• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Public Order Act slammed by New York-based rights group

Shin Orochi

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Jan 21, 2010

Public Order Act slammed

<!-- by line --> By Kor Kian Beng

sg-limyonh.jpg

A New York-based rights group has criticised Singapore's new Public Order Act, which gives the police powers to compel a person to move on and refrain from returning to a designated spot for up to 24 hours. -- ST PHOTO: LIM YONG

A NEW YORK-based rights group has criticised Singapore's new Public Order Act, which gives the police powers to compel a person to move on and refrain from returning to a designated spot for up to 24 hours. In its World Report 2010 released yesterday, Human Rights Watch (HRW) said the new law has effectively negated an earlier move by the Government to relax rules at Speakers' Corner in Hong Lim Park.

Since September 2008, police permits are no longer required for protests or gatherings at Speakers' Corner, as long as subjects on race and religion are not touched on, and foreigners do not organise or take part in events held there. But the HRW said this move was countered by the Public Order Act, passed in April last year, because it requires permits for 'cause-related' activities, no matter how many people are involved.

Said Mr Phil Robertson, its deputy Asia director, in a statement: 'Singapore should have the confidence to trust its people with full freedom of expression, assembly and association, and recognise that their participation is critical for the country's continued prosperity.' However, under the Act, outdoor activities promoting or supporting a cause do not require police permits if they are held at Speakers' Corner in Hong Lim Park.

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

Fuck the American! Freedom of expression is a piece of shit!

No you are the shit pappy doggy. Now that you've been assed by me, how does it feel? What are you going to do about it? Go around whining and start a thread to play the blame game? :D:D:D

:D:D:D

Said Mr Phil Robertson, its deputy Asia director, in a statement: 'Singapore should have the confidence to trust its people with full freedom of expression, assembly and association, and recognise that their participation is critical for the country's continued prosperity.' However, under the Act, outdoor activities promoting or supporting a cause do not require police permits if they are held at Speakers' Corner in Hong Lim Park.

That is the direct effect on being balless. You are a coward and that is how you are being deal with. Sorry MR USA, i know it is a total turn off when you look at how sinkies runs a country and how the sinkitizens are being deal with. YEs, it is very primitive.

ha ha ha.....you too had been assed by me, and you did nothing.....becos you feel shiok rite ......... he he he .......:D:D:D

Hehehe.. the other day when i assed all your clones you couldn't even let out a whimper. So pathetic! :D:D:D Come to cloning and flaming you are miles behind me. Tiiiiiiiiiiiuuuuuuu :D:D:D

fuck u lah,,only sdp dog like u like to listen to command!! come and ban me you ballsless one man clone! ass uur ugly mother ng ejay:D

44 years of nation building and the by product is this?

I worry for Singapore! :D

Why don't the Americans tell Malaysia how to rein in their mudlehs? FUCK AMERICA!

who cares! they should have a public order for the greedy bankers at wall street