• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Poor management of Singapore Airport transit resulted in covid-19 in Korea

If you read the article you'll quickly realise just what a mild infection Covid-19 is in the vast majority of those infected.

Not surprised. Sinkieland is the epicenter of covid-19 in SEA. Why do people still want to come? Or transit here? Dumb fucks! Stay the fuck away!

Because most people are smart enough to know that Covid-19 is but a minor ailment.

If you read the article you'll quickly realise just what a mild infection Covid-19 is in the vast majority of those infected.
Sam, now that we're a few months in and some of the numbers are coming back and they don't support your stance that Covid is that mild. Case fatality rate according to CDC is 52x higher than seasonal flu. :eek:

1595838702774.png

https://www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-death-rate-us-compared-to-flu-by-age-2020-6?r=US&IR=T

While you may argue that in absolute terms it's not that bad except for the pensioner crowd, 52x is something people should and will take note of.

Sam, now that we're a few months in and some of the numbers are coming back and they don't support your stance that Covid is that mild. Case fatality rate according to CDC is 52x higher than seasonal flu. :eek:

View attachment 87481

https://www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-death-rate-us-compared-to-flu-by-age-2020-6?r=US&IR=T

While you may argue that in absolute terms it's not that bad except for the pensioner crowd, 52x is something people should and will take note of.

Those are the case fatality rates not the infection mortality rates and cases are undercounted. Actual cases are way higher because up to 80% of those infected have no symptoms whatsoever.

The CDC has already estimated that the overall mortality rate is 2x to 3x more than an average influenza year and about the same as a bad influenza year.

https://in.dental-tribune.com/news/...-death-rate-to-just-0-26-as-against-whos-3-4/

To illustrate this take a look at this article. It reports the EXCESS deaths caused by influenza for the 2017/18 flu season.

Compare this with the Covid-19 deaths in the UK which currently stands at 45,837 and you will see that the number of deaths caused by flu is of the same order as the number of deaths that have been caused by Covid.

My question therefore is that if there are no lockdowns for the flu why are countries locking down because of Covid?

telegraph.co.uk

Ineffective flu jab blamed as extra winter deaths hit 40-year high
Laura Donnelly, Health Editor 30 November 2018 • 11:15am

1 minute

The number of winter deaths last year the hit highest level in more than 40 years after the failure of last year’s flu jab.
There were an estimated 50,100 excess winter deaths in England and Wales in 2017/18 - the highest recorded since winter 1975/76, figures from the Office for National Statistics show.
The number of excess winter deaths observed in 2017/18 was higher than all years since the 1975/76 winter period, when there were 58,100 extra deaths. The last peak was in 2014/15, when there were 43,850 excess deaths - which was the worst figure since the millennium.
Compared with recent years, excess winter deaths observed in 2017/18 were 45.1 per cent higher than the 2016/17 winter and more than double that seen in 2015/16....

The government has been promoting how well manage country we are.
Do you want to go Malaysia or Indonesia or Philippines instead??
Moreover last election pap win majority and this show the international Singapore is stable too.
In reality outsider won't know what's real in Singapore.
But mass media show them a wonderful picture.

Don't forget that Sinkieland was the chief exporter of a strain of Covid-19 which killed many Italians. :wink:
Mamma mia! Gold standard! :biggrin:

LB-GRAPHIC-VIRUS-TYPES.jpg

main_1500.jpg

Originally, all the covid-19 came from Wuhan China... They are the cause of it all!

The government has been promoting how well manage country we are.
Do you want to go Malaysia or Indonesia or Philippines instead??
Moreover last election pap win majority and this show the international Singapore is stable too.
In reality outsider won't know what's real in Singapore.
But mass media show them a wonderful picture.
They can simply refer to https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/ and know that sg is bad news!:eek:

Don't forget that Sinkieland was the chief exporter of a strain of Covid-19 which killed many Italians. :wink:
Mamma mia! Gold standard! :biggrin:

LB-GRAPHIC-VIRUS-TYPES.jpg

main_1500.jpg
Yalor, what have the Italians ever do to us that we be so cruel to them?! I mean they make shit cars. but that's not good enough a reason to want to wipe out the country.

alamak! now so many countries are blaming Sinkapoor for spreading the virus. Thailand, Malaysia, South Korea... who's next?

I don't see why SG is bad news because whatever strain Singapore is infected with has caused only 27 deaths which works out to case fatality rate of less than 0.07% which means it is milder than the flu. Dengue has a higher mortality rate.
Visitors to sg will almost certainly become infected, become a superspreader once they get home. Their healthcare system may not be as good as ours, leading to a high fatality rate. Just look at how we almost wiped out the entire Italian population!

