• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAPSCUMscollect $110 gives Rubbish on TV

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Fkapore <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>3:39 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>26607.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
SCUMsinWhite know how to collect $$$ loose BILLIONs but ignore this once in four years event & shamelessly claim wanting to qualify for world cup in 2010 instead deny Sinkees on free broadcast.

World Cup
Viewing soccer ‘Olympics’
Is TV coverage just another private commercial deal or a social responsibility to citizens like elsewhere? Singaporeans won’t like the answer. By Seah Chang Nee.
Jan 2, 2010

WHEN June approaches, there could be a small outflow of deprived Singaporeans to Malaysian and other cities to watch televised coverage of World Cup 2010.
The reason is Singapore’s surprising failure to gain the rights to telecast what is equivalent to football’s Olympics from June 11 to July 11.
The rejection by FIFA – over money, lots of it – has delivered a heavy blow to a small army of soccer fans, as well as Singapore’s image as a sporting hub.
The debacle is – first and foremost – about escalating cost of sports for TV fans. First, the English Premier League and now FIFA have raised charges for television rights.
If agreement had been reached, each TV viewer would have to fork out S$30 to S$150 (probably the latter), or between three and five times that of the 2006 tournament.
For larger markets, it may not pose too much problem to get sponsors to absorb it. Malaysia’s Astro, for example, is forking out three times more.
In fact, some 202 nations, including some of the world’s poorest, have signed up to allow their citizens to watch it.
Singaporeans are finding it hard to accept that the whole world – rich and poor, big and small – can watch the World Cup, but not their country, which is one of Asia’s richest.
(Another is North Korea, one of the finalists. Pyongyang has asked South Korea to help redirect coverage of its team’s matches for its home audience.)
It is more than just about sports or television. It is a story of what is good and bad about Singapore.
The dilemma highlights how hard-headed policies, which have contributed to rapid growth for several decades, can work against certain segments of society or individuals.
One factor is the over-riding business philosophy that is in the air everywhere. Even the government – or companies it controls – plays a big role on commercial life.
It has vast shareholdings in many companies that sell crucial goods and services to its citizens, including television and newspapers.
The two telcos, Starhub and Singtel, also largely state-owned, submitted a joint bid to telecast the World Cup but it was rejected by FIFA.
For some critics, this level of state participation may be good for the state economy or the Treasury, but is unsatisfactory for consumers.
“If we had opened up and allowed independent TV companies to operate here, we’d be able to watch the World Cup like any other country,” one sports fan said.
These private enterprises would have ways of raising revenue to make up for the increase.
For now, Singapore is out of the picture and fans may find themselves having to travel to neighbouring countries for fulfilment.
Some of them, including Malaysians working here, are already making plans to book holiday rooms north of the Causeway and in other nearby countries – just in case.
However the idea of Singapore not being able to watch the prestigious World Cup – while its neighbours can – seems so preposterous that some people refuse to believe that it will happen.
They express faith on an eventual government-engineered solution because the price for failure is too high for two reasons.
First, a snap election is widely expected next year and the government will not want to upset the large soccer community. It is, after all, Singapore’s most popular sport.
Second, it is a matter of face for this First World country, particularly in view of its ambition to become a regional sports hub.
“We’ll never live this down!” exclaimed a sports fan.
He recalled a pledge by a minister to turn Singapore into a global player by qualifying for the World Cup finals by 2020. “Now we’re told we won’t be able even to see it; what a back-slide,” he exclaimed.
So far the authorities have maintained a hands-off attitude, saying that it’s a private commercial matter.
The general feeling is any solution hinges largely on one thing – money, how much and who pays?
Some journalists believe that World Cup viewers may have to pay S$150 each for that one month of world class football. Are they willing? The online answer was a resounding: “No!”
(By comparison in 2006 World Cup, Starhub charged its sports subscribers an extra S$10 (or S$26 for non-sports subscribers) for the privilege.
Singaporeans who know the government well believe it will stick to its profit-first-sports-later attitude.
“It is hard for it to make football cheaper for TV viewers given the escalating costs – without digging into the Treasury.
“To do so will be to subsidise public consumerism, something the leaders will not agree to,” one official said.
Unlike some countries, the government is likely to continue to treat the World Cup as a private matter, rather than public entitlement or part of its obligation to its citizens.
Singapore’s impending woes may spell opportunity for nearby hotels (particularly in Johor and Malacca) which have cable TV. Even those as far away as in Kuala Lumpur and Penang!
It coincides with the school vacation when thousands of families usually take a break across the Causeway and other popular Asian cities.
As the date draws near, hard-core fans are growing more restive.
Some suggested that Singapore Pools, the only legal lottery operator, which is already preparing to accept bets on World Cup matches, be made the sponsor.
“It will probably make a small fortune from the betting anyway, so why not get it to help finance the shortfall?” one football fan suggested.
“And if they won’t do it? Let the illegal bookies do it!” he said.
(This was published in The Star on Jan 2, 2010)

<HR SIZE=1>Edited 1/3/2010 6:40 am ET by Fkapore</TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgVFM colSpan=2 align=middle>View Full Message</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Cheebye lah, talk so much, in the end, still have to pay $150 to watch WC

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

If Spore dont telecast the WC2010, then we're deluding ourself that we're a 1st world country. What's the point of boasting we have the richest ministers yet has no solution to the telecast rights.

