• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee to host "live" forum with 12 S'poreans on CNA forum

†††††

PM Lee to host "live" forum with 12 S'poreans on CNA
By S Ramesh | Posted: 08 April 2011 1847 hrs
phpaNohBt.jpg

SINGAPORE: Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is hosting a "live" TV forum, engaging a panel of 12 Singaporeans from a cross-section of the population on a wide range of topics.

The forum will be shown "live" at 8pm on Channel NewsAsia next Tuesday on April 12.

The hour-long programme is called "Question Time with the Prime Minister" and topics for discussion include social, political and long term issues facing Singapore.

MediaCorp said for the first time, viewers are invited to send in their questions for the Prime Minister during the forum via SMS or email and he will address some of the questions during the"live" programme.

The microsite for the programme at channelnewsasia.com/questiontime is now available for viewers to send in their queries for the forum. Online viewers can also catch the webcast "live" at the microsite.

In addition, netizens can choose to put in their messages on Facebook.com/questiontime.

Channel NewsAsia Presenter, Melissa Hyak, is moderating the discussions with the panel representing many sectors of society.

They include a grassroots leader, a unionist, a businessman, a young professional, a polytechnic student, a university student, a retiree, a blue-collar worker, a political commentator, a journalist, a social worker and a new citizen of Singapore.

Executive Producer Tan Lek Hwa, said: "With election excitement in the air, we want to provide another platform for the man in the street to be able to give voice to the questions or comments that they have always wanted to air, but never had the opportunity.

"Together with the good cross section of representatives that we have lined up on the panel, the diverse mix of views and questions should make for a robust discussion with the Prime Minister."

The forum will telecast at the following times: Channel NewsAsia on Tuesday, April 12, 8pm (Sin/HK) with encore telecasts on Friday, April 15, 6pm (Sin/HK) and Sunday, April 17, 7.30pm (Sin/HK). It will also be shown on Channel 5 on Friday, April 15 at 8.30pm.

-CNA/ac

jbsmith

Possible to kelong?

Choose the 12 to ask the "right" question?

Pick the "right" question from the viewers to answer?

:confused::confused:

palden

He not scared la. No need to choose questions or answers. Sinkies just bark and show teeth but cannot bite.

blackmore

Possible to kelong?

In Singapore context, how many sane Singaporean would believe that this show would not be staged despite what it claims by CNA.

Given Looney's track record of screwing up here and there on live tv; how would the show be a no holds bar event, remember "fix the opposition" and the "mee siam mai hum".

cooleo

Possible to kelong?

"Why is PAP so successful and capable, Dear Prime Minister?"

"When can we expect your son who has unlimited potential to takeover the reign?"

kingrant

Definitely a wayang show lah. It's also another platform for the PAP to continue to sell its propaganda for the GE. They need every avenue to repair damages and own goals kicked by their SM.

Force 136

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/T9JK9Ans6lc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

PM says netizens got no standard...... adds nothing to debate.... no quality...

Maybe he got higher standards..... you all no good lah....

This doesn't mean anything. Remember the great feedback shit of 2000? You can say whatever you like, and stick it as much as you want, but as long as nothing actually changes, who cares? There is no need for the forum to be staged; on the contrary the more authentic the better. Stick it to the PM and feel shiok. Laugh at his inability to answer on the fly. And then grin and bear it for another four years as after the election the PAP is once more ushered in with another resounding mandate. As long as the resounding mandates continue, the PAP can continue opening up as much as they like, let you shoot as much as you want, because the bottom line is, nothing changes.

