• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC Singaporean screwed by Singapore

UltimaOnline

Source :
http://frankcomment.blogspot.com/2009/11/how-singapore-appreciates-prc-talent.html

All the talk about PRC scholars remind me of my classmate in NUS. He was born and bred in China. He had arrived earlier with his parents and attended JC and did well. Unlike the PRC scholars, he spoke decent English and he had no problem mingling with Singaporeans. In fact, he prefers to hangout with us than those fresh from China, even though he is very brilliant and very driven, and that made him more like the PRC scholars than the Singaporean slackers (like me). In fact, he was so brilliant he was the "go to" guy for PRC scholars who needed help with school work.

And, even though he is strictly speaking a first generation PR, he served National Service.

An exemplary foreign talent, don't you think? A model new citizen? And for all the hard work he put in, what did Singapore offer him? Well, Singapore offered to screw him.

Since he was not recruited via "rigorous interviews" held in China, he was not entitled to apply for the PRC scholarship, even though he proved himself worthy by aceing the "A" levels. This is not the case, for example, for ASEAN scholarships. Irregardless of the route you took to enter NUS, as long as you are a non-Singaporean citizen of ASEAN, you can apply for the ASEAN scholarship.

And either because his Singapore citizenship did not arrive fast enough, or because some scholarship boards referred him to the PRC scholarships, he did not manage to get any scholarship at all. I had trouble knowing the details because he was always eye-bulging mad when he talked about it.

This is the stark reality of Singapore. Be a non-committal tourist like Zhang Yuan Yuan and enjoy the best of both worlds, or embrace Singapore and get screwed, like my friend.

He was incredibly bitter about his situation throughout his four years in NUS, and immediately upon graduation, found a great job in US and never returned since.

So, what is the lesson learnt here? Don't be stupid and serve NS, since Singapore will not appreciate it? The biggest benefit of the Singapore citizenship, ironically, is that it allows you to find a job and migrate to developed countries easily?

Honestly, I cannot help but feel that our whole foreign talent policies are being run by people who are not thinking very far.
Posted by Jimmy Mun at 8:30 PM

Source :
http://frankcomment.blogspot.com/2009/11/how-singapore-appreciates-prc-talent.html

basically, tis shows ze mentality of prcs ...

if me dun get wat me want, me hv no qualms of leaving u asap ...

tiz time iz din get scholarship ... next time it wud b ... if he cant get a promtion/bonus/raise, next ting he woks out on ur coy ...

cooleo

basically, tis shows ze mentality of prcs ...

if me dun get wat me want, me hv no qualms of leaving u asap ...

tiz time iz din get scholarship ... next time it wud b ... if he cant get a promtion/bonus/raise, next ting he woks out on ur coy ...

Come on let's be realistic. If one day u migrate to Australia, and they screw u the same way, wouldn't you leave?

Something wrong with this case. If he did ace his A levels, he would have got a scholarship. The guy must know it but does not want to say it.

Privpho

I concur. It's not just a simple matter of nationality here. Probably did not meet the scholarship board's other criteria?

takcheksian

This PRC is obviously carrying wrong surname.

I bet he is surnamed Xu2 (Chee).

If he gai3 ming2 huan4 xing4, maybe to something like Li Guanglong (Lee Kuan Loong), confirm scholar already.

cunnosieur

PRC Bank Exec

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Happen to be at waterloo street doing some bank transaction yesterday lunch time, was told by the counter staff to wait for 15min to half an hour. Went out for a quick puff and saw this gal leaning on my car talking on her phone. The moment she lift up her head, I was WOW..... Not bad leh. She smile back and say sorrie, I told her to carry on leaning in a joking way. We chatted awhile and got to know that she just arrived 3 weeks ago working at the Bank which I just went. So I try to date her out for a drink and she say OK (My Lucky Day).

