• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Peace Centre becoming 2nd Geylang

[h=2]Not-so-peaceful Peace Centre becoming 2nd Geylang[/h]
dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
June 4th, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

[Letter sent to Mr Masagos Zulkifli Bin Masagos Mohamad, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and MP of Tampines GRC; copied to TRE]

2 June 2014
Geylang_01.jpg
Geylang nightlife

Dear Encik Masagos,
Salam and I would like to feedback of the not-so-peaceful, Peace Centre and its rowdy/sleazy activities taking place with your ministry licensing permit.

My relative who lives across the street and runs a provision shop in the centre, runs her store literally with fear. In the daytime, anyone who passes by the place could never have imagined that come nightfall, the place effectively turns into a “second Geylang” with rampant coyotes, drugs and the likes of gangsters pitting for influence/control over the scene.

Lawlessness is the norm and order of the night with police not daring to bring crime rates there under control. Rioting with damages to property, blatant smoking in prohibited spots, open selling of controlled and sex enhancement drugs are all but a common and frequent sight. The toilets hygiene standards are also severely lacking.

We knew there were some ongoings but only realised the magnitude of the problem when we went there to unload some goods that had arrived for our store in the middle of the night. Thank goodness nothing bad happened to us as we were in Hijab but I could see that decent folks would avoid the place for fear of sexual harassment.

I had also previously thought that the zone comes under the exclusive “no alcohol zone” and thus wonder how can this still take place? This is also where diplomat Silviu Ionescu would patronise call-girls after getting intoxicated, causing the infamous “2009 Romanian Diplomat Incident”.

In view of the worsening situation, I hope you can instill measures to prevent this part of CBD from turning into another hopeless Jln Suka.
Thank you.

Begum Abdul Rahma

* Submitted by TRE reader.

Nothing new really. Been in this state the past 5 yrs or more. Same can be said of the Havelock area.

5pcCECo.jpg

Who did you vote for? Has your future been secured yet? :rolleyes:

BERSAMA MENJAMIN MASA DEPAN! :kma:

If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

Only in the centre will you have peace, anywhere else will be violence.

As GD has mentioned Peace Centre is no different to the KTVs at Havelock or Duxton or Joo Chiat or Keong Saik or Orchard Towers.

Vice activities are no longer restricted to the Lorongs of Geylang anymore

As GD has mentioned Peace Centre is no different to the KTVs at Havelock or Duxton or Joo Chiat or Keong Saik or Orchard Towers.

Spot on. Wonder what's all the fuss about.

Finished lunch at a food place here yesterday and went around checking out a music shop...
On the way there was accosted by ladies of various shapes and smell offering massage services and extras.
Not good for the soul.

SMU NEARbY.... the authorities must be blind and probably bribed by these entertainment joint owners to close a blind eye.

yes, it still does. rodents and birds scamper for safety. :p

The name sound like those "indian Shylock"...Indian Muslim or Mamak...runs a provision store there, can afford the rental, must be making GOOD BUSINESS. Why complain?? it is not the action there , that her relative is loosing business.. there is an Fairprice express there...COMPLAIN ABOUT...

The writer want the government, declare the place HALAL....:rolleyes:

Finished lunch at a food place here yesterday and went around checking out a music shop...
On the way there was accosted by ladies of various shapes and smell offering massage services and extras.
Not good for the soul.

sochi2014 : Hello MP, i hate smokers, can u ban cigarettes?

sochi2014 : And also ban durians as i hate the odour!

MP : Ok i will do it JUST FOR YOU

sochi2014 : Hello MP, i hate smokers, can u ban cigarettes?

sochi2014 : And also ban durians as i hate the odour!

Hello MP, ban the oppositions too, I hate them & FIX them, when is your boss, going to do that.

MP, I like to eat Mee Siam with "HUM".

Not good for the soul.

You were looking around too right?, if you do not go in, you do not know what is going on right?? I have been around there for some legitimate business...just ignore them.....but if you 'divinity stick' glow red at the tip....why complain??

The place gets livelier after 6pm....

Ok, will be there after 6pm..hopefully a nice change from Geyland,,,

You were looking around too right?, if you do not go in, you do not know what is going on right?? I have been around there for some legitimate business...just ignore them.....but if you 'divinity stick' glow red at the tip....why complain??

The place gets livelier after 6pm....

THEY ARE EVERYWHERE :

AsiaOne, Thursday, Jun 05, 2014

SINGAPORE - 4 females and 1 male were arrested on Monday for their suspected involvement in vice activities in a HDB flat at Ang Mo Kio Ave 6.

The police said that on June 2 at about 9.30 pm, officers raided the unit arrested the suspects. The females were between 17 and 26 years old, and had apparently advertised their sexual services online. They were arrested for allegedly providing sexual services in the flat.

The 39-year-old man was arrested for allegedly having commercial sex with a minor under the age of 18.

Enjoy while Peace Centre is still around. Was told tiok enbloc quite awhile ago. Niteclub operators big headache. Where to rrelocate? Most locations you wont get your license - zoning issue.

Thanks for the alert bro.