• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property Gains Tax and Inheritence Tax lai liao!

nayr69sg

Staff member
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...x-could-tackle-wealth-inequality-in-singapore

SINGAPORE - The chief of Singapore's central bank said there may be a need for a property gains tax or an inheritance tax to address wealth inequality in the Republic, which he noted will worsen over time if price increases in private housing consistently outstrip that in public housing.

To promote an inclusive society, it might make sense to shift the balance in Singapore's tax structure away from taxing income towards taxing wealth, said Monetary Authority of Singapore managing director Ravi Menon on Thursday (July 22) at an Institute of Policy Studies lecture.

He said the widening wealth gap across the world has historically been driven most strongly by property investments.

Those with higher incomes can afford larger investments in real estate, and the substantial value appreciation they enjoy over time is not available to those with lower incomes and smaller outlays for housing.

Singapore has data in relation to employment income. However, as Mr Menon noted, it does not have good data on wealth.

But it would appear that the wealth gap is widening here to some extent, although the heavy subsidisation of public housing and high rate of home ownership would have mitigated some of the divergence in housing wealth.

"In very few countries do most citizens have the opportunity to enjoy capital appreciation in housing assets as we do in Singapore.

"But if price increases in private housing consistently outstrip that in public housing, wealth inequality will worsen over time, even if not to the same extent as in many other countries."

While Singapore's wealth taxation has become more significant and progressive over the last 10 years, he said, there is probably room to go further in that direction to promote an inclusive society. He added that a wealth tax could take the form of either a property gains tax or an inheritance tax.

Both are currently not imposed here.

However, Mr Menon cautioned, taxing wealth has not worked well in many countries.

Citing the example of 12 European countries which levied an annual tax on net wealth in 1990, he said that by 2018, eight out of these 12 countries had abandoned the tax, citing high administrative costs, risk of capital flight, and, ironically, failure to meet redistributive goals.

"This is not necessarily a reason for not imposing a wealth tax but a strong caution that designing a good wealth tax is not a trivial exercise," he said.

can backdate all these inheritance tax and estate duties to 2008 when it was removed?

Cannot lah. You should know why.

I think they waiting for when LHL and HC pass away already then can implement inheritance tax.

Property gain tax....maybe they will divest property first before they implement?

Anyway I doubt this will be popular in SG lah. So wont happen. Those HDB dweller dont have to worry since their flat will go to $0 anyway. LOL! :laugh::laugh::laugh:

Menon was saying "But if price increases in private housing consistently outstrip that in public housing, wealth inequality will worsen over time, even if not to the same extent as in many other countries."

The reality is that the tax on public housing is......100%!!!!! Albeit after 99 years. LOL! :laugh:

What nonsense the PAP farkers are doing? Want to be progressive?

Convert all freehold properties to 99 year leasehold. It will immeadiately equalise wealth and narrow GINI.

will cause billionaires hiding their ill gotten gains to balk.

Frivolous taxes, fees and fines to replenish depleted govt coffers. See also: selling govt bonds. :wink:

Or as the Tiongs call it... it's 割韭菜 time. :biggrin:

P.S: whenever you see lofty and noble-sounding abstract concepts such as 'address inequality' or 'promote inclusiveness', recognize that as their sales pitch. The truth is that they just want to fuck you in the ass (not literally). That's all.

What nonsense the PAP farkers are doing? Want to be progressive?

Convert all freehold properties to 99 year leasehold. It will immeadiately equalise wealth and narrow GINI.
@Papsmearer

What effect will there be if they convert FH to 99 year private?

I think minimal right? Just need to renew every 99 years. Also the condos are made to last forever.

I was thinking Canada also got property gains tax 50% of gains is taxed. But Toronto and Vancouver property still go up.

Then I remembered oh for principal residence no tax.

So actually SG can do that too.

Only property gains tax for the properties owned that is not your principal residence.

I was thinking Canada also got property gains tax 50% of gains is taxed. But Toronto and Vancouver property still go up.

Then I remembered oh for principal residence no tax.

So actually SG can do that too.

Only property gains tax for the properties owned that is not your principal residence.
Canada implemented capital gains tax in or around 1972. The amount eligible has changed or varied from 50 per cent of the gains to 75 per cent.
The Canadian government also tightened the principal residence being exempt from capital gains tax, to one principal residence per family unit. It used to be one spouse owns the house, and the other spouse owns the cottage. I cannot remember which year (probably when Alan MacEachern was the Liberal Minister for Finance)
I believe that Singapore will probably implement a capital gains tax, and allow the principal residence exemption, and there will lots of business for valuators.

CB,those clowns make weonh decision spend on covid on foreigners n PRs ,now sinkies hv to pay bavk,song bo,even pigeon hole pass to cbildren also want tax ,fxxx them ,now 61% very song cos they hv condo to let the dogs to tax,evening savings of dead also tax,cpf remainder also tax,think medisave also tax,CB

Luckily I practice 躺平主义 for decades so these desperate measures of the PissAndPoop don't bother me one bit.

The chief of Singapore's central bank said there may be a need for a property gains tax or an inheritance tax to address wealth inequality in the Republic

Must be Ah Neh's thinking...

Impossible to implement unless entire ASEAN move in tandem. None of the first asean members have capital gsins nor inheritance tax.

It appears that the government repealed the estate tax, a few years before a wealthy lawyer passed away.
Did that wealthy lawyer looked like a horse and her hearse was on a gun carriage?

Well, there is no corruption in Sg.

@Papsmearer

What effect will there be if they convert FH to 99 year private?

I think minimal right? Just need to renew every 99 years. Also the condos are made to last forever.
The poster who mentioned in was intending to do it to equalize the GINI. But as usual, its a lazy numb nuts style of thinking that is what characterizes sinkies. Instead of turning all freehold property into 99 year lease, why not turn all 99 year lease HDB flats into freehold? That will really equalize the GINI more, because the lowest class will suddenly own freehold property, and it will devalue the current freehold properties which are usually owned by rich owners.

converting FH to leasehold will never work in singapore, because almost all the ministers own FH properties in the prime areas like Binjai Park. Also, they own many investment FH condos and what not. Its very unlikely they will convert to make themselves poorer.