The Italian situation was way overblown. By this time next year we will have found that there were very few excess deaths in Italy or anywhere else for that matter.

Your optimism is much appreciated, quite uplifting even. By this time next year we all may not around anymore!:eek:

Use your brains lah how can COVID that can seemingly spread so fast and then be divided clean into ABC got logic ? I really don't know what to say about y'all and this farking ridiculous nonsense other than being amused ...... y'all don't think do ya ?

Those are the case fatality rates not the infection mortality rates and cases are undercounted. Actual cases are way higher because up to 80% of those infected have no symptoms whatsoever.

The CDC has already estimated that the overall mortality rate is 2x to 3x more than an average influenza year and about the same as a bad influenza year.

https://in.dental-tribune.com/news/...-death-rate-to-just-0-26-as-against-whos-3-4/
I went to look at the article from the Indian Dental Tribune that you mentioned. It's data is a bit older. Latest numbers are :

Parameter values Table 1
ParameterScenario 1Scenario 2Scenario 3Scenario 4Scenario 5:
Current Best Estimate
R0*2.02.04.04.02.5
Infection Fatality Ratio, Overall†0.0050.0050.0080.0080.0065
Percent of infections that are asymptomatic§10%70%10%70%40%
Infectiousness of asymptomatic individuals relative to symptomatic¶25%100%25%100%75%
Percentage of transmission occurring prior to symptom onset**35%70%35%70%50%

Numbers are somewhat higher than mentioned in the report.

Regarding case vs infection fatality. Yes I agree case numbers are an estimate. It could go either way. Case fatality could be an underestimate because people are dropping dead without testing positive or it could be an overestimate because people are running around without showing symptoms at all. I don't know how or what testing coverage is like, but the CDC's own estimates arising from these infection rates are much higher than would be expected. I'm including it again for easy reference :

1595848262192.png

Please note that both the new IFR and this table reference data that supercedes the Indian dental tribune's data.

Assuming that the CDC is it's own best judge as to how they estimate their testing coverage, who am I to argue?

Nonetheless, your Indian dental tribune rebuttal has no comparative data with the flu virus and doesn't disprove the above chart. The data above is the CDC's own for both.

To illustrate this take a look at this article. It reports the EXCESS deaths caused by influenza for the 2017/18 flu season.

Compare this with the Covid-19 deaths in the UK which currently stands at 45,837 and you will see that the number of deaths caused by flu is of the same order as the number of deaths that have been caused by Covid.

My question therefore is that if there are no lockdowns for the flu why are countries locking down because of Covid?

telegraph.co.uk

Ineffective flu jab blamed as extra winter deaths hit 40-year high
Laura Donnelly, Health Editor 30 November 2018 • 11:15am

1 minute

The number of winter deaths last year the hit highest level in more than 40 years after the failure of last year’s flu jab.
There were an estimated 50,100 excess winter deaths in England and Wales in 2017/18 - the highest recorded since winter 1975/76, figures from the Office for National Statistics show.
The number of excess winter deaths observed in 2017/18 was higher than all years since the 1975/76 winter period, when there were 58,100 extra deaths. The last peak was in 2014/15, when there were 43,850 excess deaths - which was the worst figure since the millennium.
Compared with recent years, excess winter deaths observed in 2017/18 were 45.1 per cent higher than the 2016/17 winter and more than double that seen in 2015/16....

The numbers are similar. But the situation isn't. Your flu article sources excess WINTER deaths. We're not in winter yet where the flu is at it's peak. Rather the disease has hit just as spring has sprung (pardon the pun). I can't be sure, but I think you're comparing numbers for flu post-peak and Covid pre-peak. If that's the case, there's this old saw about counting chickens before they've hatched.

We're about the halfway mark for the year for this virus and you could approximately double the deaths assuming linear growth. However, we all know that diseases do not spread according to linear growth do we? If it follows geometric growth, we could be in a heap of more fatalities. Plus we will be going into winter.

Since we're pulling data from other sources, why not go straight to the end point. How we deal with dead bodies.

So far all sources indicate that institutions dealing with death are far busier than normal. And they attribute this to the virus.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2...puts-pressure-on-crematoria-and-morgues-in-uk

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/02/nyregion/coronavirus-new-york-bodies.html

if death institutions are busier than normal, would that be the case every winter as well from the flu? you would think they would have raised capacity by now.

Well for now I advise caution and I certainly don't envy those who have to make decisions for the whole country without fully knowing how this virus behaves.