• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Remember our childhood CNY Eve Firecrackers?

uncleyap

0466E32B.002C

This is today's PRC!

Look at the ammunition on stand by! :p:p:p

When I was little the CNY eve cracker sound never stopped the entire night. Especially mid-night absolutely no one will get sleep. It was live firing exercise! The next morning the entire road surface were covered red, same color as our favorite Ang Paos! Wah Piang eh.... those days are gone!

My family used to shoot fireworks from balcony of our old home, into a deserted concrete casting workshop field across the street. Very safe.

now cannot lah

80% live in HDB

country so packed shoot here shoot there will start fire

use virtual firecracker safer lah

don't dwell on the past. It's never going to return back again.

We have to keep moving forward...

now cannot lah

80% live in HDB

country so packed shoot here shoot there will start fire

use virtual firecracker safer lah

Beijing also used to ban but already lifted.

There is no longer any valid excuses to ban this and that all base on lame safety talks.

If SAF can do live firing of real weapons in SG and safety can be handled that means firecrackers safety can also be handled. You only need to designate a safe firing zone and some safety rules and instruction and measures, as usual.

;)

don't dwell on the past. It's never going to return back again.

We have to keep moving forward...

We can!

When famiLEE LEEgime is game over, we must revert many things.

I also propose to revert the casinos.

I will make it my manifesto that games & gambling & sports & entertainment to be control under a new act. All forms of gambling must be non-profit and 100% for charity and there must be statutory limitations to the extend one can be immersed into these obsessions.

;)

Uncle Yap

I was talking more about the nostalgia feeling.

We enjoyed the firecrackers because it was our childhood, the age of youth and innocence...

even if we can set firecrackers again, you won't enjoy it as much like when you were young, the childhood friends whom you played and set firecrackers with are long gone, the memories are bitter sweet when you realised so many years have passed and there's no turning back now.

I'm right in the centre of Bangkok now, though far away from Yaowarat. I can hear 'explosions' but no sure if it's coming from firecrackers or bombs.

Uncle Yap

I was talking more about the nostalgia feeling.

We enjoyed the firecrackers because it was our childhood, the age of youth and innocence...

even if we can set firecrackers again, you won't enjoy it as much like when you were young, the childhood friends whom you played and set firecrackers with are long gone, the memories are bitter sweet when you realised so many years have passed and there's no turning back now.

I see.;)

Childhood will never come back to us.:p

But some time we can re-live our childhood from looking at the younger generation. This CNY I took my nephews around and share the family memories with them, telling them how we used to spend our CNY, and stories of my old pets which were dead before some of the younger kids were born. Firecrackers will be exciting stories for today's Singaporean kids, they can only enjoy these outside LEEgime's island now.:(

I'm right in the centre of Bangkok now, though far away from Yaowarat. I can hear 'explosions' but no sure if it's coming from firecrackers or bombs.

You just reminded me about the bloody bastard Japs invaded SGP during CNY in 1941:(:mad::mad: KNN Japs!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Singapore

Fall of Singapore

Lt Gen Yamashita (seated, centre) thumps the table with his fist to emphasize his terms — unconditional surrender. Lt Gen Percival sits between his officers, his clenched hand to his mouth.

By the morning of Chinese New Year, 15 February, the Japanese had broken through the last line of defence and the Allies were running out of food and ammunition. The anti-aircraft guns had also run out of ammunition and were unable to repel any further Japanese air attacks which threatened to cause heavy casualties in the city centre. Looting and desertion by Allied troops further added to the chaos in the city centre.<sup class="reference" id="cite_ref-Generals_At_War_18-0">[19]</sup>
At 9:30 a.m, Percival held a conference at Fort Canning with his senior commanders. Percival posed two alternatives. Either launch an immediate counter-attack to regain the reservoirs and the military food depots in the Bukit Timah region and drive the enemy's artillery off its commanding heights outside the town, or capitulate. All present agreed that no counter-attack was possible. Percival opted for surrender.

it is good that these are ban,
because crackers burn up oxygen
the same thing we are breathing, and need to survive.

using up oxygen means more green house gas and end of humanity.

it is wise to ban such useless practise that is damaging to the enivornment.

things about all those pets , in fear during these noisy times, think about the cleaner who have to clean these things up. think of those kids who blow up their hand, their dream to be a surgeon gone in a moment of folly.

harry lee is right to ban such useless activities. he should go one step further and ban burning hell notes and incense, it too harm the enivornment. he should also ban shark fin, because it is killing the sharks.

Funny i saw this thread, yesterday my dad and mum relived part of their childhood when they saw all the fireworks and firecrackers going on at the stroke of midnight. This was in JB, for once in my life, i enjoyed the fireworks and the view for the first time. My dad was so happy, he said he hadn't seen so many firecrackers for so many years and always felt something was missing since they banned it in SG. My mum was so happy too.

It was so beautiful and we sipped tea and ate "bak kwa" while we saw all those "kong ming deng or tian deng" people released. It was really beautiful as we were situated on a hill and truly a sight to behold.

The sights from our 2nd floor balcony was really amazing, it sounded a bit like a war zone with so many booms and flashes in the horizon but it got everyone excited as everyone sought to outdo each other with more and more dazzling displays of fireworks. It only ended about 2am but still sporadic fireworks still took place.

We drove downhill at about 3am and went for a nice meal at an Indian coffeeshop, it was very close to our place and while eating, new bursts of fireworks took place near us to our surprise and wonderment.

It was a very memorable one for us and my wife who was recovering from a recent family tragedy smiled at last.

My dad, who never really bothered with me when i was young, specially made red date tea for the first time ever for me today and said he was very happy this CNY. It was special for them. All the blood, sweat and tears were worth it and i will gladly go through it again to see his and my mom's smile.

Funny i saw this thread, yesterday my dad and mum relived part of their childhood when they saw all the fireworks and firecrackers going on at the stroke of midnight. This was in JB, for once in my life, i enjoyed the fireworks and the view for the first time. My dad was so happy, he said he hadn't seen so many firecrackers for so many years and always felt something was missing since they banned it in SG. My mum was so happy too.

It was so beautiful and we sipped tea and ate "bak kwa" while we saw all those "kong ming deng or tian deng" people released. It was really beautiful as we were situated on a hill and truly a sight to behold.

The sights from our 2nd floor balcony was really amazing, it sounded a bit like a war zone with so many booms and flashes in the horizon but it got everyone excited as everyone sought to outdo each other with more and more dazzling displays of fireworks. It only ended about 2am but still sporadic fireworks still took place.

We drove downhill at about 3am and went for a nice meal at an Indian coffeeshop, it was very close to our place and while eating, new bursts of fireworks took place near us to our surprise and wonderment.

It was a very memorable one for us and my wife who was recovering from a recent family tragedy smiled at last.

My dad, who never really bothered with me when i was young, specially made red date tea for the first time ever for me today and said he was very happy this CNY. It was special for them. All the blood, sweat and tears were worth it and i will gladly go through it again to see his and my mom's smile.

Bravo! Enjoy your CNY!
;):)