• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Popular nightspot 57 Chevy in Katong shuts down

nutbush

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/popular-nightspot-57-chevy-katong-shuts-down

He was constantly interrupted during the short 20 minute interview.

One regular patron said: "I will feel so lost when this place closes, Leonard. Where do I go now?"

Another said: "I guess all good things must come to an end, huh?"

Yet another patron wanted a photograph.

All wanted to tell Mr Leonard Rezel, one of 57 Chevy's four owners, that they will miss the place.

Friday was the popular Katong nightspot's second last day as it was unable to renew the lease.

Somebody had bought over the land occupied by Katong Village, Mr Rezel, 57, explained. It first opened its doors to the public in 2005.

When The New Paper visited 57 Chevy on Friday, it was packed.

The crowd, mostly in their 50s, was dancing to Bon Jovi, Earth, Wind & Fire and even Foster The People covers performed by That's Life, one of the bar's two resident bands.

FAMILY BONDING

Ms Grace Chai, 37, who had frequented 57 Chevy the past four years, saw the cosy environment as her "refuge" and "second home".

"My dad passed away last year, and I had to deal with a failed relationship, too. I ran to Chevy for comfort. I found a family again," she said.

Others, like Mr Gabriel Lim, 60, sang their hearts out, taking swigs of beer between songs.

"They play our kind of music - disco," said the general manager at a safety equipment company who first visited the bar some eight years ago.

But in recent years, 57 Chevy had also become a place for family bonding, with his 21-year-old daughter and her boyfriend joining Mr Lim and his wife occasionally.

"The band can play songs from the 70s and also from the present," he said.

"They can even play my daughter's favourite Bruno Mars number."

Of the bar's inevitable closure, Mr Rezel, who plays the guitar with That's Life, said: "All these people in their 40s, 50s and 60s come here because it's safe to have a good time here."

He has tried to apply for entertainment licences in the area but failed.

The only place that was available was near the Singapore Indoor Stadium, but Mr Rezel said he could not afford the high rent and initial down payment of $120,000.

"I would still need to renovate the space and all that. I had to let it go because we didn't have that kind of money, " Mr Rezel said, shaking his head.

"People living in the suburban areas need their music, too. They can't afford to go to town, which is mainly for youngsters and can get a little too expensive.

"Over here, it's Orchard Road quality music at a fraction of the price."

[email protected]

ya jah...i go there occasionally....the music is loud but not bad....Leonard the lead guitarist and Dudley the keyboardist are good musicians and do good solos.

Never heard of this place at all. So any of you lao jiaos heard of it?

so it's located here

<iframe marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="https://www.google.com/maps?q=112+E+Coast+Rd&layer=c&sll=1.305511,103.904622&cbp=13,148.43,,0,4.63&cbll=1.30556,103.904418&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=112+E+Coast+Rd,+Singapore+428802&ll=1.305844,103.904625&spn=0.006071,0.007929&t=m&z=14&panoid=liKW1D5mQqS_AMWSiTRAOA&source=embed&output=svembed" frameborder="0" height="350" scrolling="no" width="425"></iframe>
<small>View Larger Map</small>

..i go there occasionally....the music is loud but not bad....Leonard the lead guitarist and Dudley the keyboardist are good musicians and do good solos.
Thought you were the resident garbage man, or empty beer can/bottles collector. Honest living from your heydays of ill-gotten income as Katong's OKT :p

lol...chevy's is located where the former joo chiat police station used to be...katong 112 used to be a wet market.....ahh...my old OKT days.

Thought you were the resident garbage man, or empty beer can/bottles collector. Honest living from your heydays of ill-gotten income as Katong's OKT :p

must be one of those old timers hang out joints but since it isn't well known it's more of a place for locals to catch up. Since this isn't a chinese theme type of pub i suppose it's slightly higher up the scale.

It's quite well known for the locale. I've never gone in there before though. Went to the pub opposite across the parking lot way back in 2010 for one night when I received news that Ray Anthony was performing for that one night only. Was really good watching him after a long absence. The previous time I saw that guy on stage was at the Ion Bar in Apollo Hotel during the eighties. Old timers leh.

Never heard of this place at all. So any of you lao jiaos heard of it?

not so many....cos this place mostly locals.....many lonely chiobus go elsewhere to scout ...or they try online and get scammed.

After you read the news report of the crowd being in their 50s and the fact that they couldn't interview any youngsters but just an account of an oldster who managed to get his kids to hang out there well it's not actually a "cool" place.

It's quite well known for the locale. I've never gone in there before though. Went to the pub opposite across the parking lot way back in 2010 for one night when I received news that Ray Anthony was performing for that one night only. Was really good watching him after a long absence. The previous time I saw that guy on stage was at the Ion Bar in Apollo Hotel during the eighties. Old timers leh.

The thing is there are many local pubs and bars in singapore. Ah seng's pub in geylang for example would actually not raise any eyebrows. You put ah seng's pub say in chua chu kang nope nobody would care either but it would get a bunch of ppl together usually ppl of the night that like to drink. The diff is somehow a local pub like 57 chevy is due to close and for some silly reason it isn't an ah beng type of pub gets to make it to the news while ah sengs pub closes and nobody notices. Put in some ang moh name like chevy and combine it with say an obsecure number that bears no relation to anything and it becames slightly upper class compared to ah bengs pub and comeon 70s music. :rolleyes:

For some really really unknown odd fucking stupid reason old ang moh music is considered upper class compared to old chinese music.

Should convert it into a gay club. The pink dollar is good for the economy. Don't believe, go ask Pinky.

[video=youtube;JLMvf-CykGc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JLMvf-CykGc[/video]

Should convert it into a gay club. The pink dollar is good for the economy. Don't believe, go ask Pinky.

You want lawrence khong to kpkb again?

Location is at katong la. There will always be pubs and clubs there. Sure i know there are clubs with different themes like those in tanjong pagar that will be openly gay. I am sure there are gay pubs already in existence in katong area. Full of shit skins i believe.

Izzit the one with lots of pinay pussies ard??

i remember someone telling me there's some hotel with a whole bunch of pubs basically orchard towers pinay version at the east.

It's near roxy square. I just forgot the name of the place.