Pick her up after her work at 5.30pm and we went downtown for dinner. I was trying my best to test water (NO LUCK). We headed to Boat Quay for a drink after dinner and I told myself this time DIE DIE also must ask. All of a sudden, she burst into tear (ALCOHOL EFFECT), saying she misses her parent. I try to console her and told her not to think so much. Time passes and we are now more open up, I pop up the question to her:

Me: Why dun you try to earn more money while you are in SG?
She: How to?
Me: Do part time lor.
She: What is part time?
Me: Must I go into detail, then you can understand.
(Slient for a while) and (Burst into laughter)
She: How much am I worth in your eye.
Me: Hard to say, depends on how good are you.
She: How much do you want to give me, if I say OK to you.
Me: 150 lor (Man Ego).
She: If I am good to you, you give me more is it?
Me: Let see how good are you.
Me: How???
She: Can try. Is it now?
Me: Now lor. If not when?
She: Where?
Me: I bring you there.

10.45pm we check into a hotel at chinatown and the rest is story.....

Name: Txxx Xxxx
Look: 7.5 (Young office exec look)
Stats: 34B / 24 / 34 (I think so)
BBBJ: Yes for me
FJ: 9 (good moaning)
Painting: Yes for me
CIM: No
AR: No
AJ: No
Attitude: Very anticipating
Damage: 150 / 1shot
Overall: Good
RTF: Yes for sure (Bonking a Pretty Bank Exec)

180px-Bankofchina-sg.JPG

images

http://www.sammyboyforum.com/welcome...bank-exec.html

TeeKee

This is the stark reality of Singapore. Be a non-committal tourist like Zhang Yuan Yuan and enjoy the best of both worlds, or embrace Singapore and get screwed, like my friend.

So, what is the lesson learnt here? Don't be stupid and serve NS, since Singapore will not appreciate it? The biggest benefit of the Singapore citizenship, ironically, is that it allows you to find a job and migrate to developed countries easily?

可欲不可求, 靠天意(a.k.a. God), 顺其自然吧!

Seee3

Something wrong with this case. If he did ace his A levels, he would have got a scholarship. The guy must know it but does not want to say it.

Last year alone, more than 600 JC students got all 5As (inclusive of GP). "Ace A level" nowadays is no big deal.

All these would have been covered by scholarship as the GLC are part of the scholarship umbrella. Close to 50% do not take up any scholarship because they parents can afford it and they want to migrate overseas. All Ivy League provide scholarships as well for perfect scores. Grade of 44/45 in IB will guarantee you a in-house scholarship. Then there are those such as medicine, where parents prefer them to take it overseas.

Bear in mind, PM sons 2 years did not have perfect score, only 43 but still got OMS. The same applied to other who did not have perfect score.

The reason why scholarships are thrown at foreigners is because such a % of singaporeans don't want it.

Take the newly appointed CP. He got the appt by default. The good ones resigned early or moved to prestigious positions in the civil service. There was no one left.

Thats why the PRC chap story is a bit suss. Could be an integrity thing or something in his past. s

Last year alone, more than 600 JC students got all 5As (inclusive of GP). "Ace A level" nowadays is no big deal.

Seee3

Yes, but he would have got a scholarship even with a GLC if he aced his A levels.
The situation is totally different from our time. All As can't even get into NUS law not to mention getting a scholarship. It is very competitive. To get a scholarship now, CCA record and interview skill are critical. Out of these 600 over of "All As" students there are about 200 of them who also got distinction/merit for extra subjects (they call H3). So if this chap did not take any extra subject, he will be far behind the queue.

Agree and I am also aware of H3 and the other factors. I took "aced it" at its face value.

The situation is totally different from our time. All As can't even get into NUS law not to mention getting a scholarship. It is very competitive. To get a scholarship now, CCA record and interview skill are critical. Out of these 600 over of "All As" students there are about 200 of them who also got distinction/merit for extra subjects (they call H3). So if this chap did not take any extra subject, he will be far behind the queue.