• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC XinHuaNet's LEEgime rotan cane & jail story

uncleyap

http://news.xinhuanet.com/overseas/2009-10/30/content_12360109.htm

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="660"><tbody><tr><td class="txt18" colspan="2" height="66" align="center"> 中国男子新加坡三度寻妻 抵触移民法令琅?入狱
</td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="2" height="22" align="center"> 2009年10月30日 11:49:08  来源:中国新闻网 </td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#000000"> <td colspan="2" align="center">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#ffffff"> <td colspan="2" height="2" align="center">
blank.gif
</td> </tr> <tr bgcolor="#003483"> <td class="hei12" bgcolor="#ededed" height="26" width="344" align="center">
【字号  留言 打印 关闭
</td> <td class="hei12" bgcolor="#ededed" height="20" width="300"> <table class="hei12" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" height="26" width="290"> <form name="Form2000" method="post" action="" enctype="text/plain" onsubmit="return validate_form()"></form> <tbody><tr> <td class="navy" width="81">【Email推荐:</td> <td class="navy" valign="middle" width="209"> <input name="FriendEmail" style="width: 100px; height: 16px;" type="text"> <input name="Subject" value="提交" style="height: 18px;" type="submit"> <input name="Context" type="hidden"> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td height="18" width="100%">
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> <table id="myTable" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="650" align="center"> <tbody><tr> <td class="p1"> [FONT=楷体_GB2312] 据新加坡《联合早报》报道,30日是杨和平的57岁生日。一心想见妻子和女儿的他,三度千里寻妻女,结果三次都因抵触新加坡的移民法令,被关进牢房。[/FONT] 来自中国的杨和平,为了筹旅费,把当地的房子抵押。他答应84岁的老母亲即使找不到妻女,也会在年<!--ADV_CONTENT-->底回家,处理房子须在年底搬空的事。可是,他今年8月第三次犯法,被判坐牢13个月,得等到明年5月才能服完刑期。
他29日向高庭上诉要求大法官陈锡强让他提前回家,但遭大法官驳回。不过,大法官考虑到他的背景,劝告他写信给总统要求特赦。
杨和平上诉时,一把鼻涕一把眼泪地阐述他的背景,说女儿今年12岁,他在中国得供养老母和一名因车祸而残疾的儿子。

2003年间,他的妻子吴玉兰(31岁)告诉他,新加坡的教育制度举世闻名,她想把当时6岁的女儿送来新加坡念书。
他把房子抵押,把8万人民币(约1万6400新元)交给妻子,妻女在当年5月到新加坡。开始的几个月,妻子还联络他;他说想探望她们,妻子不同意,后来就失去联络。
他过后听同乡说,妻子已和一男子同居。他难以接受,用刀捅腹自杀不遂。2005年间,他借钱到本地寻找妻女,却找不到,因逾期逗留超过90天,被判坐牢六周兼罚款2000元,并被令一年内不得入境。
2006年11月间,在一年多后,他申请来新加坡被拒,就从马来西亚偷渡来新加坡。不料抵新10天就被捕,被判坐牢两个月兼罚款2500元。他被遣送回国时,以为那次也是一年内不准入境。

