know wat is balance up.

But I doubt you do,so pl go away and be my geueat,back to 154th,wouldnt you.

HeHe.

I must apologise for being unable to match 154th in my above writing,but then I got nothing,154th journalist got on,the average,S$300,000.00000000000000000000000per year.

littlefish

"I looked at all the cities in the world and decided to move to Singapore," said American investor Jim Rogers, who co-founded the Quantum Fund with George Soros in 1970.

If I am a rich foreigner, I would also set up base here in Singapore so that I can pop over for a few months every year to enjoy the region's beaches when I get sick of the cold winter. Instability in the future? No problem, I will just shift my base elsewhere if conditions start deteriorating.

Now, if I am a citizen without millions of $$$...

ah jim gracious enuff 2 say nice tings abt sg ...

unlike sg ppl, go 2 other ppl cuntries ... say ppl cuntry no gd ... comprain abt tis, criticise abt dat ...

Funny U seem to only highlight parts that U like and conveniently left out all the other parts that doesn't criticise the government. How different are U from the 154th? ...

So who has more at stake in Spore, its citizens or some foreign billionaire :confused:

Does he have to worry about his CPF ? Has he got a loan to pay off for a HDB unit? Does he have to worry about doing NS?

Everyone has already agreed that Spore is a fine place if you got money & this Jim Roger has got plenty of $$$$$$:rolleyes:

The writings are all on the wall. Sporeans are not reproducing because they don't feel secure about their future and due to the high cost of living. GDP growth by itself does not tell you the whole story of how the majority are faring economically.

Actually, I do not think that S'poreans are not reproducing, in fact, I believe they are reproducing, but not in S'pore. i suspect that at 30% of native born S'poreans have migrated to other countries. Their children are born in Australia, Canada, etc. If u look at the facts, most singaporeans here know several classmates, friends, ex-co-workers, relatives, etc. that have migrated overseas. When u factor this in, of course, the populations will look like its not growing.

chinkangkor

Actually, I do not think that S'poreans are not reproducing, in fact, I believe they are reproducing, but not in S'pore. i suspect that at 30% of native born S'poreans have migrated to other countries. Their children are born in Australia, Canada, etc. If u look at the facts, most singaporeans here know several classmates, friends, ex-co-workers, relatives, etc. that have migrated overseas. When u factor this in, of course, the populations will look like its not growing.

Those that are in S'pore are not reproducing enough to replace themselves. This we can see from the Total Fertility Rate, which is one of the lowest in the world while our GDP per capita is one of the highest.

DOM the Clown

Bro,
Jim Roger buay zhun wan lah. He's a fraud.....
Regards,
DOM

Actually, I do not think that S'poreans are not reproducing, in fact, I believe they are reproducing, but not in S'pore. .....

Have to agree. I know Sporeans who plan on pregnancies while they are in the US, Aust, Canada,.... These people have not emigrated but taking short 'holidays'. This is what I call family planning :biggrin:

After the baby is born in foreign lands, they can come back to Spore. These kids are NOT liable for NS & when they are grown up, they can sponsor their parents as PRs :smile:

khunking

Seems like someone has been sleeping with enemy all this time and benefitted from the asian currency crisis.

http://www.forbes.com/feeds/reuters...TRIDST_0_SINGAPORE-POLITICS-ANALYSIS-PIX.html

Forbes.com, 27 Jun 2009

ANALYSIS-Singapore seeks to manage political change