• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Precautions to take at JB car washes

• Thread starter Thread starter General Veers
  • Start date Start date
G

General Veers

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="560"><tbody><tr><td valign="top" width="350">
20091228.170727_car.jpg
</td> <td width="5">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="left" valign="top" width="200"> <table> <tbody><tr> <td height="81">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr><td class="content_subtitle" align="left"> Tue, Dec 29, 2009
The New Paper </td> </tr> <tr> <td height="15">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td align="left" valign="top">
but_printfriendly.gif
</td> <td height="15">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="right" valign="top"> <form action="emailToFriend.jsp" method="POST" name="emailToFriendForm"> <input name="emailToFriendPageURL" value="/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=435c00fe874d5210VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=7949b9a9bf322110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD" type="hidden"> <input name="emailToFriendStoryLink" value="http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owners/Others/Story/A1Story20091228-188497.html" type="hidden">
but_email.gif
</form> <script> function openEmailA1AdminWindow(emailToFriendForm) { var emailToFriendPageURL = emailToFriendForm.emailToFriendPageURL.value; emailToFriendForm.action = emailToFriendPageURL; emailToFriendForm.target="_blank"; emailToFriendForm.submit(); } </script> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3"> <!-- TITLE : start -->
Precautions to take at JB car washes
<!-- TITLE : end--> </td></tr> <tr><td colspan="3" height="15">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3" class="bodytext_10pt"> <!-- CONTENT : start --> By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof

JOHOR Baru car washes are popular with Singaporean drivers, because their charges are generally cheaper. Petrol stations in Singapore with car washes charge between $6 and $8 for a car wash.A polish can cost up to $200. In JB, a car wash costs RM8 ($3.50), while a full polish costs about RM80 ($35). Mr Stanley Ong, 31, a civil servant who has been washing his car in JB for the last five years, said: "You will need to build a rapport with the staff so that they will look after your car even when you're away." Two car wash attendants we spoke to said car thefts were uncommon. Most Singaporeans, who usually come at night, wait as their cars are being washed, said one attendant Mr Mizan. Sometimes, owners leave their cars unlocked, but will not leave their keys behind.

Said Mr Mizan, a 25-year-old Bangladeshi who works at one of the many car washes along Jalan Datuk Abdullah Tahir: "I have been working here for two years and I have not come across such cases. I think our system is secure. You have a higher chance of getting your car stolen at a shopping mall carpark than at a car wash." Mr Mizan said when he gets a vehicle, the owner's particulars are taken down as a precaution. In early December, Singaporean Seow Wei Hua was killed when a car driven by a car wash staff reversed into the 31-year-old accountant. He had been sitting on a sofa at a waiting area of a car wash at Jalan Tombak, a five-minute drive from where Mr Neo's car was stolen.

This article was first published in The New Paper.

</td></tr></tbody></table>

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="560"><tbody><tr><td valign="top" width="350">
20091228.163452_car1.jpg
</td> <td width="5">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="left" valign="top" width="200"> <table> <tbody><tr> <td height="81">
blank.gif
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr> <td align="left"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td align="left" valign="top">
but_printfriendly.gif
</td> <td height="15">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="right" valign="top"> <form action="emailToFriend.jsp" method="POST" name="emailToFriendForm"> <input name="emailToFriendPageURL" value="/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=8cdb00fe874d5210VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=7949b9a9bf322110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD" type="hidden"> <input name="emailToFriendStoryLink" value="http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owners/Others/Story/A1Story20091228-188495.html" type="hidden">
but_email.gif
</form> <script> function openEmailA1AdminWindow(emailToFriendForm) { var emailToFriendPageURL = emailToFriendForm.emailToFriendPageURL.value; emailToFriendForm.action = emailToFriendPageURL; emailToFriendForm.target="_blank"; emailToFriendForm.submit(); } </script> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3"> <!-- TITLE : start -->
Thieves drive off with S'porean's Merc at JB car wash
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3" class="bodytext_10pt"> <!-- CONTENT : start --> By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof
THE Singaporean businessman's jaw dropped when he heard what the car wash worker told him. "Your friend already collected your car," the worker told him in Malay. The businessman was confused. How could that be? The only friend he was with was another Singaporean who had been having supper with him after they had dropped off his luxury car at a car wash in Jalan Datuk Abdullah Tahir in Johor Baru (JB). The businessman, who wanted to be known only as Mr Neo, was furious. He realised that someone had given his car key to a stranger, who had then made off with his car. Now his Mercedes Benz E200, which he had bought two years ago for $180,000, was gone. Said Mr Neo, 34: "I was upset. How could he have passed the key to someone else other than me?" The Singaporean driver declined to give his full name for fear of possible reprisals from car theft syndicates.