</td></tr></tbody></table>
今年5月,他接到女儿的电话,申诉吃不饱,经常被骂和关在房子里,要他接她回家。他着急得很,再把房子抵押,花两万人民币(约4100新元)通过中介从马来西亚再次偷渡来新。
他按女儿所说的到蔡厝港组屋找妻女,却找不到,到一些学校走动也徒劳无功。他白天只吃一点饭,晚上睡组屋楼下。8月1日,他在一所学校外的组屋椅子睡觉时被抓,扣留至29日已89天。
杨和平指移民与关卡局的资料,有他妻女在新加坡居留的资料,却一直找不到她们。
他这回被控两项罪,一项指他非法入境,一项指他被禁入境后再入境,分别被判入狱12周兼罚款2500元,以及坐牢13个月,两项罪状刑期一并执行。
他在写给大法官的上诉书中说,他以为这回犯法离上个判刑已超过两年,最多只会判坐牢两个月,没想到刑期会这么长。
他知道初庭法官给予轻判,但他难以接受家破人亡、妻女离散和一年多刑期的沉重打击。杨和平上诉时非常激动,甚至一度掀开囚衣要让通译员看他自杀不遂的刀伤,证明所说的句句属实。他说,他并非不服判决,只求早日回家,并表明不会重返新加坡。
大法官告诉他,他其中一项被禁入境后再入境的罪状,必须强制坐牢至少一年,上诉庭也无能为力,无法修改法令规定。
他劝告杨和平回监狱时写信给总统,看总统能不能给予特赦。大法官说:“你知道在新加坡,必须遵守法律……
杨和平即刻打断,哭道:“我给老婆骗了,房子也卖了……”
大法官说:“这是法庭无法帮你解决的问题。我是法律的执行者,所以根本无法为你的上诉做些什么。”
杨和平进而说:“我没有心脏病,可以打鞭。我房子卖了,12月得回去处理房子的事……”
显然地,他希望可以被鞭以缩短刑期。不过新加坡法律规定,50岁及以上的男子豁免鞭刑。(人名译音)

律师:杨和平获特赦机会渺茫
受访的律师认为,杨和平获得总统特赦的机会渺茫。
当律师近40年的朱时生说,杨和平可以尽量把自己的情况和要求全部提出来让总统考虑,但是总统不可能同意让他以鞭刑代替坐牢。这是因为我国法律不允许年龄超过50岁的男子被鞭,即使年过50岁的杨和平愿意受鞭,总统也不可能答应。
此外,据他所知,本地也没有以鞭刑换取缩短刑期的先例。
另一名不愿具名的律师也认为,理论上杨和平可以要求特赦,但是成功机会很低。他印 象中,只有一个获得特赦的例子,即1993年美国学生迈克菲在新加坡涂鸦破坏公物,被判鞭打六鞭。当时的美国总统克林顿出面要求新加坡已故前总统王鼎昌赦 免这个少年,结果迈克菲的鞭刑从六鞭减为四鞭。(傅丽云)

uncleyap

China man tricked by his wife who came to SG with 12 yr old daughter, took his money and left him with old mother plus one disabled son, & won't go back to PRC.

He was arrested and jailed 3 times for years here. CJ Chan told him to write to Prata man for pardon. He did. He ask prataman to cane him in commuting the sentence, but prataman said he is above 50 yrs old can not cane his backside, asked him to stay in jail. He tried to kill himself.

He sneaked here via Malaysia by selling his house, and left behind 84 years old mom and disabled son. His wife moved around in SG to avoid him. His daughter called him in PRC from here to say that she had been shut in tiny room and had been hungry. That drove him to come back to SG desperately.

His wife took daughter here, because she was fascinated by famiLEE LEEgime's famous Education System. (I can not laugh, but it's really hard to control).

myo539

His wife took daughter here, because she was fascinated by famiLEE LEEgime's famous Education System. (I can not laugh, but it's really hard to control).

Of course you cannot laugh at the poor English translation, or the confusing story here and there.

What you can laugh of course is that you have taken advantage of Lee's regime famous Education System by learning impeccable English so much so that you can laugh at the poor PRC couple. Shouldn't you change place with the PRC man?

methink

Good story.

Reminds me similiarly of a pariah gahmen who abandons its citizens to fend for themselves. Claims to be First World standard but treat its citizens as third rate and useless. Many compelling complaints and sobbing tales which the 144th prostitutes wont want ppl to know!

TeeKee

The LAW is COLD, only Jesus Grace is the Greatest!

According to Singapore's "Lianhe Zaobao" report, on the 30th is a 57-year-old Yang Heping birthday.

Bent on seeing his wife and daughter, went thousands of miles to seek his wife and daughter, was thrown into prison thrice for violation of Singapore's Immigration Act. Yang Heping, from China, mortgaged his house in order to raise travel money. He promised his 84-year-old mother, even if he can not find his wife and daughter will return home at the end of the year to deal with the house to put a closure to things.

