• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pinoy doctor causes death, Khaw Boon Wan act blur

dysentry

SINGAPORE : The Singapore Medical Council has censured a doctor and fined her S$3,000 for two charges of professional misconduct and gross negligence.

Dr Diana Ramos Santos, who was working at Clementi Polyclinic at the time of the offence in 2005, had pleaded guilty to the Council's disciplinary inquiry on November 11.

In the first charge, Dr Santos had inappropriately prescribed the wrong dosage of 0.25 mg of digoxin, used to stabilise heart rhythms, instead of 0.0625 mg, to an 88-year-old patient, Madam Koh on 26 March 2005.

The inquiry found Dr Santos did not amend the prescription even after realising this.

On the second charge, Dr Santos was grossly negligent in managing the patient because she failed to check blood clotting results in a timely manner after increasing the dosage of warfarin - a drug that thins the blood.

Questions were asked after the Health Ministry sent a complaint letter to the Council - following a coroner's inquiry into the patient's death.

Besides the censure and fine, Dr Santos was also ordered to give a written undertaking to abstain from similar conduct in future, and to pay costs of the disciplinary proceedings.

Dr Santos is no longer practising as a doctor in Singapore, as her registration with the Council was terminated in August 2006. - CNA/ms

Please take note.

There are many FAKE degrees FTs working here. I am sure there will be some amongst doctors as well. Our Garment always say stringent checks. But those are only words. if really strict, there will not be so many cases of Fake degrees. And what about those not found out?

My advise is if your FT colleague is "cho bo lun", report immediately to HR to check credentials again. If HR also FT, goodluck.

I will not let myself or my family members be examined by a FT doctor. That is where I draw the line on FTs working here in S'pore.

You have your rights. If you are in a hospital, and a FT doctor examines you, kindly ask for a local.

ONE DEAD LOCAL caused by an FT doctor is already ONE death too much because of screwed up FT policies here.

The other death trap waiting to happen are FOREIGN DRIVER"S LICENSE. I wonder how many accidents here are caused by FTs. In India, Indonesia, even Malaysia and many such places....DRIVING LICENSE can be simply bought. They come here, they are automatically given a "License To Kill". They are not tested before allowing to drive.

please lah, deaths can also caused by local doctors lah! don't be prejudiced and biased. any doctor can also commit the same errors! any surgeon can also fumble one day. it's nothing to do witih foreign doctors or local doctors. such things happen all over the world! don't be a xenophobic lah!

I beg to differ. Giving a wrong dosage in a straight forward case is amounting to adding sugar instead of salt in your "mee siam mai hum".

Ask any doctor friend of yours. This is a simple case of ABC also dunno ok.

Just pray hard that you or your family member don't fall sick..... not even the local doctor could killed, the FT meesee, could give u the wrong medication.:(

Just fined fake FT $3000 for causing a Singaporean death? I wonder whose life is cheaper here.

HAHAHHAHAHHAHAa

Sinkaporeans are getting screwed by so many PAP policies, we are running out of orifices liao

For decades, A level students with excellent results can't get into NUS Medicine faculty because of limited size.. now they are importing third rate-bomoh doctors from village schools to kill us.

Yeah other doctors can get away is how well they can cover their tracks !

For decades, A level students with excellent results can't get into NUS Medicine faculty because of limited size.. now they are importing third rate-bomoh doctors from village schools to kill us.

Yeah this was to screw us all ! To suppress wages and protect their elite arses and their civil servants!

Otherwise what is that barking good reason unless inefficiency and stupidity.

I beg to differ. Giving a wrong dosage in a straight forward case is amounting to adding sugar instead of salt in your "mee siam mai hum".

Ask any doctor friend of yours. This is a simple case of ABC also dunno ok.

Bro, Blackhole is rite, my little 2 y.o. kid was given overdose by local doc. 20 times! After bloated stomach went back to them with my doc sis. Turns out the doc claculated the dosage wrongly from the drug guide. They may be docs, but they can be poor at arithmetics!