• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Private Jet for YOG flame

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Private Jet for YOG flame</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>egusick <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Aug-7 2:57 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 22) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>37145.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Does anyone have the tail number of the private jet or a picture of the private jet chartered for the YOG flame? From the tail number I can find out who owns the jet, the type of jet and the estimated cost of hiring the jet. Generally if its true that a private jet was hired for this trip, the hire cost for a medium/large private jet which takes about 7- 12 persons can be about S$11,000 to S$12,000 per hr. Total costs could easily come to half a million dollars for the jet hire depending on hours flown. Was using a private jet really necessary or was this just another lame excuse for a jolly at taxpayers expense???

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>egusick <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Aug-7 3:56 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(5 of 22) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>37145.5 in reply to 37145.4 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Managed to find out from blog shown below details of the aircraft, photos, ownership etc:
http://singapore-lighthouse.blogspot.com/2010/08/yog-business-jet-was-chartered-for.html
In summary, the G550 business jet YOG chartered is registration HB-JEV. It was chartered from a Swiss air charter company called G5 Executive. The G550 is the very top of line private jet built by Gulfstream USA. It costs over USD50 million to buy and is chartered out at about USD10,000 per hr, minimum. Based on the itinerary shown in the blog i.e from Berlin to Singapore via Africa, New Zealand, Korea etc I think it must have flown 50-60 hrs. That�s a total cost of USD600,000. Plus the cost of painting the aircraft with YOG logos and than painting it back, crew hotels , meals and other miscell etc I would think it would have cost Singapore taxpayers about a Million US dollars for this aircraft!!!!

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle>Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>BALANCEMIND2 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Aug-7 8:07 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>egusick <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(9 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>37145.9 in reply to 37145.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>>>I would think it would have cost Singapore taxpayers about a Million US dollars for this aircraft!!!!<<

According to news report, the journey of the Flame alone will cost S$7m OK. You are very conservative.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>BALANCEMIND2 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Aug-7 8:07 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>egusick <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (9 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>37145.9 in reply to 37145.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>>>I would think it would have cost Singapore taxpayers about a Million US dollars for this aircraft!!!!<<

According to news report, the journey of the Flame alone will cost S$7m OK. You are very conservative.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>BALANCEMIND2 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Aug-7 10:03 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>egusick <NOBR></NOBR>unread</TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(16 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>37145.16 in reply to 37145.14 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>So it seems that cost of private jet is $1.5m with the rest of $5.5m being entertainments and other expenses hard to account for. :)) Like that no wonder they have overshot the budget by 4x and still keep on smiling and grinning with that comical relay now going on. Think about when we overshot the budget alloted to us by our boss for a project by just 0.10x we will get a telling off outright and here with a first class government labled as the best that money can buy they can overshot their budget by almost 400% and the citizens just lan lan.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

at first they planned to use single engine cessna
then later they changed their mind

that's why the budget ballooned lor :)

vbb.jpg

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/08/gulfstream-jet-for-yog-flame-at-what-price/

From Singapore Lighthouse blog:

The original price tag of the Youth Olympic was S$122m and the new price tag is now S$387m. According to news report, the journey of the Flame alone will cost S$7m.

The Chinese news portal Xinhua.net (good to have a strong ally with you after taking their excess citizens who will then remit their S$ back to China) had a photo of our chartered Youth Olympic Game Gulfstream G550 Business Jet in the Youth Olympic Game Color.

Chartering a private jet is not simply buying a ticket in a First Class seat. You pay for the Aircraft Hours, the pilots hours, the grounding handling fees etc. All thousands of dollars per hour, at least…. (not to mention the cost of painting the YOG livery on the G550)

I was wondering how much of the S$7m was spend on chartering of the business jet? (G550 Tail number HB-JEV was chartered from Swiss aircraft chartering company G5 Executive)

Read the full article and see the pictures here.

—————–

From Yawning Bread:

13413617_41n-300x204.jpg

As the opening ceremony was in progress on the north bank of Marina Bay, some kind of Youth Olympics carnival was going on on the south bank, just in front of The Sail building. Its centrepiece was a huge concert arena with perhaps 1,500 seats laid out, and in which a band was playing. I took this picture:

bay.jpg

the hire cost for a medium/large private jet which takes about 7- 12 persons can be about S$11,000 to S$12,000 per hr. Total costs could easily come to half a million dollars for the jet hire depending on hours flown. Was using a private jet really necessary or was this just another lame excuse for a jolly at taxpayers expense???

1. Singapore so small, why need to hire a private jet to transport the flame :confused:

2. For overseas transport, cannot put flame in SIA flight meh:confused: What a waste of money to hire a private jet

Obscene amount of money spent

Chartering SIA will be much cheaper

I wonder who was involved in this plan and who was paid commission
Should be investigated by CID

I think open flames are not allowed on commercial flights.

What? I didn't realize it is open flame!:eek:

They don't need to charter a big jumbo jet, just a small jet - but maybe SIA do not have such jets.

Maybe they can charter a small jet from maybe United Airlines, those used in dosmetic flights and the jet will be used solely for the flame.

If not, they might consider this plane:

4270203239_2917207810_z.jpg

21st Century and they're still using manual method to transfer the flame from Athens to Singapore ?

Why can't they use a satellite ? A laser emitted to a satellite and let the satellite reflect the laser to Singapore.

Vivian, you're not good enough for the job.

It is OK to use the private jet. Their itinery has to be planned. What is not OK is the amount spent! There is about $2million that seems to be unaccounted for.

Vivian says that every dollar will be accounted for. Let's see which honest reporter or politician will take it upon themselves to ask for a cost breakdown so that Vivian will be made to eat his words.

Question to ask is how is the Olympic flame travelled. Olympics is MUCH LARGER than youth Olympics and I believe that flame is in a small miner's type lamp in a special container put on a business class seat or kept in the captain's cabin. I do not see why we have to be so wasteful to hire a corp jet to fly round the world - just imagine the carbon footprint of this. Must also ask who went along for this round the world holiday on 1st class corp jet.

Engineers employed by Ansett developed a cradle that fit into a business class seat. This held a miners lamp type device in an upright position, as the lamp was designed to extinguish the flame if tipped. There were two of these units in each aircraft that carried the flame. What people didn't know about was the fact there was always a flame on a second aircraft should anything happen to the orginal two lamps.

Question to ask is how is the Olympic flame travelled. Olympics is MUCH LARGER than youth Olympics and I believe that flame is in a small miner's type lamp in a special container put on a business class seat or kept in the captain's cabin. I do not see why we have to be so wasteful to hire a corp jet to fly round the world - just imagine the carbon footprint of this. Must also ask who went along for this round the world holiday on 1st class corp jet.

Engineers employed by Ansett developed a cradle that fit into a business class seat. This held a miners lamp type device in an upright position, as the lamp was designed to extinguish the flame if tipped. There were two of these units in each aircraft that carried the flame. What people didn't know about was the fact there was always a flame on a second aircraft should anything happen to the orginal two lamps.

We need to ask:
1. Who got to fly on private jet and how were they chosen?
2. Give breakdown of the entire journey and the costs involved.
3. How often were the ministers/officials flown back and forth from spore to god knows how many countries to lend their support. And at what costs (private jet, 1st class or business class)
4. What kind of accomodation and duration of stay in those countries. Any R&R activities?
5. Any travel & food allowances and how much?

I suspect the Jet is hidden from Singaporeans all these decades and meant to use for LEEgime to run road when the worms of PAP corruption are found out.