• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Part-timer at Universal Studios S'pore works 56 hours in 5 days

Watchman

Posted on 11 Oct 2010
Part-timer at Universal Studios S'pore works 56 hours in 5 days:
Where's the welfare?

parttimer_at_universal_studios_spore_works_56_hours_in_5_days-thumbnail.jpg

Universal%20Studio%20Singapore.jpg

STOMPer Tan is miffed that his daughter has to work more than
50 hours in a 5-day week, as a part-timer at Universal Studios
Singapore. The Ministry of Manpower defines a part-timer
as a contract employee who works less than 35 hours a week.
The STOMPer wants to understand why the organisation
needs part-timers to work such long hours.

In STOMPer Tan's email:

"As stated by the Ministry of Manpower Singapore, a
part-time employee is one who is required under his/her
contract of service with an employer, to work for less
than 35 hours a week.

"However, my daughter who has recently been contracted
to work for the USS during her polytechnic holidays was
tasked to work much longer hours than what had been
stipulated under the act of part-time employment!
"May I know if this is legal?
"In last week's working schedule she had already
been working for a whopping total of 56 hours for a
5-day week! This week's schedule looks just as bad!
52 hours for a 4-day week!
"This is like working longer hours than a full-time employee!
"Could the USS please explain why a part-time employee
is asked to work so many hours?

"I personally would like to understand the rationale
behind such long hours for a part-time employee!
"Is there a shortage of staff that each one has to
do longer hours to cover what is not there?
"Shouldn't the USS pre-empt this and recruit more
staff instead of adopting this practice?
"For working such long hours, is the welfare of these
part-time employees taken into account?
"Are their lunch or even dinner meals inclusive of the
number of hours they put in?
"For those who work at fast-food restaurants they
get free meals if their working time exceeds a
certain number of hours for each day.
"What about a big organisation like USS? Are the
meals provided for?
"If this is the kind of long hours for part-time employees,
I fear to think of the number of hours put in by a
regular full-time employee of the USS!"

Haven't they seen a security guard work 12 hours a day and 6 days a week? That's 72 hours a week.

I wonder how much they were paid? overtime extra $$? :confused::confused:

This fucking mother. If she rich don't let her chlidren work part time.
Nothing wrong if partime worker work extra hour if the employer willing to pay extra/OT pay.

Her daughter should stay at home so that she works zero hours per work week and let those who needs the job take her place. I am sure that there are any from poor families whom are willing to slog for 75 hours per week as every single hour they are being paid.

Once upon a time I had an intern from RJC, she was from a very rich family and so my boss told me that if she breaks her nails, I dont have to show up for work forever. So I asked the darling girl to sit there for the entire week, she went home to complain to her daddy that that she did fuck all at work and naturally daddy O called my boss to fuck him left right and center and than daddy o came down to the office to fuck me up as well. He wants me to work out an internship programme for her daughter based on some work that is attune to the financial markets such as US treasury Bonds, corporate bonds etc.

I cleared my throat and asked daddy O one question, your daughter have at least a basic degree in finance etc? He said she is still in first year of Junior college...I just smiled and shrugged my shoulders throwing my arms up in the air...and asked him "you think she would be able to understand the differences between bonds and loans..." he got the message.

Come next week, I ask darling girl t help me do some simple filing, you don't want interns fucking up your show, so let them do the barest minimum. Whole day she sneeze sneeze sneeze and its not even dusty. The following day, she disappeared for 3 days. On the forth day, daddy o showed up in the office looking for me, this time he fucked me dog style. He ask me what have I done to her daughter and what kind of work have I assigned to her as she went home with a non stoppable nose bleed hence the 3 days MC. I took out a piece of letter from the in tray, punched 2 holes and placed them in the manila file, told him that's what your daughter is suppose to do....he got nothing to say..

So parents, if you are of the top echelon or having a few hundred million tucked away somewhere, please ask your kids to go fuck off and not to do a peasant's job..

This fucking mother. If she rich don't let her chlidren work part time.
Nothing wrong if partime worker work extra hour if the employer willing to pay extra/OT pay.

Maybe Universal will tell the mother sorry and then ask her daughter to go and work for 3 hours part time per day. Sometimes these people cannot think. Work 4 hours, take transport, makan, left how much only.

her daughter can always resign anytime mah.
no one force her daughter to work.

:( :o :(

I wonder how much they were paid? overtime extra $$? :confused::confused:

Many of these part-timers would staying back even if they are not paid.
The mother never find out why her daughter is willing to working so many hours. Where in the world can you getting to play on the job and be paid?
These part-timers get unlimited free rides and access to the attractions. During times when the crowd is not there, the part-timers are asked to filling up the rides. :D

How I wishing got this type of lobang back during my schooldays.

When people point out loophole and question Ministry policing their policies, Sinkies start to question the reporter. When they kena themselves, they kpkb say gahmen dun care.

most company work 44 hours per week.
max. up to 72 hours per week.
daily not more than 12 hours.
after the normal working hours if they
are paid the usual allowances, it is not
against the law. i.e. OT pay, food, shift,
and transport allowances.
OT is not compulsory.
Workers who work 12 hours normal shift,
work only 4 days. Security people work
12 hours shift, work 4 days and rest 3 days,
Rotating basis.