However, the third time in August this year, he committed an offence and was sentenced to prison for 13 months, and has to wait until next year in May to serve out his sentence.

He was on the 29th to the High Court appeal for Justice Chan Sek Keong let him go home early, but his appeal was dismissed by the judge. However, the judge, taking into account his background, recommended that he wrote to the president and advice on amnesty.

During Yang Heping's appeal, with tears pouring out described his background, said his daughter is 12-year-old this year, and he has to take care of his old mother and a son who was disabled because of a car accident who are both in China.

In 2003, his wife, Yu-Lan Wu (31 years old) told him that Singapore's education system is world-famous, and she wanted to
sent her 6-year-old daughter to Singapore to study. He mortgaged the house, and gave 8 million RMB (about 16.4 thousand dollars) to his wife, his wife and daughter arrived in Singapore during that year in May.

They remained in contact for a few months, When He said that he would like to visit them, his wife did not agree, then they lost contact.

Later, his hometown friend told him that his wife is living together with another man. It was difficult for him to accept it,
and he stabbed his belly in an unsuccessful suicide attempt. In 2005, he borrowed money to seek for his wife and daughter,
but he was unable to find them. Because he exceeded the 90 staying period, he was jailed 6 weeks and fined 2000 yuan and banned from entering Singapore within 1 year.

More than a year later during Nov 2006, he was refused visa to come to Singapore. So he illegally came to Singapore from Malaysia. After arriving 10 days later, he was arrested again and sentence to 2 months jail and was fined 2500 yuan. He was sent back, he still assumed that he was also denied entry for a year.

This year in May, his daughter called him and complaining that she didn't have enough to eat, are often scolded and being locked up in the house, asking him to take her home. He was very anxious and re-mortgage his house and spent 20,000 yuan (about 4100 dollars) through an intermediary to enter Singapore from Malaysia illegally again.

His daughter told him to find them at Choa Chu Kang HDB estate to find his wife and daughter, but was unable to find them.
He also went to some schools to find her but also to no avail. During the day, he ate a little rice, and slept at HDB void decks.

On August 1, while he was sleeping in a HDB void deck chair, outside a school, he was arrested and detained to 29, had been 89 days.

Yang Heping claims the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority has information about his wife and daughter in Singapore, but he still could not find them. This time he was charged with two crimes, one accused him of illegal entry, another was violation of banned from entering Singapore, were sentenced to imprisonment for 12 weeks and a fine 2,500 yuan, and another for 13 months in prison, a sentence of two counts to run concurrently.

In his written appeal to the High Court Judges, he wrote that his current offence was already more than 2 years after his previous sentence, the most he could get was 2 month jail, unexpectedly, this time it was much longer.

He understood that the subordinate courts judges may give out lenient sentences, but it was too difficult for him to accept his family broke down, wife and daughter leaving him and a year of sentencing dealt a heavy blow to him. During Yang Heping's appeal, he was very emotional and traumatic, until a point he wanted his interpretor so see his unsuccessful suicide wounds by opening his prison clothe, to show that he was speaking the truth.

He said that he was not dissatisfied with his conviction, but his only wish is to return home as soon as possible, and that he would never return to Singapore.

High court judges told him that after he violated the banned entry, it is compulsory that he get at least one year in jail, the Court of Appeal is unable to do anything, can not modify what the law has written.

He advised Young Heping after returning to the prison wrote to the President, to see the President could grant him an amnesty. High court judge said: "You know that in Singapore, we must abide by the law ... ..."

Yang Heping immediately interrupted, crying: "I was cheated by my wife, and have sold my house ... ..."
Justice said: "This court can not help you solve the problem. I am the enforcer of the law, they simply can not do anything for your appeal." Yang Heping further said: "I do not have heart problem, you could cane me. I have sold my house, and have to be back in December to deal with the house thing ... ..."

Apparently, he hoped to shorten the sentence by receiving the cane. However, under Singapore law, men aged 50 and over are exempted from canning.

SR Nathan

This PRCian also foreign talent meh?

Eh, just because I highest paid cho bo lan President donch mean can suka suka appeal hor.

I tellch you I no hue how?