• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP's Gan Thiam Poh: "If you need a job, come and look for me"

SNAblog

For those thousands of Singaporean looking for a job, please go look for Mr Gan Thiam Poh, Senior Vice-President of DBS. at no 6 Shenton Way, DBS Building Tower One, Singapore 068809. If his secretary ask you, just tell her that you are looking for a job and Mr Gan Thiam Poh had invited you to look for him.

In his speech, Gan Thiam Poh also questioned SDA's proposal to increase the wages of lower and middle-income employees in public sector and GLCs. He asked where is the money going to come from. Mr Gan, when the ministers increased their own salaries, where did the money came from? That is your answer.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1125628/1/.html

GE: What would you use, a ladder or a pole?
By Leong Wee Keat, TODAY | Posted: 29 April 2011 0658 hrs

SINGAPORE: Voting for the People's Action Party (PAP) is like using a ladder "to climb up".

But if Singaporeans vote for the Opposition on May 7, new PAP candidate Zainal Sapari (picture) likened it to a "climb up using a pole".

"A pole is only useful if you want to go down quickly," he said.

Mr Zainal Sapari, a unionist, argued that the current PAP team in Pasir Ris-Punggol Group Representation Constituency (GRC), led by Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, has a proven track record and has delivered on its promises.

He noted the "significant progress" made in the GRC by the PAP team over the past five years. Punggol has become "a vibrant and popular new town", while Sengkang "has become a choice home for many families", said Mr Zainal Sapari.

Over the next five years, the six-member PAP team has plans to build sports complexes, more cycling tracks and other facilities around the GRC. The Punggol Promenade will also have a longer jogging track, said Mr Zainal Sapari.

"And I promise, you will see me jogging in Punggol Promenade," quipped the 45-year-old father of six.

Another new face on the PAP team, Mr Gan Thiam Poh, questioned the solutions rolled out by their opponents, a team from the Singapore Democratic Alliance (SDA).

The SDA had suggested in its election manifesto to tie up with neighbourhood merchants to do bulk purchases of daily necessities. But this suggestion is not new, said Mr Gan. "There are quite a lot of merchants, such as supermarket chains, who are doing so," he added.

While he agreed with the SDA's suggestion to increase the salaries of the lower- and middle-income groups in the public sector and Government-linked companies, Mr Gan wondered if "the solution is that simple".

"My question to them (SDA) will be, 'Where is the money coming from?' … The way they suggest is to keep on spending," he added.

Mr Gan, a senior vice-president of the institutional banking group of the Development Bank of Singapore, assured voters that the PAP "would not leave anyone behind".

"If you need a job, come and look for me," said the 48-year-old. "For those of you who have a financial issue, or those of you who face old age problems, or have any sort of difficulties, we promise we will try to help you."

Mr Zainal Sapari urged Singaporeans to vote wisely and "not to be swayed by the promises made by the Opposition".

"Vote for the party that is able to overcome the challenges thrown at us," he added.

karmabear

I hope some of the ONE THOUSAND PLUS retrenched from DBS during the great financial crisis will approach him.

spotter542

I need a job that pays SGD$15,000.00 a month , tax free , GST free , Kate Spade for the missus , free airfare and accomodation :biggrin:

cooleo

He don't even dare to face camera. U think he can help u find job? :rolleyes:

ST_19610062.jpg

Mr Gan, who received a bursary to help with university expenses after his father died suddenly, says it left a deep impression on him about the need to help the underdog in society. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

THE impoverished and the hard-pressed in business will find a champion in Mr Gan Thiam Poh, a man who has walked in their shoes.

The 47-year-old senior vice-president at DBS Bank spent most of his growing up years not certain if there would be enough food on the table, or knowing if he would be able to complete schooling.

His father was an odd-job labourer who carried rice and vegetables, and his mother worked in a factory to supplement the family income.

Mr Gan, the second youngest of six children, sold fried popiah around the neighbourhood to help pay for textbooks and school fees.

When his father died suddenly on the night of his exams in his freshman year at the National University of Singapore (NUS), he offered to apply for a bursary to lessen the financial burden on his mother. But she refused, he said.

'My mum told me right to my face: 'Thiam Poh, you are my son, we have got to stand on our own feet, if possible'.'

She eventually relented and he received a $1,500 annual bursary from the Gan Clan Association which helped him see the rest of his way through university.

The experience left a deep impression on him about the need to pay it forward to help the underdog in society.< It led to him serving as a grassroots volunteer in Potong Pasir, even though it had been an opposition stronghold since 1984, when veteran Chiam See Tong first won the parliamentary seat. Explaining his decision to get involved in grassroots work, Mr Gan used the Chinese idiom yin shui si yuan, which means 'When you drink water, remember the source'.

kingrant

So people like Foo Mee Har has been using a ladder to climb and a pole to poke our asses?

Another victory for the PAP means giving them more ladders to climb ontop of us and piss on us!

Vote against the PAP!

SINGAPORE: Voting for the People's Action Party (PAP) is like using a ladder "to climb up".

But if Singaporeans vote for the Opposition on May 7, new PAP candidate Zainal Sapari (picture) likened it to a "climb up using a pole".

"A pole is only useful if you want to go down quickly," he said.

Up and down the pole, up and down the pole, up and down, up and down, up and down,....................... :biggrin:

batman1

What is the office tel.no. And mobile handphone no. Of the pap candidate mr.gan thiam poh ???

I will tell those jobless singaporeans to go and look for him to get a job !

By now, I am truly truly impressed the by selection process. First they had someone with such great fortitude to look after us that he resigned after false allegations were made against him. For someone who did not have a happy love life, who overcame the defect and to resign with unsubstantiated molestation rumours is truly admirable.

Now we have someone who can offer instant jobs! Wow, I am so impressed. Why did it take so long to uncover this guy? Quick, let's have the election tomorrow, why wait?

He should take over Wong Can't Sing's job. Mr Wong said that problems cannot be solved by waving a magic wand. Mr Wong was obviously lying.

Don Muthuswamy

So 4 all Sgpns displaced by FTs, dun worry, All uv got 2 2 is 2 go luk 4 Mr. Gan Thiam Poh & hell get u a job. :rolleyes:

ivebert

Chao Sinkies

He said look for him

Did he say he will give you a job?

Wishful thinking!

You think your peasant arses can work in banks????

You can only work in hawker centers

Fuck you Sinkies!!!

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Spearhead

Chao Sinkies

He said look for him

Did he say he will give you a job?

Wishful thinking!

You think your peasant arses can work in banks????

You can only work in hawker centers

Fuck you Sinkies!!!

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

for once... I agreed with u...
He did not said to give Singaporean a job if u look for him

Debonerman

PAP's head of counter ops is "ivebert"? Like Ting Pei Ling, truly scrapping bottom of barrel liao. Koh lien ah!

... "For those of you who have a financial issue, or those of you who face old age problems, or have any sort of difficulties, we promise we will try to help you." ...
legalised tai yee loong ask u 2 look 4 him wen u r in difficulties ... u noe wat 2 xpect? ...

I hope some of the ONE THOUSAND PLUS retrenched from DBS during the great financial crisis will approach him.

1. some clueless sheep farting mah!
2. proven track records include ms, the great orchard rd flood, lehmens bro!
3. and of course, ah jinx loss and inflated public housing pricing.
4. yes, sheep have proven themselves.

He will quote to these people Matthew 25:1-10, but then again, he is not Jesus Christ...but to them , they are some kind of gods...

Go look him up, he will tell, "verily, verily, I do not know you"....:biggrin: