• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PHoles Affordable? STOP TALKING COCK!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Affordability of homes
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->Let's do the comparisons right
I REFER to last Saturday's report, 'Homes more affordable as incomes rise'.
It is meaningless to compare the current property boom with the peak of 1996 and then conclude that things are better now compared to then. This is akin to comparing the current sub-prime financial crisis with the Great Depression of the 1930s and concluding that things are not so bad.
Likewise, it is meaningless for Citigroup economist Kit Wei Zheng to conclude that things are better now than in 1996. The fact that the current property boom is not the worst does not imply that it isn't bad.
For a better appreciation of our current situation, we should note that from 1990 to last year, condominium prices increased threefold, whereas during the same period, median household income grew by only 2.1 times.
In other words, there has been a 50 per cent increase in condominium prices over and above salary increases over this period. So we are indeed worse off now compared to 1990.
Jones Lang LaSalle head of research Chua Yang Liang's affordability calculations are misleading too.
First, it is wrong to just use per capita gross domestic product (GDP) as only about 40 per cent of our GDP is attributable to wages.
Furthermore, in absolute terms, the 22 per cent increase in last year's per capita GDP over its 15-year average is only $9,156, whereas the 38 per cent increase in condo prices over its 15-year average of say $700,000 amounts to $266,000. So even before considering interest, it will take an extra 29 years for the extra income to pay for the increase in condominium prices.
Mr Kit's statement that out of the past 11 years, growth in wages has outpaced growth in property prices is also incorrect. Comparing median income and property prices for the past nine years, there were five years when property prices outgrew income.
Ng Kok Lim

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>with ever increasing prices for HDB even the singles are all left out and how to buy when after saving for almost 13 years with CPF of 130K, now the 3 rooms are selling aound 300K not forgetting the ever highest COV? does the GOV cares? so must thank them for always saying " affordable housing for the public" , yeah thanks a lot for caring, MY BUTT !!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: sklandeee at Wed Aug 26 13:31:59 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>"See thie website http://snippets.com/what-is-the-gdp-...ry-country.htm
Our GDP at 52K is higher than that of the USA nd even Swizterland. So, yes, as promised (or aspire) we have already achieved the Swiss Std of living. Yeah right!"

GDP is a very poor indicator of life standard
A cashier in Switzerland makes CHF3500 or S$4500
A cashier in Singapore makes around S$1000

The gap between rich and poor is simply much higher in Singapore. It's that simple. On top of that housing is cheaper. You simply move to a small town. This is not an option in Singapore
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: NewtonCircusTwo at Wed Aug 26 12:08:24 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Yea, they speak through their rear end. They are property agents, what else can they say? More froth to prop up the market. As for the government, they are more interested in PRs and rich foreigners to pump in more money. They care for the citizens only during elections.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Misnomer at Wed Aug 26 11:15:24 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>I always wondered my some of my closest friends in my age group, are willing to risk what they have here, pack up and move to another country.

I was never optimistic of such a bold move but as I talk to these friends, watch how their lives have become more fulfilling (even though they do not live in mansions) how they work on their relationship and not argue over monetary issiues - I understand why many do welcome the idea of taking risks in making such valiant decisions.

Singapore is now the 2nd most expensive city to reside in, after Tokyo. However, the average Japanese salary is twice that of ours and the country has so much more to offer than shopping malls, food courts and Sentosa. I mean, just look the reality programs between that of Japan Hour, Korean hour and Singapore 'hour'. They have seasonal, insightful activities to partake whereas we focus on food, where to 'makan' and we can only revisit these subjects a number of times before we become numb.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: slepgrant at Wed Aug 26 11:14:02 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>There are alot of bullshiters around that acted like they are experts.
Our salary has never grow in tandem with the high increase in COL, worst, the property increased
all these years even the HDB. The government makes ton of money on HDB prices.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: leesjuanpat at Wed Aug 26 10:25:11 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>