• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC man adopts dog for $350 and sells for $4000

ps07857

FT businessman.... LHL's dream of young entrepreneurs... what a fine example. I lived in this country my whole life.... never thought or heard about something like that... most Singaporeans probably never thought about this kind of idea.... WTF.... how do this scums get these ideas?:confused:

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...og_for_350_and_tries_to_sell_it_for_2000.html

STOMPer Elaine is appalled to find a puppy that they rescued from an Ubi factory being put up for sale at $2,000 by a PRC man who adopted it from them. This is apparently not the first time that the man is selling rescued dogs for exorbitant profits, says the STOMPer.

In the online classifieds ad, the man claims that he paid "almost $4,000" for the 2-month-old Great Dane puppy, and is willing to sell it for half the price "due to family matters".

The STOMPer said the man only paid $350 in adoption fees to cover the puppy's food and boarding, and to deter adopters from abandoning it again.

In the STOMPer's email dated Oct 12:

"We recently rescued some puppies from potential culling at an Ubi factory, and after fostering them to proper health put them up for adoption.

"This person who adopted one of the dogs brought him home and subsequently posted this dog for sale online at a profit.

"After much trawling online I found out that this is not the first case of this same PRC male adopting rescued dogs and putting them up for exorbitant profits.

"We will likely be making a police report against this person once we confirm the dog is the same dog we re-homed."

In an online update dated Oct 10, the STOMPer reported that a man has paid a deposit of $200 to the PRC man and brought the dog home. The buyer later found out about the scam online and will be bring the puppy to the STOMPer for identification tomorrow (Oct 13).

is there a PAP law against it? i dun think poodle will care about such things. basically, we can blame the sinkies who are willing to pay 4000 dollar for a shit.

ok ...

now gt 10 yr series model answer oredi ...

is there a PAP law against it? i dun think poodle will care about such things. basically, we can blame the sinkies who are willing to pay 4000 dollar for a shit.

PAP law is got open eyes or not when making deal.

The buyer later found out about the scam online and will be bring the puppy to the STOMPer for identification tomorrow

How will the stomper identify? He tattoo the dog or plant elctronic chip :p

Those dogs he can't sell for $4K should supply the meat to hotpot restaurants

PAP law is got open eyes or not when making deal.

1. well, sinkies open eyes and learn from the true ah tiong entreprenuership.
2. spring sin, edb, wda, job credit, pls wait in line.
3. no match!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thats a finders fee. Nothing wrong with that.

Sinkess get screwed by MIW's who pay them $400 but get screwed by $40,000....:p

What's new, with Ah Tiong logic?...no need to pay money to attend motivation or marketing school... zhong guo..wan shui..wan wan shui!;)

Huh?? Wats the big deal?? Papaya take from most of us 30k... tell us it medisave but end up dis cnot claim tat cnot claim die oredi oso cnot take... tis then really ish de top notch work frm the master lar... buy $350 sell $2k... amatuer lah... still mus cum out $350 to buy 1st.... still mus wait n pray got carrot head... alamak... :D:D

The issue here is one of ethics. It is similar to the NKF case but on a much smaller scale. People donated to the NKF thinking that the money will help the patients but little did they know that most of the money would be spent on those running the charity and withheld from those who need it the most. Is it any wonder why people are now more hesitant to donate to charities?

In this case, the dog was put up for adoption in good faith hoping that it will go to a good home rather than sold for profit. To profit from this is to abuse the trust. Although it is not against the law, it causes social structure to degenerate to the lowest common denominator. Do people not wish to aspire to something more noble than basic survival? Perhaps just like LKY said, it is all some highfalutin crap and we can all forget about forging some kind of national bond.

At the end of the day, I guess that is the wish of the people, otherwise, PAP would not be in power to this day.

