• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Penalised for arriving early

Jul 23, 2010

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I HAVE discovered a flaw in the electronic booking system at the Toa Payoh Polyclinic.
Upon my arrival, an attendant helped me to register at the machine, which then issued a receipt stating my time of arrival (9.20am) and appointment time (10am), the consultation room and queue number.
I saw the doctor only after an 80-minute wait.
Later, I learnt from a counter staff member that I was registered as a walk-in patient (by the machine) because I was more than 15 minutes early for my scheduled appointment.
My intention in being there earlier was to ensure that I would be punctual for the consultation. I deliberately made allowances for the unpredictable schedule of the two buses which I had to take to get to the clinic. I did not want to be penalised for being late.
Is there a way to programme the machine to ensure that I see the doctor at the actual appointed time even though I arrive early?
The next time I book an appointment for my visit, I will wait at the registration machine until 15 minutes before the appointed time to slot in my card and get my number for consultation at my given appointment time.
Molly Lee (Mdm)

I was registered as a walk-in patient (by the machine) because I was more than 15 minutes early for my scheduled appointment.

Quite a 'dumb' system

This is a common with the Spore system.

For anyone who's taken the ferry to Batam, they won't allow you to enter the departure lounge earlier than 45 min before the ferry leaves AND most importantly they won't allow you to enter the departure lounge 15 minutes before the ferry leaves.

Otherwise you'll be charged a $5 penalty.

Jul 23, 2010

I HAVE discovered a flaw in the electronic booking system at the Toa Payoh Polyclinic.
Upon my arrival, an attendant helped me to register at the machine, which then issued a receipt stating my time of arrival (9.20am) and appointment time (10am), the consultation room and queue number.
Later, I learnt from a counter staff member that I was registered as a walk-in patient (by the machine) because I was more than 15 minutes early for my scheduled appointment.
My intention in being there earlier was to ensure that I would be punctual for the consultation. I deliberately made allowances for the unpredictable schedule of the two buses which I had to take to get to the clinic. I did not want to be penalised for being late.
Is there a way to programme the machine to ensure that I see the doctor at the actual appointed time even though I arrive early?
The next time I book an appointment for my visit, I will wait at the registration machine until 15 minutes before the appointed time to slot in my card and get my number for consultation at my given appointment time.
Molly Lee (Mdm)

I just visited as a walk-in this week, by the time I walked out it is 3 hours later. I was briefed that next appt no need to take the number lah, just go to registration and tell them got appt. Not sure , really or not, will have to wait for my appt date. some pple hoping for a govt job can try as polyclinic staff lah, promise high productivity because you have no break with the flow of patient coming in....start of aging population flooding at clinic near you. Mostly likely you will get a ah neh doc as well, our successful FT program really work !

Judging by the queues at polyclinics, half the population seem perpetually sick. We may think it's too many outpatients wasting other people's time with minor ailments or malingering for sick leave. However, inpatients' queue to be warded is just as long. Several hours even for ambulance cases; weeks and months by appointments.

It's nothing to do with the system. It's your social status that's been judged.
If you were 'somebody', you would not use their service. And even if you want to use, you will be served as a V.I.P.
If you were loser, and good-for-nothing, even they asked you to eat shit, you also had to be 'Siao Siao, Lang Lang'.
:oIo:

Molly Lee (Mdm)

Very good Molly. Well done!

The whole of Singapore is " Dumbing "down .

All the paper qualification is making people kiasu and
stupid and lacking common sense !

This is a common with the Spore system.

For anyone who's taken the ferry to Batam, they won't allow you to enter the departure lounge earlier than 45 min before the ferry leaves AND most importantly they won't allow you to enter the departure lounge 15 minutes before the ferry leaves.

Otherwise you'll be charged a $5 penalty.
Bro
What is the frequency of the ferry departure?
If it's less than 45 minutes, preventing people from entering the lounge more than 45 minutes before departure is logical, to prevent over-crowding of the lounge. Some smart asses may also try to board an earlier ferry with a later ticket.
Preventing people from entering 15 minutes before departure is to ensure timely departure, otherwise there will always be people running towards the ferry just as it is about to depart.
Having said that, I haven't taken the ferry in years and don't know whether the system works.

Bro
What is the frequency of the ferry departure?
If it's less than 45 minutes, preventing people from entering the lounge more than 45 minutes before departure is logical, to prevent over-crowding of the lounge. Some smart asses may also try to board an earlier ferry with a later ticket.
Preventing people from entering 15 minutes before departure is to ensure timely departure, otherwise there will always be people running towards the ferry just as it is about to depart.
Having said that, I haven't taken the ferry in years and don't know whether the system works.

Ferry leaves every hour.
The waiting lounge is quit large. In the past it got crowded but no one complained.

It's unlikely that someone could take an ealier ferry because by the time they start selling tickets, the earlier ferry is already gone. If one takes a ferry from Batam there's no such rules & regulation. People can even get a tix 5 minutes before the ferry leaves. No fuss, no bother.

If the ferry companies don't see a problem, why should the authorities butt in:confused: In the past, there were no such rules & regulations. All that changed after Vivocity Mall was completed. Price of trips doubled, most of it is taxes charged on the Spore side. Indonesians now have to pay the same prices as Sporeans SIN$48.

Then they intoduced those SMRT type cards where you have to tap at the turnstiles at the entrance to the immigration & tap again when you leave the waiting lounge, & before you board the ferry there is someone who will take the card & tap a scanner before you are allowed onboard.

The biggest joke is that the ferries can now leave 10 minute earlier because passengers aren't allowed in 15 minutes before departure :eek:

I wouldn't care except I was once late by 2 minutes & wasn't allowed into the immigration area & the ferry company charged me a transfer fee of $5.
FYI, The jokers moved the ticketing office from the 2nd to the 3rd floor, even though the immigation clearance is still in on the 2nd floor.

Jul 23, 2010

Molly Lee (Mdm)

That complaint arises from the fact that singaporeans are educated to follow whatever instructions on paper or media, even a programming robot statement to the core without using their own brain and being flexible like a real human being. i am poinitng not just the customer but the staff as well.