Apparently, an unidentified Chinese man had asked for the key to Mr Neo's car, a worker at the car wash had told him. Thinking that he was Mr Neo's friend, the worker had given the man the key. The incident prompted Mr Neo to contact citizen- journalism website Stomp. Mr Neo told The New Paper on Sunday that he and his Singaporean friend were driving back from Malacca to Singapore after a business trip on 13 Dec. The pair arrived in JB at about 11.30pm. Mr Neo then drove his brown Mercedes into one of the many car washes along Jalan Datuk Abdullah Tahir. The road is in an area famous for its entertainment and late-night eateries.
On weekends, many Singaporeans can be seen at the stretch of 24-hour car wash joints, a 10-minute drive from the Causeway. There are more than 10 car washes along Jalan Datuk Abdullah Tahir.

'Nameless' centre
The one that Mr Neo pulled into was, however, a nameless establishment. Only a small sign in Malay which said Cuci Kereta or car wash hung above the open-air business. Mr Neo, who was visiting the car wash for the first time, said he did not think twice about leaving his car behind as there were other Singapore-registered cars in the queue.

20091228.171020_car1.jpg
</td> <td width="5">
blank.gif
blank.gif
blank.gif
but_printfriendly.gif
</td> <td height="15">
blank.gif
</td> <td align="right" valign="top"> <form action="emailToFriend.jsp" method="POST" name="emailToFriendForm"> <input name="emailToFriendPageURL" value="/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=c3ac00fe874d5210VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=7949b9a9bf322110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD" type="hidden"> <input name="emailToFriendStoryLink" value="http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owners/Others/Story/A1Story20091228-188498.html" type="hidden">
but_email.gif
Many have suffered the same fate
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr><td colspan="3" class="bodytext_10pt"> <!-- CONTENT : start --> CAR thieves have made clean getaways in places other than a car wash. In November, Ms Claire Gwee, 29, had her 18-month-old Mitsubishi Colt Plus stolen at Aeon Tebrau City Shopping Centre, a 20-minute drive from the Causeway. She had parked her car at the shopping centre's basement carpark.On 18 Sep, Singaporean Khalid Shikh Abdul Rahman had his Honda Civic stolen from the basement carpark of Jusco Tebrau, a shopping centre. Some car thieves have resorted to violence too. In 2007, parang-wielding robbers ambushed Singaporean Fareed Hassan in Johor Baru by ramming the back of his car. It later led to a 45-minute beating session after the robbers found out that Mr Fareed, who was then 28, had only RM10 ($4.50) on him. The armed men later fled with Mr Fareed's $40,000 car and valuables worth $3,000.

Still, the Malaysian authorities have assured Singaporeans that Johor is still a safe place to visit. In a 2006 news report, statistics compiled by the Johor Police showed that in recent years, car thefts involving Singapore cars have been negligible. Mr N Parameswaran, High Commissioner of Malaysia to Singapore, had then said: "In 2004, of the 1,381 cars reported stolen in Johor, only 33 (2.39 per cent) were Singapore-registered cars". The following year, only 52 (3.7 per cent) out of the 1,394 cars reported stolen were Singapore-registered. In January and February 2006, of the 264 car thefts reported, only three were from Singapore, he said.

This article was first published in The New Paper.

Got money to buy merc. No money to wash car in Singapore. Now you know why bosses keep telling the gahmen that they cannot afford to pay sinkies market rate salaries.

it is best not to go to johor. spend the money in signapore and help the economic.

Precautions to take at JB car washes ...
tok so much ...

title say precautions 2 take ... but where got tel ppl wat precautions 2 take? ... :rolleyes:

lemme put in ze precaution 4 dem ...

precaution 2 take: dun drive ur car 2 jb ...

>>It later led to a 45-minute beating session after the robbers found out that Mr Fareed, who was then 28, had only RM10 ($4.50) on him.<<

Next time must standby $1,000 in wallet for people to rob. Otherwise will get complimentary bashing from robbers! U have been warned hor!

decorate your car with fierce designs so they dare not rob your car lor

they only rob those people who are management level getting high pay and only know how to attend meetings after meetings

>>It later led to a 45-minute beating session after the robbers found out that Mr Fareed, who was then 28, had only RM10 ($4.50) on him.<<

Next time must standby $1,000 in wallet for people to rob. Otherwise will get complimentary bashing from robbers! U have been warned hor!

Sorry u wanna support u support urself...

I have a huge family to support....

If I dun take risk cut cost here n there then I really must sell car leow and carry all my babies in my arms n beg people to give up their seats in Mrt and buses leow...

The achelons have the best life!!!

The best precaution is DONT GO JB ! Sarpork ur own country !

SINgapore, car drivers are Cheapskate, cars are Better to steal, & they can steal it FASTER!!

Go to car wash that provide drive thru service (like those singapore car wash). Owner drive to washing bay where cleaners snow and water jet the car. Owner then drive out for other cleaner to dry his/her car. Like this, owner wont get knock down liao... hehe. I recently went to JB, Skudai where i found this caltex station that provide this service. Hardly saw any in JB car wash doing the "Singapore style".