• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP's Sitoh - Mrs Chiam, i can beat you

†††††

Home > Prime News > Story
Apr 4, 2011
p9.jpg

PAP's Sitoh hopes to be 3rd time lucky in Potong Pasir
He has rejected party's offer to field him in GRC, expects tough fight
By Elgin Toh
Mr Sitoh Yih Pin (in blue) exercising with Potong Pasir residents in Lorong 8, Toa Payoh yesterday morning. Despite two unsuccessful attempts to unseat Mr Chiam See Tong, Mr Sitoh said yesterday that he would 'never walk away from the residents of Potong Pasir'. -- ST PHOTO: TERENCE TAN

TWO consecutive defeats at the hands of Mr Chiam See Tong have not discouraged the People's Action Party's (PAP) Potong Pasir man Sitoh Yih Pin.

He has asked top PAP leaders to allow him to stand in the single seat for a third time in the coming general election - even after they offered him the chance to move to a group representation constituency (GRC), he disclosed to reporters yesterday at a community event.

'I've been here for more than 10 years. This is my second home. As long as I am in politics, I will never walk away from the residents of Potong Pasir,' he said.

The GRC offer, he said, was made to him at least three times since 2008, and most recently, just six weeks ago. He turned them all down, so the discussion over which GRC he might be sent to did not even come up, he said.

His latest comments indicate that he will not be following in the footsteps of his PAP predecessor in Potong Pasir, Mr Andy Gan, who lost to Mr Chiam in 1991 and 1997 before being elected unopposed in 2001 in Marine Parade GRC.

Mr Sitoh's remarks also quashed earlier suspicions that he might be fielded elsewhere, given on-the-ground observations from Mr Chiam's party activists that the PAP man had been quieter compared to the run-up to the 2006 General Election.

Yesterday, he put those observations down to a change in his strategy.

He was more visible in 2006 because of his preference at the time for large-scale events. Since then, he has been meeting residents one-on-one or in smaller gatherings, because he finds the 'intimate interaction' more effective.

'I am here every day,' he said.

Already, he added, he has made clear to residents his plans for the estate if elected as MP.

He told 300 residents before yesterday's morning exercise session that he intends to push through:

the Lift Upgrading Programme (LUP) for 17 more blocks of Housing Board (HDB) flats in the ward (Blocks 213 to 224, 143 to 146 and 148);

covered linkways linking all 12 HDB blocks in Lorong 8, Toa Payoh and all 48 HDB blocks in Potong Pasir estate; and

a new park to be built atop the canal running through Lorong 8, Toa Payoh once that part of the canal is covered up.

He said the LUP for the 17 HDB blocks would be announced in the second half of this year, whether or not he is elected. However, he would need control of the town council as MP in order to build the covered linkways and the new park.

On whether his third attempt in Potong Pasir would be easier, as Mr Chiam has decided not to seek re-election and has named his wife Lina as the candidate, Mr Sitoh said he expected the fight to be 'close, challenging and difficult'.

He added: 'Mrs Chiam is no pushover. Don't discount her. She is to be taken very seriously. She has been here as long as Mr Chiam has.'

Mr Sitoh lost to Mr Chiam with 48 per cent of votes in 2001 and 44 per cent in 2006.

Mrs Chiam could not be reached for comment.

Yesterday, Mr Sitoh called on the residents of Potong Pasir to give him one chance to help them fulfil their 'hopes, visions and ambitions'.

Asked about his plans if he were to lose again, he replied: 'Actually, I have decided. But I won't tell you now. Ask me that on polling night. But hopefully we don't have to come to that.'

[email protected]

Char_Azn

I think his victory will depend on whether or not Chiam stays in PP. Very unimpressed with Lina during the debate. I doubt she will get enough Goodwill votes for her to win

wizard

So what is he going to cook this time?
What is he going to say if he lose ? Why should i cook for people who dun vote for me?

So if residents approach him about light issues? Will he say GOTO Chiam ST again if he lose?

He dun want any responsiblities when he lose.. Yet he want all the Limelight and publicity of a Elected MP. During CNY, his face were everywhere greeting people in PP happy chinese new year.

You people decide what kind of people he is..and cast your vote wisely..

annexa

Actually I think PAP might win PP this time. I think this time PAP will win 86 seats and oppo left only Hougang.

exactly, this represents the best chance for PAP to take back PP...I think Mr Chiam will move to contest in GRC. If he loses, the chances of which is quite high, it will offer a stage exit for him from politics. He has done the best he could for the opposition and let the others take their turn at the wheel.