Varuna

Like Ip Man who one man fought against 10 black-belters. PM will be taking against 12. It will be an impressive speech again! I doubt the Uni student, Seah Yin Hwa, who grilled him with cold-sweat questions will be invited this time. Anyway, after all these years, we have seen enough of repetitive tactics to sweet-talk voters by politicians. I never enjoyed prepared speeches or debates because I knew I would never believe every word of it. :biggrin:

ivebert

Like Ip Man who one man fought against 10 black-belters. PM will be taking against 12. It will be an impressive speech again! I doubt the Uni student, Seah Yin Hwa, who grilled him with cold-sweat questions will be invited this time. Anyway, after all these years, we have seen enough of repetitive tactics to sweet-talk voters by politicians. I never enjoyed prepared speeches or debates because I knew I would never believe every word of it. :biggrin:

Fucking Peasant Sinkie Thinking

You think Obama will invite a republican supporter to debate with him on TV?

kingrant

The way Pinky held his left hand - so thoroughly effeminate. Aiyoh, think his genes got messed up with his sis.

a Grassroots leader, - Boot polisher (Pro-PAP)
a unionist - most likely from NTUC Lim swee say camp (pro-pap)
a businessman - trying to reap beneift, another grassroot camp (pro-pap)
a young professional, - hopefully not some elitist kid like Wee Shu Min (pro-pap)
a polytechnic student -
a university student -
a retiree - some senior retirees from Silver Serpent (pro-pap)
a blue-collar worker,
a political commentator - hopefully not Eugene Tan again (pro-pap)
a journalist, - this one no need to guess (pro-pap)
a social worker - if you want fundings from govt better be (pro-pap)
a new citizen of Singapore - must be grateful for given citizenship freely (pro-pap)

I believe 9 out of 12 are carefully selected not to give Lee Hsien Loong too much stress.

2 students and 1 blue collars will be outnumbered by pro-pap supporters - brilliant choice of candidates for the show.
Guys can either switch off your TV and won't lose much

wizard

After kana wack by stidents. He want to have a wayang debate to save some face..

1st question

"Dear PM sir, i want to thank you and PAP from bring us to where we were today? what is the key factors and how will you use it to bring us to 2020"?

silverfox@

I believe 9 out of 12 are carefully selected not to give Lee Hsien Loong too much stress.

2 students and 1 blue collars will be outnumbered by pro-pap supporters - brilliant choice of candidates for the show.
Guys can either switch off your TV and won't lose much

I would just say that all 12 have some connections with grassroots and that would make the TV show a big success in their context.

KuanTi01

12 handpicked "yes men" to represent a broad cross-setion of the society all designed to ask the right questions of the PM? Obviously, this is one massive PR exercise!:biggrin::biggrin:

commoner

for those who know about the game show jeopardy.

in this case, pinky lee will prepare all the answers and distribute among the participants. the participants will then prepare the questions for pinky to answer in the "live" forum.

with mee siam mai hum and fixing opposition, this guys cannot do "live" without script la

coolguy

Like any reality game or sports contest show(e.g the WWF), the audience pretty knows the outcome, but they still watch.
Why? It is because of the entertainment value.
When audience get entertained while watching it, the outcome becomes secondary.
To attain higher viewership and success, for this coming show, interesting and out of the box cheeky questions have to be asked. And intelligent, witty response by LHL are to be expected. The talk show have to be spiced with humor and some laughter now and then to lighten the mood and keep the audience engaged. If not, boredom will set in and the audience will just switch channel or go away.

Like any reality game or sports contest show(e.g the WWF), the audience pretty knows the outcome, but they still watch.
Why? It is because of the entertainment value.
, interesting and out of the box cheeky questions have to be asked. And intelligent, witty response by LHL are to be expected. The talk show have to be spiced with humor and some laughter .

Expect the audience to laugh as if they all "agreed" with him. You will see LHL laughing at himself too (most of the time usually), like he did and than check on the audience to see if theyl follow him. The moderator will conclude with some positive light casted on him, pamper him and will not set a rush timing like she did to the opposition parties.The audience may appear to look like they all agreed and satisfied with his replies. The grand duty of the prince has finally delivered - by motherhood talkings and rhetorics craps as garnish - with standing ovations from the selected pro-pap audiences.

He better has his last laugh because outside the TV box, he has to face the real world and real questions during the election rally. Unless he still prefer to live within his comfort box instead of out of the box.