For football fans this is good enough reason to vote out the PAP:)

Only morons watch soccer. :rolleyes: Kudos to the govt for keeping that orgy of garbage off Singapore's TV screens.

I believe there is a valid reason not to telecast the World Cup to Singapore.

Recall a minister who'd proclaimed Singapore will be in World Cup Final 2010 ? (We actually now know, declared by himself, that he cannot see beyond couple of days/months even if he has a crystal ball and yet collect millions of salary).

If World Cup is telecast, it will revive memories and put him in bad light that will huant him and make him loose face even more, besides loosing an election (but managed to get back in under someone's coat-tail).

Therefore, to avoid his lost of face, the entire population cannot have telecast of World Cup.

I believe there is a valid reason not to telecast the World Cup to Singapore.

Recall a minister who'd proclaimed Singapore will be in World Cup Final 2010 ? (We actually now know, declared by himself, that he cannot see beyond couple of days/months even if he has a crystal ball and yet collect millions of salary).

If World Cup is telecast, it will revive memories and put him in bad light that will huant him and make him loose face even more, besides loosing an election (but managed to get back in under someone's coat-tail).

Therefore, to avoid his lost of face, the entire population cannot have telecast of World Cup.

Then Mr Mah will use economic ties reasons to go to South Africa to watch live matches on the way, LOL :D:D:D

all the movies shown over xmas & new year weekend were those nonsensical fantasy hollywood blockbuster types like - LOTR, spiderman, starwars, king kong - to name a few ...

most ppl have already seen these in the cinema ...

anyway such movies promote stupidity bcos they dumb down your brains ... they're abt fantasy not reality and do not encourage thinking, reasoning & analytical skills ...

mediacorpse probably got them cheap ... i rem a time when they used to screen 'back to the future' over & over & over again ...

all the movies shown over xmas & new year weekend were those nonsensical fantasy hollywood blockbuster types like - LOTR, spiderman, starwars, king kong - to name a few ...

most ppl have already seen these in the cinema ...

anyway such movies promote stupidity bcos they dumb down your brains ... they're abt fantasy not reality and do not encourage thinking, reasoning & analytical skills ...

mediacorpse probably got them cheap ... i rem a time when they used to screen 'back to the future' over & over & over again ...

There are still unfortunate and the less fortunate citizens of Singapore who work throughout the year in slave jobs .

And might not have watch it yet !

>>Singaporeans are finding it hard to accept that the whole world – rich and poor, big and small – can watch the World Cup, but not their country, which is one of Asia’s richest.
(Another is North Korea, one of the finalists. Pyongyang has asked South Korea to help redirect coverage of its team’s matches for its home audience.)<<

KNN even North Korea with its starving peasants got World Cup to watch

>>Singaporeans are finding it hard to accept that the whole world – rich and poor, big and small – can watch the World Cup, but not their country, which is one of Asia’s richest.
(Another is North Korea, one of the finalists. Pyongyang has asked South Korea to help redirect coverage of its team’s matches for its home audience.)<<

KNN even North Korea with its starving peasants got World Cup to watch

To be fair to the Northern Gooks, they did qualify for the WC. We can only DREAM to be in the WC.

As far as I'm concern, this is a national disgrace. If the 2 jokers we call telcos can't secure the rights, the government should step in to do so. There is no excuse for not broadcasting the games here. From an economic standpoint, an image standpoint we cannot afford not to have the broadcast rights. It will become an international joke if toursit stay away from SG coz they can watch the games on tv and the sporting hub talk is just talk if we don't even get to watch our fav game on TV.

Singapore Pools also have no excuse not to more then triple its own sponsorship for the game since they gain the most out of the tournament

To be fair to the Northern Gooks, they did qualify for the WC. We can only DREAM to be in the WC.

DREAM? More like a lasting nightmare watching the tame CUBs get clobbered in every soccer match.

Sinkapore shud jus import quality players. Ibrahimovic, Kaka, Ronaldinho, Cristiano Ronaldo.... Not some half fuck foreign trash who can't even pass the beep test hor!

even switzerland hammer us. I guess we have to use the internet to watch the football. which is not bad. at least you can hear the sound clearly.

yes you can if you have a ATI video card.

but you will not want to do that, since it look horrible on plasma.

hey this could be a tourism draw, tell the world, hate world cup, come to singapore, there are no world cup here, can you imagine the number of tourists coming to singapore to escape from world cup hell, wives, old people etc.

we have many thing in common with north korea.

now including place in the world with no world cup. Do you think the anger of no world cup is the last straw to break the camel back for sinkie???

i dun think so, i think PAP will do well in election.

it will be real funny if they lost seats because they want to save peanuts for television. very funny.