I do forsee that Seetoh will beat Mrs Chiam.

With him showing face at a GRC walkabout...quite evident that he is moving on from PP to try his hand...and his party needs him to do that - in order to elevate the rest of the lesser known candidates.

Actually I think PAP might win PP this time. I think this time PAP will win 86 seats and oppo left only Hougang.

===

actually I think, oppo can win one more SMC. As for GRC, they won't win any but there will be a close fight.

I cannot imagine PAP losing a GRC, to them, its like losing a crown jewel...a morale sapping blow. Thats why they insert a cabinet minister (or in some case 2) in every GRC.

commoner

I live in Lor 8 Toa Payoh, and have been voting for CST since he came here.

The PP has always been for the underdogs, despite the removal of privileges and upgrading process.

I remembered my neighbour trying to enrol his kid into K1 in the PAP wards (as PP no PA kindergarten), he had to "beg" for Andy Gan to write a letter. This pissed many people off. And this is one of the disadvantages. There were times, the parking wardens came in van loads to give summons.

And many folks I know felt we had enough, and ready to vote Sitoh in. The CNA debate showed how bad Lina is and expect some sympathy votes going her way. CNA may make it a closer fight rather than her losing more votes.

Robert Half

The PP has always been for the underdogs, despite the removal of privileges and upgrading process.

I remembered my neighbour trying to enrol his kid into K1 in the PAP wards (as PP no PA kindergarten), he had to "beg" for Andy Gan to write a letter. This pissed many people off. And this is one of the disadvantages. There were times, the parking wardens came in van loads to give summons.

And many folks I know felt we had enough, and ready to vote Sitoh in. The CNA debate showed how bad Lina is and expect some sympathy votes going her way. CNA may make it a closer fight rather than her losing more votes.

Potong Pasir & Hougang people are true Singaporeans. Despite the removal of privileges and upgrading process, they still voted in oppositions to serve their wards :p

seebaysong

Potong Pasir & Hougang people are true Singaporeans. Despite the removal of privileges and upgrading process, they still voted in oppositions to serve their wards :p

For decades, PP and Hougang has represented the true voice of Spore!
Let me say that you are almost there bcos the govt has run out of excuse not to include you as citizens of Spore! Hang in there!
We salute the true heroes!

aangsc

===

actually I think, oppo can win one more SMC. As for GRC, they won't win any but there will be a close fight.
Would like to see a strong opposition like WP win a GRC...that would be "good for PAP" as quoted by our Finance minister. Can see Mr Low making good use of that 'endorsement'. I feel strongly for Low, Sylvia and secret weapon Chen....when is the performance coming to town ? As for PP, I feel staying put is the best option for the Chiams. The loyal will stay with him.

ray_of_hope

Interesting, however, I doubt that is the way people vote. This is especially the case for the 2,000 new voters in the condos who really do not know the Chiams much, if at all. I think that PP will revert to PAP. The fact that ST suddenly focuses a story on PP just 2 days after the debate is, in my opinion, no coincidence. After the TV debate most people already sensed that the seat will go to PAP.

@rmadill0

Though a PAP, this Sitoh has my respect for putting in years of efforts to win the voters' hearts instead of taking the easier way out by dovetailing into the Parliament in a GRC.

Mrs Chiam, really CMI.

Robert Half

suicide squad ?

Shame on you Sitoh for bullying a woman...

If Ms Tin can stand alone & win Potong Pasir then she can refute all negative comments on her. To be fair to Mr Sitoh, he lost in 2001 & 2006. It is best for him to contest under a GRC if he lose the 3rd time in Potong Pasir then don't look good on him & PAP too.

Also Mr Sitoh won't got accused for bullying a woman :biggrin:

If Ms Tin can stand alone & win Potong Pasir then she can refute all negative comments on her. To be fair to Mr Sitoh, he lost in 2001 & 2006. It is best for him to contest under a GRC if he lose the 3rd time in Potong Pasir then don't look good on him & PAP too.

==
Tin wuld not get 5% of the votes LOL.

wikiphile

Credit should be given where and when its due, Sitoh has never stopped trying but no doubt if he can win PP on his 3rd try it would probably be very rewarding for him from the party in whatever forms they deem fit. Unfortunately for the opposition. Unfortunately, if PAP takes back PP this time round, be sure they will never lose it again. :(