About such cases, I wonder if we are all not indulging in the politics of envy! Just because somebody beat us to the game, we get envious and angry and ask "hey, now why didnt I think of that?" We get even angrier after learning that it was a PRC chap. As Mah Bow Tan said, "Willing buyer willing seller". The Sinkie is a real sucker for falling for it. And the dog factory should have sold it to the PRC in the first place for $4000! That could have robbed him of some steam and snatched the wind from its sails. And the dog factory cld have earned a nice profit to support its mission.

Seriously, the authorities should start registering dogs and their owners. Dogs can be implanted with an RFID chip to track and identify them in case they are dumped illegally, etc. Maybe DNA samples of the dogs shld be also kept so that poo samples can be ID to the respective dogs and thence to their owners- to be fined if they allow their pets to poo all over the shop without picking up. That will save a lot of heat between dog owners and users of public spaces.

Just because somebody beat us to the game, we get envious and angry and ask "hey, now why didnt I think of that?" We get even angrier after learning that it was a PRC chap. As Mah Bow Tan said, "Willing buyer willing seller". .

I for one am not envious of such scams, that exploit animals or humans for profit. Maybe its because I'm part of the older generation who've owned cats & dogs. I'm sure there are many uncles & aunties who do share my feelings :)

Obviously PRCs attitude towards exploiting animals are different. After all dog meat is eaten in China :rolleyes:

At least he buy low and sell high...unlike Ho Ching buy high and sell low, long term becomes wrong term becomes no term.

Excellent articulation of points.

The issue here is one of ethics. It is similar to the NKF case but on a much smaller scale. People donated to the NKF thinking that the money will help the patients but little did they know that most of the money would be spent on those running the charity and withheld from those who need it the most. Is it any wonder why people are now more hesitant to donate to charities?

In this case, the dog was put up for adoption in good faith hoping that it will go to a good home rather than sold for profit. To profit from this is to abuse the trust. Although it is not against the law, it causes social structure to degenerate to the lowest common denominator. Do people not wish to aspire to something more noble than basic survival? Perhaps just like LKY said, it is all some highfalutin crap and we can all forget about forging some kind of national bond.

At the end of the day, I guess that is the wish of the people, otherwise, PAP would not be in power to this day.

Ethics cannot pay the bills and flesh traders don't have conscience, ethics or morality to speak of.

Good points you have there but in this pragmatic and realistic society, we shall find peace to leave it to karma to bite the seller's arse.

This is what i called smart, our gov also like that mah, strictly business :p:p:p:p

FT businessman.... LHL's dream of young entrepreneurs... what a fine example. I lived in this country my whole life.... never thought or heard about something like that... most Singaporeans probably never thought about this kind of idea.... WTF.... how do this scums get these ideas?:confused:

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...og_for_350_and_tries_to_sell_it_for_2000.html

STOMPer Elaine is appalled to find a puppy that they rescued from an Ubi factory being put up for sale at $2,000 by a PRC man who adopted it from them. This is apparently not the first time that the man is selling rescued dogs for exorbitant profits, says the STOMPer.

In the online classifieds ad, the man claims that he paid "almost $4,000" for the 2-month-old Great Dane puppy, and is willing to sell it for half the price "due to family matters".

The STOMPer said the man only paid $350 in adoption fees to cover the puppy's food and boarding, and to deter adopters from abandoning it again.

In the STOMPer's email dated Oct 12:

"We recently rescued some puppies from potential culling at an Ubi factory, and after fostering them to proper health put them up for adoption.

"This person who adopted one of the dogs brought him home and subsequently posted this dog for sale online at a profit.

"After much trawling online I found out that this is not the first case of this same PRC male adopting rescued dogs and putting them up for exorbitant profits.

"We will likely be making a police report against this person once we confirm the dog is the same dog we re-homed."

In an online update dated Oct 10, the STOMPer reported that a man has paid a deposit of $200 to the PRC man and brought the dog home. The buyer later found out about the scam online and will be bring the puppy to the STOMPer for identification tomorrow (Oct 13).

The Chinese are smart. But for employees I wouldn't want them to be too smart though.