• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Petition for Tin Pei Ling to stand in SMC garners ground

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:20 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 4) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>47171.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Petition for Tin Pei Ling to stand in SMC garners ground

PostDateIcon.png
April 5th, 2011 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Your Correspondent |
PostEditIcon.png
Edit

Even as the PAP and its propaganda mouthpiece pretend to ‘act blur’ over the Tin Pei Ling fiasco, Singaporeans continue to call out loud for her to be fielded in a SMC.
An online petition calling for her to stand in a SMC has garnered more than 500 signatures in less than a day so far with many commentators expressing their frustration, bitterness and anger at the GRC system promulgated by the undemocratic PAP regime to put their weak candidates into parliament at the expense of more deserving ones.
Harold Chong wrote:
“GRC should be abolished. I would be ashamed of myself if I won an election through GRC instead of standing in a one man constituency. GRC is a joke really. You can’t find something this ridiculous in the world except in Singapore! Shameful!”
Kelvin Ang added:
“The GRC system is fundamentally flawed and unconstitutional. It was instituted without public consultation in good faith nor a referendum. The fact that we can’t even challenge it’s unconstitionality in court is even more revulsive. This clearly violates the Trias Politica principle – the basic principles of having a Separation of Powers of the Judiciary, the Executive and the Legislative. They have now become one body. Essentially we don’t have choice to pick who should represent us in Parliament. It is now very much like a Regime-Based Democracy. This is really the last straw, which reeks of nepotism under the cloak of meritocracy.”
Even PAP supporters like Lim Wei Ming are questioning the wisdom of the PAP of fielding Tin Pei Ling in a SMC:
“I have grown up with the PAP, whom had great leaders like Mr Lee Kuan Yew and Mr Goh Chok Tong. Imagine my disappointment at fielding an untested and inexperienced candidate like Ms Tin Pei Ling. We have also prided ourselves in selecting the best both from an academic as well as a life experience standpoint. I question her qualifications in being ushered in on the “coat-tails” of Greater Men. If she truly has merits and can stand on her own, fielding her in an SMC would demonstrate this.”
A friend of Tin Pei Ling, Craig, has also expressed his reservations about her entering politics:
“I know Pei Ling personally. She is nowhere matured enough to represent my generation in the parliment. She is a decent young lady still learning her ropes in the corporate world. Please let her have the necessary time to learn important life lessons before trying her best to help her fellow Singaporeans.”
As expected, the PAP-controlled media has ignored the genuine concerns of Singaporeans either by downplaying them or accusing them of indulging in ‘gutter journalism.’
It is highly unlikely that the PAP leaders will bother to sit up and listen to netizens. After all, according to one minister, our views are merely ‘noises’ which Tin Pei Ling can ignore while she inches ever closer to a multi-million dollar salary package guaranteed FOR LIFE for being a ‘dummy’ of the PAP ‘orchestra’ in parliament.
Jeremy
You can sign the petition here:
http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/tinpeiling/

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The Petition

Dear leaders of the People's Action Party,

Please do not view this as a petition of an opposing view but rather, a note that we care about
<!--?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" /--><?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = ST1 /><ST1:COUNTRY-REGION><ST1:PLACE>Singapore</ST1:PLACE></ST1:COUNTRY-REGION> and the quality of the Members of Parliament (MP) who represent Singaporeans.

We have deep concerns about Ms Tin Pei Ling’s credential and quality to stand as a People’s Action Party (the “
<ST1:STOCKTICKER>PAP</ST1:STOCKTICKER>”) candidate for the upcoming General Election. For years, we have trusted the <ST1:STOCKTICKER>PAP</ST1:STOCKTICKER> to introduce new good-quality candidates. Since the introduction of Ms Tin and having observed how she had conducted media interviews, we cannot help but feel that PAP might have picked the wrong candidate in Ms Tin this time. We have nothing against new candidates on the basis of age, young or old, but in the case of Ms Tin, we are concerned that she demonstrated the lack of maturity and the big picture awareness that are essential attributes to champion issues for the people in the parliament. For example, during a media interview immediately following her introduction as a <ST1:STOCKTICKER>PAP</ST1:STOCKTICKER> candidate, when asked by a reporter what her greatest regret was, she said her greatest regret thus far was not being able to bring her parents to the Universal Studio. We were appalled by her poorly conceived response that lacked judgment, perspective and discretion. There were also strong reactions on the internet that cited other opposing reasons towards Ms Tin’s candidacy which we will not list here.

The strong reactions against Ms Tin have spread and tarnished the reputation of the
<ST1:STOCKTICKER>PAP</ST1:STOCKTICKER>. Singaporeans are genuinely concerned about undeserving candidates being inducted into parliament, not on their own merit, but rather on the back of established MPs of the ruling party in some Group Representation Constituencies (the “GRCs”). To let Ms Tin prove that she is indeed a worthy candidate that can stand up to the challenge, we urge the PAP to field Ms Tin in a SMC instead of “protecting” her under the shield of a GRC. This will give Singaporeans a chance to judge and accept Ms Tin and give her a chance to prove herself and experience the real baptism of fire.

We thank you for listening to our views.

Petition Originator: Ti Kiang Heng
PS: Please do not sign if you are not a Singapore citizen.

Khun Ying Pojaman

Singaporeans should stop 'khei khiang'. You think Tin Tin will sure lose in SMC meh ?

What if she were give half ball ? All the lao tiko including Ramseth will vote for her.

Those who kpkb about GRC can always be heard via th ballot box.
Simply vote for the opposition in any GRC and unseat a few ministers, then i think they will wake up.